We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for Palermo city stay”
Review of Albergo Athenaeum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo Athenaeum
Ranked #42 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good hotel for Palermo city stay”
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Stayed here as daughter was a patient in Palermo hospital duriing our holiday, so was unplanned but recommended by hospital. Lovely reception area, where staff were very helpful, even when I needed numerous faxes to be sent to different countries. Rooms clean and a good size. Breakfast buffet very good, and replenished promptly. Only down side was that we ate in the restaurant in the hotel on the first night, which is run by an independant company not the hotel, but the food was awful and the staff unbelievably rude! It was 9.20pm, though the empty restaurant was open till 10pm and the staff ignored us until we approached them. Clearly didnt want to be bothered, but said we could eat. Chef came out and looked at her watch, and the staff spent the time it took us to eat 1 course saying loudly 'the English were impossible' and glowering at us. Potatoes were semi raw, 1 limp lettuce leaf on plate and overcooked meat. Vile! Chef left during our 1 course. Hotel v good , but eat out in any of the many good restaurants about at night.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tw1nkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    79
    67
    29
    40
See reviews for
39
65
11
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

There is litte to recommend this hotel. In part, we chose it because it offered secure parking. This was not enough to offset the negatives of the hotel, however. The biggest negative was the staff, which made it seem that any request was a bother. Neither were they particularly helpful. For example, when we needed to exit the parking garage in the morning, the person at the front desk said he would open it. After waiting for 5 min for the gate to open, I had to exit the car, walk up to the front desk and ask again. By the time I got back to the car the gate was in the process of closing! There is no excuse for this because a closed circuit camera shows garage so the desk clerk could have easily seen when I had made it back to my car. I was only saved another trip to the front desk by a guest who was entering the garage! As another example of substandard service, when I needed to print boarding passes the night before our flight out of Palermo I could not because the printer cartridge in the lobby printer was out of ink. I was told a replacement cartridge would not be available until the next morning. It's hard to believe a cartridge would have magically appeared in the morning. The rooms were a disappointment. The shower heads in two different rooms were loose and, therefore, not adjustable. A remote control for the TV is not provided; one needs to request one from the front desk. We had to do this twice because the first remote did not work. The air conditioning in the room was not turned on. The only ventilation came from a balcony window, which could (should) not be left open at night because all of the balconies are shared with other rooms on the same floor. The breakfast was the worst of five different hotels we stayed at in Siclly and Sardinia. Finally, the hotel is located in a noisy residential area. The bottom line is clear - we should have followed Rick Steves' advice and paid a little more to stay at a decent hotel in Palermo.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1prof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palermo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

The room was quite simple in terms of decor (no frills!) but quite large. Overall, the room was fine for a 3 star hotel. The rooms and all the common areas (lobby, bar and dining room) were very clean. The hotel is reasonably close to the historic center of Palermo. In particular, it is at a walk distance from the outstanding "Capella Palatina". It is also conveniently located close to a train station where direct trains from the airport stop. The area around the hotel is not great (to say the least...) but I had no problem at all and I did not feel unsafe. The staff was not particularly friendly. Breakfast was poor (one type of bread, croissant, jam, honey, cornflakes, ham, cheese and butter).
The restaurant was reasonably good and not expensive (good value for the money).

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misflopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Queensland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

The Foyer of the Hotel did not match the rest of the hotel. The foyer was really nice and once you got to your room it was more like a 2 star however the rooms were very spacious which was a plus. Monica and Marinella the girls on reception were very helpful and kind, the restaurant staff were great also everyone else seemed to have a staring problem which made us feel uncomfortable especially the breakfast staff.
The location of the hotel was not the greatest to walk around, the time we were there the garbage disposal men had gone on strike so there was 1-2 weeks of rubbish laying around on the streets some had been lit on fire which was quite unpleasant. The hotel is not in a area which reflects what you expect from the pictures displayed on the website. The internet was 10 euro for 3 hours which is quite pricey compared to other hotels in europe.
I would recommend going to Mondello Beach, so beautiful compared to where we were situated.
To all travellers - negotiate taxi prices before getting into the cab, we were charged 12 euro when we negotiated on the way to the hotel and we were then charged 18 euro on departure when we didn't negotiate a price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiesInEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vac, Hungary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

Secure underground parking, basic rooms, good position (close to the main attractions and the ring road).
The staff was helpful, but not very friendly. The wireless internet service is available at rooms, but not free, 3 EUR/30min.
Breakfast was boring: same in every day (croissant, jam, honey, cornflakes, ham, cheese).
Hotel surroundigs is not very reassuring, but we had not any problem.
Many groups (students, tourists) stayed at the hotel, rooms on the 6th floor are quiet and undisturbed.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Dona Di Piave, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We stayed for 1 night in this modern, cheap and clean hotel.
The room wasn't luxurious but all the basic things were ok.
The position is quite good to see the city (very near to the underground station with trains to the airport) and the staff was kind to us.

  • Liked — the clean, simple furnishing
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaesar_and_Topo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2004

We stayed at the Athenaeum for three nights at the end of August 2004. The room was quite large and well equipped if rather basic in terms of decor. The breakfast was okay but the evening meal was very good and excellent value for money. The staff all spoke at least some English and were all very helpful and friendly. The area around the hotel is not great (little of Palermo appeared to be) but it is well positioned for access to the central sights being only 5 minutes walk from the Porta Nuova and the Roal Palace. It is also easy to find when arriving by car and reachable from the ring road without getting entangled in the traffic of central Palermo. It has a good (free) underground garage. The hotel is fully wheelchair accessible (though central Palermo certainly isn't!). Recommende as good value for money

Helpful?
8 Thank Axwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel d'Orleans
#49 of 101 in Palermo
95 reviews
Libertà
Torreata Hotel & Residence
Torreata Hotel & Residence
#46 of 101 in Palermo
193 reviews
Hospitality Hotel
#40 of 101 in Palermo
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Hotel Mediterraneo
Hotel Mediterraneo
#48 of 101 in Palermo
525 reviews
Casena dei Colli
#38 of 101 in Palermo
478 reviews
Hotel Villa Archirafi
#45 of 101 in Palermo
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Athenaeum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Athenaeum

Property: Albergo Athenaeum
Address: Via Luigi Giannettino 4, 90128, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Athenaeum 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo Athenaeum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Palermo Hotel Palermo
Athenaeum Hotel Palermo
Palermo Athenaeum Hotel
Albergo Athenaeum Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing