We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast food at a slow pace in Hotel F2” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Federico II - Central Palace

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Federico II - Central Palace
Ranked #36 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Muros de San Pedro, A Coruña
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fast food at a slow pace in Hotel F2”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We landed in this hotel in July 2013. We knew Palermo and had stayed before in historic Grand Hotel Et des Palmes during a happy-go-lucky trip. This time around we were orderly travelling with friends on organized trip basis. We took the "meals included" option, which always throws you in the hands of the unknown. Most of the time, without being memorable, we had reasonable food. Except in this GH F2. They managed to recycle kitchen commodities in a most boring and unappealing manner. Cheap pasta with chunks of fish. Tasteless fish. Unrecognisable fish time and again. If your kitchen makes any sense you don't serve two or three dishes carrying the same fish. And, to finish with, an equally non-palatable ball of ice cream for desert (not very far, in front of the nearby Teatro Politeama you can taste the best Italian ice creams ever!). I've got this fishy filling that it was fish ice cream too. Otherwise the hotel is well located if in a somewhat somber area without much of a view. If you must go there, go, but, please, avoid meals at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NoitebrasVagalume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceCanino, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Federico II - Central Palace, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,
ci dispiace che il nostro ristorante abbia contribuito a rendere poco piacevole la Sua visita nella splendida Palermo.
Purtroppo il disagio è stato solo casuale, anzi le comunico che sta per cambiare la gestione del reparto ristorazione che sicuramente ci permetterà di migliorare questo servizio così importante. Invito Lei e tutta la Sua comitiva a tornare al Federico II per provare personalmente le nuove specialità che verranno servite.
Come diceva anche Lei, l'ottima posizione dell'hotel permette di godere appieno di tutte le meraviglie che palermo può offrire.
Certi di un Suo gradito ritorno, porgiamo cordiali saluti.
Alice Canino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    115
    51
    20
    11
See reviews for
28
72
16
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The hotel is in excellent location, with spacious rooms, decent bathroom, nice interior, etc. All pretty well except few issues.
First, we had reservation for 3 rooms for 4 people. I'm not sure how they did it, but they completely messed names with rooms, even if those were written black on white on the reservation. Second, they started to insist that whole hotel is non-smoking, while booking.com page says exactly opposite and I also mentioned that explicitly in the comments.
Another very weak point is the breakfast. Juice-like, awful drinks, scrambled eggs made from powder, poor selection of cold meats, some very low quality sausages, the list could go on and on. Only the coffee is good, at least that.

Room Tip: If you want to get what you reserved it will be better to double-check it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just spent a week B & B in this hotel and we were very happy with our room which had a balcony. It had everything that you would expect a 4 Star hotel to have. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly and helpful. Location is perfect for exploring the city. We used the busses all the time to get about and soon got used to the layout of the city. We are very happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 606 had balcony. On 6th floor - very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britvic17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliceCanino, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Federico II - Central Palace, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Google Translation
Gentilissimo Ospite,
la ringraziamo di aver dedicato un pò del Suo tempo a scrivere una recensione della nostra struttura. Siamo contenti che abbia voluto consigliarla ad altri viaggiatori con complimenti così lusinghieri.
Ci auguriamo di riaverla presta gradito ospite a Palermo.
Cordialmente,
Alice Canino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
139 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

If you are not used to Italian traffic and if you don't your way around Palermo this hotel is not very easy to reach by car. Narrow one-way streets everywhere and A LOT of traffic. After circling the neighborhood a while we managed to find the hotel. Once there we did not need the car. The hotel is well situated and its close to most of what you want to see in Palermo. The rooms were spacious to say the least. Cool and comfortable. Nice firm beds. Breakfast not too impressive, but breakfast offerings in Italian and French hotels seldom are. All in all a pleasant stay

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank aka130813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights prior to moving on to Taormina. The hotel is very well located although the actual street is a bit untidy. However, from here you can easily walk to bars, restaurants, tourist bus and various historic attractions. Palermo itself caught me by surprise as for some reason I expected it to be a bit run down ( possible I was influenced by Naples). Sorry Palermo, this was totally wrong! It is a very elegant city with a great feel about it.
Our hotel room was huge and very clean. It was a bit dark in décor but this is very typical of many Italian city centre hotels. The staff were very helpful and I would particularly like to mention receptionist Luciana who provide us with a lot of help regarding our travel arrangements. The breakfast was fine, nothing special but certainly adequate. All in all a very good hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Very centrally located hotel in Palermo.
Nice spacious room with marble bathroom at a very affordable rate.
Friendly staff.
Valet parking service was very apreciated.
The hotel is an excelllent base from which to explore central Palermo, just don't expect it to be a luxury hotel.

We were happy with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwedenNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ganey Tikva Israel
Level Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

The hotel is well located in a quiet street near Via Roma the main street of Palermo. There are shopping and dining places nearby.
The exterior of the hotel is dull on old, but inside it is classic elegant with lots of brown wood furniture and leather sofas.
The room is big and clean and with dignified atmosphere. The bed is wide but it was too firm for our taste, and so were the pillows, so our sleeping quality was quiet poor. The bath room was good, it has a bidet, and the water pressure was high, not so typical in Sicily.
Breakfast was good, similar to other 4 stars hotel we were at Sicily.
Our room was on a quiet side wing of the hotel, but we could clearly hear the noise of the flushing toilet water of the nearest room.
The TV and safe are small; there is a minibar but no complementary tea and coffee in the room.
We were part of a tour group so we did not need any services from the reception, or parking facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlonGaneyTikvaIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel Plaza Opera
#27 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Politeama
Grand Hotel Wagner
Grand Hotel Wagner
#11 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#24 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Federico II - Central Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federico II - Central Palace

Property: Hotel Federico II - Central Palace
Address: Via Principe di Granatelli 60, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Federico II - Central Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegance of the Court of Frederick II it reflects in this beautiful 4 star hotel, located in the very heart of Palermo City center.Our Hotel born from the restoration of the old Palace of Prince Granatelli and through an expert architectural revalidation that turned it into a refined environment, decorated with antique furnishings and paintings.The enviable location of the hotel, situated in a quiet and residential area, exactly halfway from both main Theatres of Palermo- The Politeama Garibaldi Theatre and the Massimo Theatre, makes of it an ideal place both for those who are travelling for business or who wants to have a nice and relaxed holiday in Palermo.Our staff remains at Your disposal , and will ensure You all the assistance and help to discover all the particular and characteristic corners of the historical Town and directions to find the most fashionable and exclusive shopping area, all this in order to make Your stay a very special one!The Entrance of the Grand Hotel Federico II, opens to an elegant foyer that leads into several spacious lounges lovingly furnished.The lounge bar with the adjacent reading room, may offer You relaxed hours choosing between an assorted selection of teas, herbal infusions, and local distilled.For a more enjoyable and comfortable stay, The Hotel offers guests’ disposal:Reception and Concierge service open 24 Hours;Luggage Storage;Wi-Fi free throughout the Hotel;Reservation – purchase airline Tickets / web Check-in;Office Services (telefax-photocopies);Outdoor parking area for luggage loading and unloading;Secure Car Park on request with payment;Assistance for service to rent a car with or without Driver;Shuttle service from/to Airport on request with payment;Laundry Service;Meeting rooms with technical equipment;Spaces for events, celebrations and meetings;Restaurants and banquets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Federico II - Central Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Hotel Federico II - Central Palace Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing