We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, But the restaurant was not!”
Review of Hotel Bel 3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bel 3
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Finding it even we the help of the SatNav was hard. Apparently Via Ruffo is broken up by a gate. and someone told us it was a private road. When we finally got to the hotel, The receptionist was very friendly. the room was nice and clean and the view fantastic.
We were expecting the same for the food in the restaurant:
First night we had the set menu for 18 Euros. It was very disappointing. service was not very attentive, Starter was bland it was supposed to be Tabule where instead it was cous cous (big difference). the Pasta water was lacking salt as it was also bland. the swordfish was overcooked and dry. the same for the mixed grill where the crumbed pork escalope was burned on one side so instead of re-cooking it they decided just to turn it over. What the hell? Tried to show a waiter but there was none to be seen.
They served the beer in a wine glass instead of bringing some beer glasses down from the 4th floor bar.

great Hotel but food needs to be better

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pantera s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel32010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for the review and advices.
We suggest to not follow the gps (it does the shortest way but it's too much complicated), but look our website for the right directions.
Best regards
Giorgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

I decided to choose this hotel because of the reviews commending the incredible views, and I was not disappointed. However, the pool and the jacuzzi (the jacuzzi where the views are most incredible) closed at 8 pm, before it even was dark, so we were not able to relax and enjoy the views as I had hoped. The hotel is definitely far from Palermo, farther than I anticipated, and if you rent a car, the parking lot is so far away you still need to take one bus (instead of two needed to get into town without a car) to reach the hotel. Therefore we decided against renting a car and were pleasantly surprised when we learned of the taxi service through the hotel that we could use to go into town for 9 euros for two people and 12 euros for 4 people. This service is not always available, but it is worth asking, especially if other people are going at the same time as you. This made the distance easier to bear, until our last trip back to the hotel where there was a miscommunication and we were left waiting for the taxi for over an hour. The restaurant in the hotel was good and cheap, and the breakfast was pleasant, especially if you sit outside and enjoy the view. If you have plenty of time to spend in Palermo, this hotel is a good choice because you are not in a rush to get back to the hotel and to the town, etc., but for a short trip it may be too far for you to fully enjoy your stay. The views were spectacular, but overall our experience was average, with the price definitely adding to its value as it was extremely reasonable even with dining in the restaurant for two nights. Wifi was poor quality.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a view, that's what you're paying for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Casey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel32010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for your quite good review.
Best regards
Giorgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one week.

The receptionists were very friendly and always welcomed us with happy faces. The only minus about the reception was that you have to leave your carkey as the they had limited parking place and maxed it up, so every time we left the hotel we have to wait to get our key which sometimes took some time.

The hotel is located in a cozy neighborhood and you can hear dogs barking in the distant. The hotel and the pool (the adult’s pool) are overlooking Palermo City. The rooms very cozy as well and I couldn’t put a finger on the cleaning, even they filled up the toilet paper every day (a small thing many hotels, even 5 stars have trouble managing). The only two minuses about the rooms are that you have no privacy on the balconies and some of the balconies are also very small (like the one we got). And the last minus is that they have electronically windows shutters which is kind of smart, just not when people get home late or early in the mornings, decided to use them as they are making an awful noise.

The pool area was clean and we had it to ourselves the most of the time. One day the waiter from the bar also came by to see if we needed anything.

The restaurant is middle range and so are the prices. In the daytime when the restaurant is closed you can get snacks, paninis etc. in the bar.

The breakfast is reasonable, but a bigger range of selections would be fine, e.g. they don’t have any eggs.

Room Tip: Chose as high as possible and as far out in the sides as possible (you will get a better view and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinePe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel32010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for your good review, we are very glad to receive every day advices and appreciations like yours.
Best regards
Giorgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

"We're gonna end up sleeping in the car". That was the thought running through my head as we drove endlessly around the deserted streets of Palermo in our rental car, desperately searching for a familiar road sign or an English speaking local with accurate directional sense. Definitely not a great start to a supposedly relaxing holiday. Just as midnight was approaching, like a trail of breadcrumbs or a helping hand from up above, out of nowhere a string of yellow ’Hotel Bel 3’ signs lead us up through the meandering hills. We had made it somehow. I cannot stress this enough if you are driving to this hotel: GET SAT NAV.

Anyway, the hotel itself is built into the hillside and staggered over two blocks. The floor numbers are inverted, so from reception on the ground floor, you actually go down to levels 2 - 6 below! And there are two separate lifts because the unusual cliff based layout won't allow a straight shaft down. Other strange features follow in the rooms themselves, for example the balcony/terrace. I'm sure the guy who thought up the idea for the full length electric shutters meant well. Perhaps he said it was a security feature and would also ensure a blackout against early morning sunlight. What he didn't consider was the mechanical racket it makes for about 2 minutes each time anyone in the bloody building decides to open or close them. I imagine its the equivalent of sleeping rough on the streets and being disturbed by all local stores opening for business, to the drone of rolling electronic shutters and doors. Crazy. I woke about 4 am on the first night, all because a fellow guest chose to go for a smoke on their balcony, and spent about 5 minutes pressing the button to move the noisy things up and down.

The bedrooms are basic. Nothing more to add, except be wary of the weak flush on the toilet, just saying. The pool area has a certain industrial feel, like you're on a factory rooftop. Great views though, very impressive. The ’pool’ is purely for aesthetic purposes, as it's only knee deep and bloody cold. Breakfast is the standard fare, spread of breads, cheeses, meats etc. We actually had an evening meal at the hotel too, which was much better.

The location is far from the city or anything else in terms of public transport or walking, forget about it. We just chose here as we were arriving late from the airport and luckily had a car. I would wonder just how other guests would get here otherwise. We had little dealings with the staff, weren't by any means unfriendly but did have a certain southern aloof attitude. Strange place, served its purpose though.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel32010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for the review and for dedicating your time.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 18 nights at this hotel and found it a very relaxing place to escape to from the heat and madness that can be Palermo. We stayed on the second floor with a balcony (lifts to all floors) overlooking the pool which in turn overlooked the city from up in the hills. There is a large breakfast room but we chose to have breakfast on the balcony most mornings followed by a few hours by the pool before setting off for the day to Palermo or the rest of Sicily. We ate out most days wherever we were but used the well set out restaurant probably half a dozen times and although it wasn't the most adventurous of menus it was all well cooked served by good staff in very pleasant surroundings. I would say overall the hotel was very reasonably priced, very clean with very friendly efficient staff. If I were to go back to Palermo again I would have no hesitation in returning to the Bel 3 and would like to say a big thank you to everybody for making it such a pleasant experience. It is best to have a car even though I found Sicily (especially) Palermo) quite often a crazy place to drive. Just be Sicilian about it and it's ok.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gezzabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel location is excellent if you enjoy scenic views, but not so easy to reach from the city. Fortunately, hotel provides shuttle service from the closest bus stop.

Hotel was clean, comfortable and with amazing views. Unfortunately too cold to try out the pool. The otherwise pleasant stay was disturbed by the receptionist who was demanding to keep our passports over night in the reception and tried to convince me that it was Italian and European regulations when in fact he was just too lazy to write down the form..

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel32010, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest
thank you for your good review, we are happy that you have appreciated your stay and especially the panoramic view.
We hope that you'll choose again us for your next stay in Palermo and I promise that the receptionist will keep your passport for the check-in only few minutes...Sorry for the misunderstanding!

Best regards
Giorgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is situated on a high hill over Palermo, thus having exquisite views over the city and over the sea, probably from every room, because they all have nice and pretty big balconies towards the sea/city. The room was comfortable and big, the bathroom as well, with bathtub, shower and bidet. Good working WiFi and helpful staff. Great coffee at breakfast, the rest of the breakfast was average. We did not have the chance to try the pool and the jacuzzi, because it was not warm enough for that, but they looked nice and well taken care of.

The room was clean enough when we checked in, but I have given only one point for cleanliness, because it was not cleaned at all the next day, although we were away the whole day, returning only in the evening. Another negative point goes to the restaurant: we dined there once, and we were disappointed. Although the menu is varied, and some of the dishes were tasty, my husband received a "tagliata de manzo" which consisted more than half!!! of fat:

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sinziana2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel32010, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Bel 3, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Guest
thanks a lot for all good tips in your review, we are very glad that you have appreciated the room, the bathroom, the free wi-fi, the pool, the jacuzzi and the view.
As you said the room at your check-in was very clean but not the next day.
So, I'm very sorry but you had to tell me this problem and we have solved it immediately.

Best regards
Giorgia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Casena dei Colli
#27 of 98 in Palermo
207 reviews
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#9 of 98 in Palermo
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel 3

Address: Via Ruffo di Calabria 20 | sul navigatore impostare come prima tappa Via Castellana e poi Via Ruffo di Calabria, 90136, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#17 Business Hotel in Palermo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £41 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bel 3 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 67 rooms offer the best comfort to you. All rooms have tv, WI-FI connection, air conditioning, telephone, personal safe, minibar, hair-dryer and large balconies with a beautiful view over Palermo.The Bel 3 Hotel has a restaurant which offers a delicious local and healthy cousine, there are also two swimming pools, one of them with jacuzzi, two free internet points, billiards hall, conference room, gym, bus shuttle on request, free internal car park and your pets are allowed.Services: free parking, free internet WI-Fi, typical Sicilian restaurant, free access to the swimming pools, Laundry Service, 2 free Internet points, and special prices in agreement with taxi Trinacria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bel 3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel 3 Hotel
Bel 3 Palermo
Hotel Bel 3 Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing