We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory for a short city break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residenza d'Aragona
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Satisfactory for a short city break”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The hotel was fairly central, clean (personally my biggest requirement of any hotel I stay in) and competitively priced. My partner and I enjoyed our stay here. I was personally not blown away by the hotel as it is fairly standard for the price (in terms of cleanliness, décor, breakfast) although it was a good sized suite (more than enough for a couple) and it was I suppose an added bonus to have the the kitchenette facilities if required (this would be great for families I would imagine).

I think other reviews sum up the hotel pretty well so I do not really have anything original to offer in my review. As others have said the WiFi is very slow, breakfast gets busy around 08.30-09.00 (I would disagree with a previous reviewer that the breakfast was poor - it wasn't bad in my opinion) and the reception closes at between 1pm-2pm. Personally I will always book a hotel with a 24hr reception in future (gives me the possibility of asking to leave my suitcase for a while so I can continue my holiday until I get a transfer to the airport) and it would be nice to have a hotel bar. All in all a good hotel for the price. I would definitely stay again if I visited Palermo.

Room Tip: 302 was really quiet and there was loads of room for a couple with no children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Pajenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    169
    33
    18
    11
See reviews for
90
197
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Let's start with the positives:
- Location is OK
- Rooms are spartan, but OK.

Now to the negatives:
- The attitude of the people who work there is just plain nasty. These people should simply not be in the hospitality industry. They obviously feel that they're doing you a favor by letting you stay there.
- As others have pointed out, the reception desk has extremely limited hours, making check-in, check-out, and communications extremely difficult.
- They give you a flyer saying that if you don't leave your room by early morning, your room will NOT be cleaned, and they mean it. They won't clean or make up your room.
- They're less than honest with billing type issues. Just pray that you don't have any complications.
- The WiFi reminds you of the bad old days of AOL, and that's when it's working.
- This is NOT a real hotel, as they'll readily admit themselves. It's at best a mickey mouse B&B, and believe me, you can do MUCH MUCH better.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you want a pleasant experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fastm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel has lovely apartments which are clean and spacious. The wifi was excellent in our room and in the foyer. The staff are helpful without being exuberant. They give recommendations for restaurants and places to visit. The reception is open only until 2 pm so you must tell them ahead of time you time of arrival. The apartment is walking distance to most of Palermo's sights. The bus stop for most destinations is at the end of the short street or just a couple of blocks away. The kitchen is locked and costs 10€ per day to open. We didn't bother. Breakfast was good but arrive early.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carefreetraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wettingen
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Perfect location for visiting Palermo centre. Car parking very close (<100m) eventhou we didn't use it (parked outside in public road, just in front of another hotel)
Small breakfast room, may be crowded if everybody converge there at the same time.
Good wi-fi in the room.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catapaolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

As its name implies, this is not quite a standard hotel. From an American point of view it is sort of a cross between a suite hotel and B&B. The rooms have an outer living room area with small kitchen, which is pretty useless for us tourists staying 2-3 nights touring Sicily. Well maintained and comfortable with good breakfast. My one main complaint is nobody is on duty after 2:00 p.m., so forget about getting a dinner recommendation or similar assistance after that.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Mkliegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel is near to restaurants and shops. Despite the noise and the chaotic traffic in Palerno, the room was really quiet.
The apartment was very spacious and clean. There's a mini kitchen with no kitchens supplies, so we couldn't use it.
The breakfast is great, with many choices. The wifi was great at our room.
It was a great experience

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivianBrondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place is easy to walk to from the airport shuttle stop and very welcoming.
Rooms are spacious and well furnished.
Breakfast was good and service was very polite.

There is no
Reception after a certain time, so arrival must be coordinated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berggans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#13 of 98 in Palermo
1,801 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 98 in Palermo
990 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza d'Aragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Aragona

Property: Residenza d'Aragona
Address: Via Ottavio d'Aragona 25, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza d'Aragona 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza D’Aragona, an hotel situated in the center of Palermo, propose spacious and elegant rooms furnished of Satellite TV LCD, Wi Fi internet connection free. All the 20 rooms, large and spacious, with antique floor in marble chips, have all the comforts: bathroom with shower or bathtub, equipped with a complimentary toiletries, hair dryer and microwave. For the size and the retractable kitchenette, the rooms are suitable for long staying or for families because the special “Residence formula”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residenza d'Aragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza D'Aragona Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing