We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, good location”
Review of Hotel Elite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elite
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Very conveniently located in the centre of Palermo and so easy to get to from either of the airports (Trapani or Palermo). We travelled from Palermo airport taking the airport bus, it costs €6.10 for a single ticket which you can buy from the kiosk next to the bus stop, which as you exit arrivals turn right and walk along the building and you will see a bus stop and kiosk area. The closest drop off point to Hotel Elite was Politeama Square which is next to Teatro Massimo (which resembles London's Royal Albert Hall) so you can't miss it (and also the driver calls out the stop name). It's a five minute walk around the corner (check out the trip advisor photos of the external entrance for the hotel or check out Google Maps Street View so you know what to look out for as the entrance is for multiple hotels).
So, about the hotel - a comfortable 1 nights stay (as we were picking up a chartered yacht from Sunsail in Palermo marina the following day). We had a large double room on 5th floor (same level as reception). You can either walk up the stairs or use the cosy lift to get to it. The lift worked well for us with all our luggage but it looks a bit cranky when you first see it. The room had the basic amenities that suited our short stay, we didn't need the tv or the fridge or the wardrobe but all worked and were well appointed.
We had a very warm welcome from the receptionist on our arrival and to thank us for the 10 minute wait we were treated to a complementary coffee/espresso. Breakfast was great, lots to chose from and quick service from staff in bringing tea/coffee.

The negative - there was a strange unpleasant sewage smell in our bathroom, if we were staying longer I'd have reported it to get it fixed or asked to move rooms. We kept the bathroom door closed and after a while it went away (room 504), the night receptionist smoked so the corridors were very smokey. I've since seen the manager's comments on other Trip Advisor reviews regarding guests smelling cigarette smoke and that it is a non smoking hotel - I didn't comment at the time as I thought perhaps it was a hotel that allowed smoking.

Overall a good value hotel in good decorative order. It's very central, easy to get to, walking distance from all the main tourist attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful.

I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank SunSandsnowlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is quite the opposite of many London hotels who boast a splendid entrance and lobby but have minuscule rooms: the entrance here is shabby and makes you feel that you must be in the wrong place, but once arrived in the fifth flour (the elevator works quite well), you are welcomed by friendly, English-speaking staff in a very nice ambiente The rooms have enough space, nice furniture, well equipped bathrooms. They are absolutely clean and kept in good order by the staff. At night, it is absolutely quiet (very important in Palermo!), because the rooms do not have windows towards the street. The neighbourhood seems to be ok and rather safe at night, usually there are lots of people around in the streets even until very late. The breakfast is for the price absolutely ok, with exception of the coffee and the juice which are really poor quality. My advice is to drink tea here and to have an excellent coffee later at some bar in the streets. W-Lan in the rooms is for free and usually works fine. The single beds are a little bit narrow. All in all, this hotel is very good quality for the price. I stayed there more than a week and will certainly go back there next time I visit Palermo.

Room Tip: Check out if the beds are large enough for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eckhard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sissina11, Proprietario at Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Mr
thank you so much for your very kind review about your stay in Hotel Elite.

I am very glad to read that you liked everything, above all our attention to the cleanness in the rooms and our helpfulness to our guests.
Concerning the coffee and juice, I hope to have you again as our guest to offer you a real Sicilian "espresso" and above all in the winter time a fresh orange juice with our sicilian oranges.

Thank you again.

Best regards,

Silvia Giordano
Giove Turismo Srl - Hotel Elite***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Those are the things that make this place good. The hotel is located inside what seems to be an appartment building, in the center of Palermo. Everything is walking distance. Like a lot of parts of Palermo the hotel seems to be a bit old, but it is very clean and the rooms are nice and big. We stayed there only for one night, so we can't say to much about the place. The staff is great and give good advice on places to see and eat.
The hotel offers a parking space underground, which is great because you really don't need your car since everything is so close.
We would reccomand this place if you are planning to visit Palermo city center.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonatanw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sissina11, Proprietario at Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Jonatan,
thank you for your kind review about your stay in our hotel.
I am very happy to read that our staff has been our point of strenght because we all trust in our human resources and in the relationship with our guests.
We think that staying in hotel for holidays or out for work must be better than staying at home and here is why we count on kindness and helpfulness.

Thank you again and I hope to have you again as our guest.

Best regards,

Silvia Giordano
Giove Turismo Srl - Hotel Elite***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived in the afternoon all ok until we entered our room musty and smoke smell terrible .we then were shifted room ok for awhile until the smoke smell became prevalent .asked to leave but had to pay for nights.we stayed as I hadn't,t found another .bad bad bad in the morning couldn't get out fast enough .was also charged for 2days parking that we never received as parking in palermo is free on Sundays.are the reviews totally genuine .

Room Tip: Ask if the hotel has a non smoking policy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sissina11, Proprietario at Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Ms Franca,
I am sorry to read you bad review since I perfectly know your experience yesterday in our Hotel.

I would like to add something to clarify the situation.

Firstly, I do not want to judge your feeling about the smell and I absolutely accept it but my colleague proposed you two other rooms and you did not want to see the other in an other floor. No guests before have complained about smoke smell even because our Hotel is a no-smoking area and above all in the rooms. Unfortunately, as you can understand well, not every guest has the same concept of rules respect.

Secondly, if you decide to change the Hotel at the same day of your arrival the first night is charged because of late cancellation, according to the normal cancellation policy of all online hotel reservations.

According to the parking, you forgot to say that you have reserved the parking place in your Booking.com reservation but when arrived you wanted to cancel it because on sundays in Palermo, as in all cities, parking is free. We never charge something that is not reserved.

Finally, I am sorry to read that you had a bad experience in Hotel Elite so much that you advice to "avoid" us because my colleague has been helpful and proposed you not only a solution about your room but also a sweet present in your room, a free drink of Sicilian wine, a free aperitivo and a nice souvenir of Palermo to sweeten your stay.

Hope to have been clear above all with whom will read your experience.

Best regards,

Silvia Giordano
Giove Turismo Srl - Hotel Elite***

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

When late in the evening after a three-hour wait at the airport and a two-hour bus journey we arrived in Palermo Central Station tired consciousness imagined the hotel as oasis of peace, security and rest. As we arrived to the front door ELITE HOTEL the image of oasis was shaken: dreary tenement with metal doors reminding entrances of Soviet public institutions, dusty elevator's shaft and unreliable cabin of elevator. But the first impression was deceptive: the hotel itself was clean; the room was also clean and comfortable. As we had to face peculiarities of Palermo motorcycled bag snatchers the hotel has become a symbolic substitute for home security  Antique furniture provides coloring of archaic Palermo spirit. However, the hotel stands in the city center, so do not expect a nice view through the window: you can see sky reaching mountain, but bleak blocks of tenements scatter all romanticism. Our room required some cosmetic renovation (loose ceiling, rusty bed restraint has experienced many contacts with heads, décor should be brighter). But bathroom very cozy, bright, also a cozy lobby where breakfast was provided (we were satisfied by quality and quantity). The staff was friendly and helpful, speaks good English. Pleasant service eased our anger for the whole city (after the bag snatchers 'raid') and led us to give Palermo a second chance :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mindaugas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sissina11, Proprietario at Hotel Elite, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Mindaugas,
thank you to consider us an oasis of peace!
I remember perfectly your unlucky experience in Palermo; unfortunately Palermo has to fight with its two own faces of on the one hand a site with cultural and historical masterpieces and on the other hand a metropolis with lights and shadows.
I hope that your stay in our hotel with the help of our staff has been useful to cancel these shadows and to show you the real value of our city: the second chance you spoke about.
Thank you again for your review.
See you soon.
Silvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Good hotel for the price. Good service. Central location, walking distance to interesting places. Not the best breakfast..you have to be there really early in the morning, around 8 to catch up the good things.
Doesn't have a nice view. The elevators are old and frightened me, but you can use the stairs.
Parking is not good either, because you have to park in the basement with others cars and ask in the reception to take out your cars... It took like 30 minutes to us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpazpinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was an excellent hotel for a short city break. It was central, easy to find, extremely clean and tidy and the reception staff couldn't have been more helpful and polite. They even looked up places we intended to visit to make sure they were open. ( this is a big problem in Palermo, as many sites are closed for restoration! )
The included breakfast was just about adequate, plenty of cakes and decent coffee, but it gradually ran out of some things, like yoghurt.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remparts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Hotel Ariston
Hotel Ariston
#14 of 98 in Palermo
202 reviews
Hotel Gallery House
#61 of 98 in Palermo
103 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Tonic
Hotel Tonic
#21 of 98 in Palermo
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Florio Opera
#46 of 98 in Palermo
143 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Liberta
Hotel Liberta
#81 of 98 in Palermo
40 reviews
Hotel Posta
#27 of 98 in Palermo
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elite

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 136, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range: £39 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elite 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Palermo's elegant shopping district, 500 metres from the city's port, Hotel Elite offers air-conditioned rooms decorated with frescoes showing various Palermo landmarks.Rooms at the Elite Hotel come with a minibar and a TV with satellite and pay-per-view channel. Your day begins with a buffet breakfast that includes a variety of healthy food as well as fresh fruit.Guests can enjoy a drink at Elite's bar before dinner at a local restaurant, recommended by the hotel staff.Teatro Massimo and Politeama Garibaldi theatres are both just a 5-minute walk from the hotel, which has excellent public transport links around Palermo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Elite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Palermo
Hotel Elite Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing