We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza d'Aragona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza d'Aragona
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed in an apartment for 2 nights in September. The apartment was very spacious and clean with a nice big bathroom and in a great central location.It had a little balcony which caught the sunshine in the morning and was a nice place to sit and relax. There was also a lovely little sofa area for guests to use downstairs. We were very impressed with the breakfast. There was a greet selection of sweet and savoury pastries and tarts and lovely local cheeses and cold meats which we were not expecting at all based on our previous experiences with Italian hotel breakfasts. Staff were friendly and helpful. My only comment would be that a kettle was needed in the room and the map wasn't very good. I would definitely recommend this little hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    162
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
82
180
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This could be a great place to stay, and I would use it again because it is great value for costs. BUT beware that the breakfast is not worth the price. If you DON'T order the breakfast, then they open up your minikitchen (od policy, no? -- you pay extra for breakfast so your kitchen ends up locked) and you can do much better providing your own. If you choose the kitchen option, take along a tea towel and sponge, and a bit of dish soap, since none of those amenities is provided.
Also, deal with Silvia if you can because she is very responsive and helpful. And avoid Nadia if you can--she kind of ruins your day, seems ill-suited to a position in the service industry.
Plusses: air conditioning works, wifi usually works (but the absence of a full-time on-duty receptionist means if it goes out, which it did twice during out one-week stay, you might have to wait for it to be reset, location is excellent, and rooms on the street very quiet.
Negatives: besides Nadia, and the need to arrange to get in if you first arrive when no one is there, the room locks are rather dicey (the couple next door to us got locked out one night and the lock was not fixed till the next morning).
So taking the great rates into account, I think it is really a 3.5.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This apartment building is located right in the heart of Palermo, close to the shopping center and the harbor. Despite Palermo’s dirty air and heavy traffic you won't notice any of it inside. In fact, the interior of the building is so beautiful, spacious and chic. The apartment itself consists of a large bedroom, hall with wardrobe and table and a bathroom. The windows overlook a quiet alley, which looks very typical Sicilian.
Wifi is provided.
Breakfast is a buffet of breads, spreads and sweets. Pretty good.
In front of the door is a free space for temporarily parking. For longer parking there is a garage a bit further.
A very comfortable accommodation. We stayed here with pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraHodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Although not a luxurious experience, this hotel was within walking distance to many sites, restaurants and shops.
The room was spacious, clean and even had a mini kitchen. The decor was slightly dated and on the first day the shower had no hot water(quickly resolved). Staff were helpful and friendly and greeted us on arrival with juice and snacks. They were very knowledgeable on the tourist sites and provided maps and directions whenever asked. Breakfast was basic with minimal variety (the fruit juices were disgusting!)
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for those looking for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichTheRuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

This is our first visit to Palermo and wanted something with good accessibility to the sights. This hotel was perfectly situated for our needs.
The rooms were generously sized, as we're a party of 8 inducing children we needed two big rooms. They were more than adequate. We only stayed for 1 night. I'm not sure the catering facilities would be enough for us for a week but that's not why we visited this area. Eating out is easy and not too expensive.
If definitely recommend the hotel as it does offer great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Fine furniture, large beds, very clean and large rooms and bathrooms. Kitchen available (but who would use that in Palermo, being surrounded by tens of great places to eat?!). WiFi almost perfect in the rooms, with some weak corners, modern and perfectly working TV set (I already had even two in some suites). Rich breakfast (by Italian standards).

And the location itself is very good, in a small quiet street right in the city centre, ideal for business purposes and also for tourist.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We booked in February and arranged for the hotel to pick us up from airport. That was fine and Nadia was there to greet us at the hotel. We were given keys to our suites which were spacious and clean. There were three of us my granddaughter & myself and a female friend. The only gripe I have is that we asked for our suites to be close together but they weren't. The breakfasts were adequate but bring your own teabags if you want a decent cup.A bit cramped in breakfast room but managed to get a table every day. Would be nice to have a bar there for a drink in the evening but not that importtant. Staff helpful and friendly. Central location. Please use red tour buses found in Paliteamo sq. Excellent hop on hop off and cover all major sites and places of interest. Theatre Massimo is awe inspiring. We stayed for a week. Restaurants okay particulaly Cafe Kliko in Via Roma and especially Pizzeria Duchesse two streets away. We ate there most days. . Traffic a nightmare, crossing the road an adventure in itself. Shopping Fab. All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for front of hotel rooms. We had back rooms. Residential flats across the way in very close prox...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jema1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#16 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,689 reviews
Hotel Joli
#23 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Garibaldi
#25 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#27 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Hotel Posta
#29 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza d'Aragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Aragona

Property: Residenza d'Aragona
Address: Via Ottavio d'Aragona 25, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#18 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza d'Aragona 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residenza d'Aragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza D'Aragona Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing