We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The Terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Terrace
Living room Lobby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
The Terrace
Living room
Lobby
The first bedroom 'Sommier'
The second bedroom 'Camera Tulipano'
Interior decoration
Entrance hall
Bedroom 'Sommier'
Bedroom 'Sommier'
Bedroom 'Camera Tulipano'
Kitchen
Kitchen
Living room
Interior decoration
Bathroom
View from the roof
Terrace
View from the balcony
The dining area
View of Via Maqueda from the terrace
View from the terrace
View from the balcony
The palace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Palermo, Province of Palermo, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Nicola B
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We loved our stay in Massimo's apartment. It was great for our family of four - spacious and very well equipped with spectacular views of Palermo (making the 5 flights of stairs worthwhile). It was well located - an easy walk to any of the major sights and just 5 minutes to the train to Cefalu or bus to Monreale. Massimo was a charming and generous host. A great place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thank you! I am happy with your beautiful stay in my apartment and I thank you for the hospitality and education . You will always be welcome in Palermo !
Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eregan_10
florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Big Disappointment”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I chose this apartment because the photo was so charming and it appealed to me. After climbing 97 steps to reach this apartment which is actually in the attic, it is obvious that the photo was staged. Massimo claims to speak English but does not. We had one key for 5 of us which was a huge inconvenience. While there we tried to contact Massimo who was totally non responsive. When the door closed and locked us out Massimo became belligerent and had to be begged to come an open the door.

I do NOT recommend this apartment which in addition to all this is in a questionable area.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The kitchen
Liked least: 97 stairs to climb to reach this attic
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
In many years of challenging and exciting, fortunately rewarded by excellent results and wide recognition, although some problems may occur normally in my work, very rarely happened to me to have serious problems of communication and understanding with my guests.
Unfortunately, the relationship with this customer, from the first contacts were very difficult because some of its demands that I could not possibly meet. Since then, his attitudes were very negative and prejudicial, so I expected her negative review.
I'd rather not reply to disprove claims because there are so many positive reviews of guests are happy and satisfied with their stay that they appreciated both the structure and my behavior, but I think that, given the seriousness of some of the statements, it is appropriate to clarify certain points.

1) The photos, as anyone can easily check, represent exactly the real constitution and the state of the apartment as it is and looks, and I don't understand how can the lady to say the opposite. 2) As can be seen from the photos and as correctly stated in the description published in the ad, the apartment is a penthouse located on the 4th floor of a recently refurbished historical building located in the central Via Maqueda, in one of the richest tourist attractions and service offerings of the city.
3) At the request of the guests are provided extra sets of keys, just ask them!
4) The lady has anticipated the departure of a few hours than an hour agreed with me without telling me and left the apartment by jumping the regular check-out. It 'was forced to contact me because he forgot a bag after closing and left his keys provided inside the apartment, forcing me to intervene with other keys not provided on time.

I am truly sorry for these misunderstandings and respect all the rewiews, even the most critical and negative, because if valid and well motivated can help to perfect myself professionally and improve my offer, but in this case, I believe sincerely that the reviews expressed by this guest are resentful and not objective.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hap00
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Massimo and his apartment were fantastic, he was a pleasure to deal with from the start. Not only is he enthusiastic but a great person to represent Sicily and Palermo, we loved the apartment and location was perfect. We could never forget our time there, thank you Massimo, ciao Ricardo & Jacquie

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2015
È stato molto bello conoscervi, siete una coppia intelligente e meravigliosa.
Grazie a voi per la bella recensione e spero di rivedervi presto.
Un abbraccio da Palermo.

Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
a d
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful apartment run by a friendly and enthusiastic owner”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We absolutely loved our stay, the apartment it's wonderful, the pictures do not make it justice.
It's has been all restored only a few years ago and the attention to details is fantastic, large airy with extremely tall beamed celeing.
As soon as you enter you can see how clean and spotless it is the linen is white and crisp.
There are 2 very good size bedrooms and plenty of room for clothes.
And a very large living area and the terrace is a real bonus we enjoyed sitting out there late at night. P
Above all Massimo is a lovely guy, helpful and very friendly very polite, we have enjoyed meeting him, he was full information and suggestions.
We have truly enjoyed our stay in Palermo, thank you Massimo for your beautiful apartment and your warm hospitality.
Anastasia,William,Olivia and Iona
PS I also enjoyed the great food market which is 100 yards from the flat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2015
Ringrazio Anastasia, William e le loro splendide figlie per la bellissima recensione.
Sono state parole scritte con il cuore e dettate dalla bella esperienza avuta a Palermo e ospiti nella mia casa vacanza.
Sono felice di leggerla e non avete trascurato nulla!
Naturalmente mi da una maggiore carica nel lavoro ancora da svolgere.
Mi avete fatto fin da subito una bella impressione devo dirvi che siete una splendida famiglia.
Mi auguro di rivedersi ancora a Palermo.
Grazie mille!!!
Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joeF66X
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Above the city, looking across baroqu Palermo's roofscape.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This a wonderful apartment. The location is perfect....literally few minutes to any site within the historic centre. The owner, a charismatic and somewhat charming local architect, oversaw the refurbishment and build of the aprtment giving it a dual aspect over the roovers, domes and roof top gardens of the city. A wooden ceiling and clever use of framing makes the apartment feel airy and spacious. Facilities are all fine - two good sized bedrooms with a/c and more importantly comfortable mattress, powerful shower, plenty of hot water. decent wifi, lovely little terrace to have a sundowner on. Thouroughly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, quality accomodation, views
Liked least: sicilian summer heat....
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Gentile Niall,
sono contento delle belle parole utilizzate per descrivere tutto.
Sei stato molto attento alla cura di ristrutturazione effettuata e ti ringrazio per questo.
Anche noi abbiamo subito percepito di avere un ospite maturo e cordiale.
Grazie di cuore!!
Massimo e Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
868rach
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely appartment, perfectly situated in the centre of town”
Reviewed 15 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is a perfect place to stay in Palermo. The apartment is spacious and clean and there is a glorious sunny terrace to sit out on. It is right in the centre of town so all the main sights are within easy walking distance.
Massimo is a wonderful host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2015
Grazie mille Christina!
Sono felice della tua bella recensione e per avere apprezzato la mia casa vacanza.
Un saluto da Palermo.

Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joerad
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay - Warm welcome from Maasimo”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from a week long stay at Massimo's Terrace and had a great time.
The apartment was exactly as described and even more spacious that we thought. It is spotlessley clean and hade everything we needed. (Even though it has no lift and is on the 4th floor don't be put off).

Massimo is so friendly and helpful, he picked us up from the airport and took us back, with our flights from Stansted arriving late and leaving late this was perfect and cost 50 euros each way.

It is in a multicultural area of the city near the train station which meant bus trips and train journeys were easy. The Ballaro market is 2 mins behind the apartment and there are cafes close by.

A trip to Cefalu is definitely recommended as this is how I pictured Sicily to be. It has a lovely beach and nice restaurants, trains leave regularly, it takes an hour and is approx 10 euros return.

We also visited Mondello which was OK, but only really has a beach and Monreale which is not far by bus and a small square with an amazing church full of mosaics.

If I was going to return to Palermo I would stay here.

Thank you Massimo, we had a great time and meeting you and staying in your lovely apartment made a really great holiday even better.


(Note: If you are flying from Stansted........ it was an absolute nightmare. 2 hours to go through security and dozens of people missing their flights, when we landed back at midnight same exact thing, be warned).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How friendly Massimo was and how easy he made the whole experience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
Hello Joanne ,
I am happy to have met you . I would like to thank you for the good maintenance of the apartment and the nice company car to reach the airport . Thanks to the excellent description of my holiday and its importance to its location . I hope to welcome you again . A hug to everyone from Palermo .Massimo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;