We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, average standard, good price”
Review of Hotel Bel 3

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bel 3
Ranked #19 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely view, average standard, good price”
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We have booked this place for our last two nights on Sicily. Bel Tre is an average place, with clean but somewhat dated rooms. On the plus side: it was quite cheap, comparing to other places in Palermo and it had a wonderful view on the city (especially from a small swimming pool). The downside is the noise - any sounds from the hallways echoed very loud. Also - water from the aircon above us kept dripping on our balcony, tap, tap, tap.

Mind that this hotel is quite distant from the city centre. We had a car and I don't know anything about public transport in the area.

Overall - if you don't have high expectations and are looking just for an affordable place to spend 1-3 nights in Palermo, it's a pretty good choice. If you have earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikolaj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    376
    115
    28
    22
See reviews for
142
342
15
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2010

Prior favorable reviews and a desire to avoid driving into the city itself, prompted us to choose the Bel 3, a 67 room facility, terraced into the hillside in a quiet suburb above the city. With directions given on the hotel website and a GPS, it was not difficult to find the hotel. Parking on-site was free, and curbside parking is available as well.

Check-in was quickly handled by friendly, English speaking staff, helpful with information on public transport options to and in the city as well as about sights to see. Our room at the end of a short hallway off the lobby was surprisingly spacious with a tiled floor, large wardrobe, desk, a king size bed with a very firm mattress, TV but no international channels, safe, mini-bar, A/C, and a balcony with a panoramic view over the city. The bathroom with a tub but no enclosure or curtain was basic, no frills. We stayed two nights and one night a very noisy party returned at 4AM and continued without interference to bang doors and carry on loudly in the lobby and hallway, making for a poor night sleep. A room at a lower floor further away from the lobby would possibly have offered a different experience.The second night was just the opposite, quiet as a church.

The hotel has a restaurant, however it would not win any Michelin stars for either food preparation or service. Breakfast selection, included in the room rate, is minimal in its offerings and is along the lines of a continental breakfast. A few minutes walk up the street is the La Panoramica Restaurant and Pizzeria which served very good food from an extensive menu. Although we did not use it, the hotel has a very nice pool terrace, moreover, two computer terminals are free for guests to use in the lobby area.

Though it is not perfect in every regard, the Bel 3 for what it charges for clean accommodations can hardly be faulted. At 60Euro per night, it is a bargain with a location from which it is easy to explore Palermo and Monreale with public transportation, leaving the car parked.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

If you have never driven in Italy, don't start in Palermo. Sicilian traffic is in a class all unto itself, and if you don't crash, dent, or scratch your car, you'll be very frustrated by the apparent lack of any driving rules. So if you're trying to get to the Bel 3, take a taxi - the road to the hotel is deceptive (maps give no clue that you follow goat tracks up the hill behind the city, and the GPS system we used took us into a dead-end street).

That said, once you arrive at Bel 3, you're in for a pleasant surprise. This 3-star hotel is well equipped, clean, quiet, with helpful friendly desk staff, a reasonable breakfast room, pools and spectacular views of the city. All the rooms our party had were similarly equipped, spacious (especially by Italian standards), and lacked for nothing.

If you've never showered in Italy, be prepared - showers often have no shower curtains or screens, and towels are typically thin linen (think over-sized dish towel). Bel 3 had no curtains or screens, but their towels were what most travelers would be used to.

I would definitely consider staying here again. Was it the Ritz-Carlton? No. Was it comfortable, clean, well appointed and well priced? Yes. Just don't try to drive there...

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twinkieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2008

This is a really great hotel- our room was big with a balcony with an amazing view over Palermo, the mountains and out to the sea. When looking for a hotel in Palermo, I found that prices were quite high, so the Bel 3 was good value, as we got a rate of about 145 euro for two nights. The breakfast was quite nice, and there is a restaurant and bar also. We didn't eat or drink there, but we did get wine at the bar to drink on our balcony, enjoying the lovely view. The hotel is high up in the mountains, so I think you really need a car to stay here- there is free parking at the hotel. The staff are helpful and friendly, and there are two free internet stations in the lobby.

  • Liked — The fantastic view
  • Disliked — The hair-pin bends you have to go through to get there
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank molly_malone_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2008

Once we had been guided to this hotel (in the dark) by a friendly local driver, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in a clean, spacious and modern room with distant views of Palermo from our balcony. Staff helpful and friendly at reception; breakfast quite basic but acceptable.
The 2 swimming pools, although small, were perfect for cooling down after dusty sightseeing in city. Plenty of sunbeds available, all in good condition.
Did not dine in the restaurant after finding excellent local restaurant 500m away (uphill....)
Something needs to be done about very poor signage from city ring road - despite having detailed maps ,and great experience of foreign driving, we were well lost before help found in city petrol station.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Finding it in the dark
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAWLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calmeilles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2008

I have stayed at the Bell3 in 2004, 2006 and 2007 and will be going back this year.

Staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are large, all have views over Palermo to the sea and most have a terrace.

The restaurant cuisine is basic Italian/Sicilian and is excellent for the price - €16 for four courses in April 2007.

Some reviews have mentioned that it can be difficult to find and it really does need a car. If driving check a good map before hand. The route isn't actually complex once you've found it and there is good access to the motorways both east and west and over the hill to Montreale.

There is a bus service up the road and 2 more regular, more useful bus services from the village square (Piazza Baida) down the hill to Palermo. Tickets €1.20 from the bar-tobacconist on the piazza

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — As a solo traveler I couldn;t go out in the evenings and drink as had to drive back
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Calmeilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chemainus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

the room was spartan but clean and had a balcony with a fabulous view over the city. Continental breakfast was generous and coffee was delicious - carry your tray outside and up the stairs to take advantage of the great view from the patio. The price was right but the journey to get to the hotel was a nightmare even with "map quest" directions in hand - in the dark street signs are difficult to see, no one had heard of it, there are many twists and turns down narrow streets, and there is zero tolerance of indecision by the Sicilian drivers!

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the journey to get there
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Folichon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 101 in Palermo
962 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#4 of 101 in Palermo
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Joli
#24 of 101 in Palermo
587 reviews
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#13 of 101 in Palermo
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bel 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bel 3

Property: Hotel Bel 3
Address: Via Ruffo di Calabria 20, 90136, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#17 Business Hotel in Palermo
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#19 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bel 3 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 67 rooms offer the best comfort to you. All rooms have tv, WI-FI connection, air conditioning, telephone, personal safe, minibar, hair-dryer and large balconies with a beautiful view over Palermo.The Bel 3 Hotel has a restaurant which offers a delicious local and healthy cousine, there are also two swimming pools, one of them with jacuzzi, two free internet points, billiards hall, conference room, gym, bus shuttle on request, free internal car park and your pets are allowed.Services: free parking, free internet WI-Fi, typical Sicilian restaurant, free access to the swimming pools, Laundry Service, 2 free Internet points, and special prices in agreement with taxi Trinacria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bel 3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bel 3 Hotel
Bel 3 Palermo
Hotel Bel 3 Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing