We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location , Location Location ( but...)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Politeama Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The hotel is fine and ideally located , on Politeama Square next to Palermo's main streets and shopping areas.
The rooms are spacious and well maintained.
Disadvantages are - WiFi is not free,
Breakfast restaurants are too small and crowded
Elevators are extremely small and sometimes out of order
Service is friendly and altogether the hotel is recommended especially if you find a good deal!
Tip
Try to see if there is a concert on
The tickets are just 10€ and the performances are great
( consider it will take longer than expected due to Encores)

Room Tip: Try to get a window to the square The view of Politeama Theater is magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2012

Excellent location in Palermo, in the upmarket part of town. Airport shuttle and City sightseeing bus stops in very close proximity. I found several good restaurants in the vicinity. The staff were excellent and helpful. Initially there was a problem with WiFi internet access in my room, which they attended to and had fixed. Breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful (especially be Italian standards) and the staff there most attentive. I was travelling on my own, so found my double room large enough for one but might have been a squeeze for a couple. I picked up a great deal for this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmanson31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Internet and TV not working in a four star hotel in the 21st century. I have found this very surprising!! Other than that, a good hotel, located in a very good and safe area with bus stops just outside the hotel. Clean room, nice breakfast, although there is a problem with space when a lot of people. Tables are not cleaned on time. Maybe more personnel is needed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ngizani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodmanPalermo, Direttore vendite at Politeama Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Dear Guest,
we reassure all clients that WI FI works regulary.
During your stay,
the hotel was hosting partecipants of a conference who caused an overload of network usage that has some problems.
Sorry for the inconvenience and hope to receive it for another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Just returned from 5 nights at the Politeama. Hotel is in an ideal location if it is your first trip to Palermo. Coach to and from the airport stops just outside the hotel and Tourist bus for city tour is available just across the Piazza. Hotel staff were very courteous and friendly. Our room was quite large, overlooked the Piazza and very clean. My travelling companion enjoyed the breakfast although I found it rather bland and the same every day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Senorita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We found this reasonably priced hotel ideal for our first night in Sicily. It is one block from a bus stop for the airport bus coming into town, and easy walking distance to several car rental locations, if you happen to be picking up your car in the city, as we were. The sights of the inner city were within easy walking distance, as were a broad range of shops and restaurants.

The view of the piazza from our room was spectacular, yet the windows kept out the street noise. The room was quiet, clean, and had all the basics. Hotel staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast was convenient and the buffet was substantial, with lots of variety.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank banff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This hotel was the last on our tour of Sicily and we were so excited to see the four stars on the door! The average rating I have given is because there is no option to select Good!
At last we had reception staff who were interested in us and happy to answer our queries. They were attentive and my extra pillows arrived in less than a minute!
Situation is good for buses and taxis and also for wandering the side streets around Palermo.
Our room on the 8th floor was tired but clean and the bathroom well appointed. For the first time on the trip we had "real" towels too!
If we return to the city we will use this hotel again. The choice at breakfast was the best of the trip. The first eggs we had seen for a week were a pleasant change too.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms on the front give a good view over the square and towards the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Stayed here for 1 night before returning home from Palermo Airport. The hotel is perfectly situated in the centre of Palermo ; close to taxi ranks; the airport bus stops directly outside every half hour . Hotel personnel were extremely pleasant and helpful, from reception to portering and room servicing - needed 2 extra pillows and they were delivered within 5 minutes. Rooms spotlessly clean - bathroom was a little small but very clean and well equipped. Room lighting needs to be addressed as decor is dark , needs better overhead lighting for reading in bed. I would most definitely try to stay again at Politeama Palace whe I return to Sicily.

Room Tip: rooms on the side street part of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limerickjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodmanPalermo, Direttore vendite at Politeama Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2012

Dear guest Thank you for writing about the hotel.

Your comments are very important for all the community of Tripadvisor.

Always at your disposal

Regards
Giovanna Bonsignore
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
676 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#13 of 98 in Palermo
1,854 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Politeama Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Politeama Palace Hotel

Address: Piazza Ruggero Settimo 15, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palermo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#11 Business Hotel in Palermo
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £40 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Politeama Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Politeama Palace enjoys a central position in Palermo, in front of the Teatro Politeama, one of the most prestigious European theatres, nearby the shopping streets, the harbour and the terminal bus from/for the airport. The property central position will allow you to discover this marvellous city, where every alley, road or square preserves a work of art, testifying the glorious past of Palermo, meeting point of the greatest civilisations and cultures of all time. The area is full of restaurants, bars and shops. The structure offers comfortable rooms and many services such as a bar serving light meals and two meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Politeama Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Politeama Palace Palermo
Hotel Politeama Palace
Politeama Palace Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing