We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for our stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Palermo Centro
Ranked #14 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
GreenLeadersGold level
Aups, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for our stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We stayed in the Mercure Palermo for a long weekend from 4th to 7th October. We were delighted we chose it, it was spotless. Breakfast first class, staff excellent and the air conditioning functioned well on the ground floor reception areas. Nice and central, ideal for walking distance to shopping and market areas, just as well as driving was a nightmare. They don't believe in signage so getting out of Palermo to go anywhere was very challenging. Italian people are genuinely nice people and their food is second to none.

Room Tip: Get the largest room you can afford, it is always worth it. Noise from the A/C unit more noticeable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcella f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    855
    284
    80
    46
See reviews for
318
706
89
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This hotel is very clean and modern, with nice bathrooms that are spacious compared to many Italian hotels. They must have made space by building the smallest elevators in Italy. Mine and another large group were checking out on the same morning and some of us waited 20 minutes outside the elevator banks to get downstairs with luggage. Good breakfast. They also have a bar but the service is intermittent. The hotel is in a nice spot of town - close to tourist and local restaurants and bars, as well as some shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeNYC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Fine to stay - what you'd expect from this chain of hotel, clean, modern and somehow, feel that it's designed for business travellers, as the wifi is only available in the lobby, and they probably assume that business travellers will just get their companies to cough up the charge in the room, which wasn't so good. No hair conditioner in the bathroom, but the bathroom was clean and shower cubicle was spacious. Breakfast was a little disappointing for a hotel like this, but there was enough choice of bread and yoghurt etc, just tinned fruit or whole fruits though.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 2 nights with a group. Wifi free in lobby area, they have a few computers there as well: breakfast was a good selection, fresh and make your own cannoli!! There are restaurants in the area and we had really good food. I was there on the last Sunday in August so there was not much else opened, I took a short walk due to quite a few homeless in the small garden area laying behind the hedges and bushes; we did see homeless laying in store fronts while shops were closed; my hotel room was small with struggling air condition and the window faced a fire escape walkway lined with hotel cleaning carts so the curtains stayed drawn, no safe in the room is a problem; hotel staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sml41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

we spent 5 nights here from 29 June 13 onwards. Here are the plus points- it is just off Mariano Stabile, so quite central. There are plenty of eateries nearby, just off stabile about 200 yards from the hotel. The rooms were clean and functional but there was NO safe box which was a real pain especially with cash, passports etc. The breakfast menu was extensive and pretty good, whether you were vegetarian or not. There was a wide selection of breads, cakes, pastries and croissants each morning- hence very easy to put on a few pounds in the blink of an eye! Front desk staff were helpful and efficient-- no quibbles there.
Now the minuses- not sure if it was entirely value for money as the rooms were not cheap although we had booked through BA executive club. Wi-fi was free in the downstairs communal area but there was a crush for seats most evenings- it is a small hotel and seats are limited in the foyer/lounge. For some odd reason, we were given a room facing ongoing building work- we had scaffolding all round our window. And the noise was quite bad during the day- luckily we were out most of the time. When I say 'for some odd reason' what I mean is that we found rooms on the other side of the hotel which were vacant- the really switched-on hotels tend to factor this in on their own- may be Mercure Palermo Centro missed a trick here. may be they will take this in to account in future.
Will we go there again? Honestly, don't know. it's a 50-50.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing away from mariano stabile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london_dr_sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I'm a female traveling solo and loved this hotel. It was a bit small but clean, modern and safe. They don't have a security safe in the rooms which is my only complaint.

The hotel is a few blocks to the bus stop to Modello Beach. Bus 806 is clean and frequent. Only $1.30!

The front desk was super helpful and were very tolerant of my aweful Italian. They speak English very well.

Free wifi in the lobby and 1 free water. Not great but not bad either!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennelopeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Palermo Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Palermo Centro

Property: Mercure Palermo Centro
Address: Via Mariano Stabile 112, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palermo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#15 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Palermo Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Mercure Palermo Centro is located in the city centre, 200 meters from Teatro Politeama and Teatro Massimo. This 4 star hotel offers 93 soundproofed rooms, a stylish hall, bar and internet point. Ideal for business and tourist stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Palermo Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Palermo Centro Hotel Palermo
Accor Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing