We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in Palermo”
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Palermo”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

When I visit family in Palermo, I always stay at the Ambasciatori hotel. It is a clean and charming hotel centrally located in Palermo. The staff is friendly and helpful and the rooms are very nice and quiet. The rooftop restaurant has breathtaking views of Palermo and the addition of a bar is a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lkelly16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffAmbasciatori, Management & Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Mrs Kelly,
thank you for your message. It is precious for us, and we hope to see you again many many time!
Kindst regards
Staff & Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    515
    141
    28
    15
See reviews for
180
646
59
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have now stayed at this hotel on 2 occasions and for me I can honestly say that I cannot find one fault whatsoever. Ok the lift in the hotel was probably constructed in the 1800's and can only hold 3 persons at a time, but its not a problem. It only adds to the hotel's charm.

The hotel is in an ideal location for all the city has to offer. The central train station is only a 5 minute walk away, as is the coach stop for the transfers to/from the airport. Most of the cultural sites, markets, nightlife, restaurants and port are within a mile of the hotel.

On arrival to the hotel you are greeted by very helpful staff who can speak very good English. They then help you to your room.

The rooms we have stayed in have been spacious and very clean. The beds are of a good size and comfortable. The air conditioning seemed to work ok but it hasn't been swelteringly hot on out 2 visits so cannot really comment on its full functionality. The rooms were cleaned ever day along with fresh towels. The cleaners even folded loose clothes and stacked shoes in their correct pairs, which I thought was a nice touch.

Once you are out of the room there is only one place to head for and that is the roof terrace. With its panoramic views and relaxing vibes it's a must for breakfast time or an evening drink. The terrace is split into 3 levels. The top level has a number of sun loungers and relaxing chairs. The middle level is a little more shaded. The lower lever is where you can enjoy your breakfast whilst savouring the views of Palermo. The bar on the terrace stays open until 11pm so I recommend you spend at least one evening watching the sunset over the mountains. I have witnessed some amazing sunsets around the world and this is right up alongside those.

I cannot wait to make my 3rd visit to Palermo and I will definelty be making a booking with Hotel Ambasciatori.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BristolBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dearest Sir,
we all thank you very much for your kind words about the Hotel , the city and for all of us!
We really hope to see you again
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We loved our stay in this hotel. It is in a great location, easy to travel everywhere from here. The rooftop bar and restaurant were great and added to our stay. It was the most beautiful breakfast setting you can imagine. Great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlendaJMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffAmbasciatori, Staff at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
"It was the most beautiful breakfast setting you can imagine. Great value."...what better way to have gratification for our job ? Our objective is to make you stay wonderful !
Thank you very much from all for your wonderful words about us.
Best wishes
The staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The Ambasciatori is unpretentious and excellent value for money. The location is great, being nearish to the station, on a main bus route and within easy walking distance of the Cathedral and other key points of interest. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and clean and the staff could not have been more helpful. The great attraction is the stunning view of the city's rooftops and the mountains form the roof terrace, where breakfast is served as well as dinner in the evenings and a bar if you want them. The breakfast was very plentiful and adequate, but who's looking at the breakfast with that panorama on offer?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We were pleased with our choice of hotel. We took the airport bus to Stazione Centrale, which gives you an easy walk down Via Roma to the hotel. We discovered on the way back to the airport that the bus stops nearer to the hotel on the return journey. The hotel is comfortable, we had a deluxe room (309), which was a good size with a large bathroom with a double shower. A bath would have been nice but I assume that this is a green measure. The room was at the back of the hotel with a reasonable view and the big plus of being quiet. There is a good buffet breakfast, which on sunny mornings could be taken on the terrace, an ideal way to enjoy the great view of Palermo. We ate at the hotel on our first evening and had a good meal. The hotel is ideally located in the old part of town, so you can easily walk to the main tourist sites. It is certainly a city of contrasts, some of the older parts are just beginning to be gentrified, whilst around the corner you might find a bomb site. We left at 7.30 AM and missed breakfast, it was only on getting home and reading reviews that I learnt that some early leavers had been offered a cold breakfast. I would certainly consider returning to this hotel and recommending it to others. The staff were always pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Great location for touring the old quarter of Palermo. Easy walk to Palazzo Reale, the cathedral, Piazza Bellini, Quatro Canti and many more historic sites. This is my second stay at this hotel and I look forward to returning soon. The rooftop patio is amazing!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RosalinosGrandson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffAmbasciatori, Reeption & Management at Ambasciatori Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Sir,
we really thank you very much for beeing you twice choise! We will do all to always to make unforgettable your next stay here!
We'll wait for you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed in his hotel and we thought it was good, however because we were a family they gave us some rooms that were located at the front and it can be quite noisy at night due to the traffic.
The rooms were very spacious and comfortable, like the rest of the hotel, and the staff was helpful and friendly.
We had dinner once and the restaurant, they didn't have much choice, but the food was good.
The best thing is definitely the view from the bar/varanda, for sure one of the best in town, you can have a drink or catch some sun whilst looking at the amazing view.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend a room facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmssantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#18 of 98 in Palermo
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
435 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#10 of 98 in Palermo
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Hotel
Address: Via Roma 111, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#9 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing