We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambasciatori Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile


Beautiful views from the rooftop terrace. Friendly staff at the main reception desk and at breakfast time. Great location to get around and see Palermo.
Breakfast not so great. Room was small and could hardly move in the shower cubicle. Wi-fi very temperamental and not working in the room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fatafeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    494
    129
    26
    12
See reviews for
171
601
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Our room on the 1st floor was very good, with lots of space, including an entry area, with the bathroom located off it, together with the good size bedroom. It all appeared to have been renovated and was well appointed, fresh, clean and with a comfortable bed. The breakfasts were a bit basic, but functional, but the breakfast area itself was wonderful, with a panoramic view over the city. The hotel is in a good location, about a 15 minute walk to the railway station and also convenient to lots of good eating places and attractions such as the Capella Palatine. Recommended for a reasonably priced stay in this very interesting city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We made our reservations online about 2 months prior to our scheduled stay, and were informed via email about 3 days in advance that we had been re-booked at a different hotel due to some problem at this hotel. Pro: we were re-booked and did not have to pay extra, Con:not sure the place we stayed at was the same quality/worth the money we had paid.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChiT0wnF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel is well located not far from the train station, shopping and restaurants. In addition to the beautiful rooftop area our 5th floor room also had a small patio with great views of the city and mountains beyond. The hotel had a small café-like sitting area on our floor which was great for our daily Happy Hour (it's BYOB). Our room was compact but sufficient. However, I was very unhappy with the shower - very small with an old fashioned "rain" shower head which goes everywhere - there is no getting away from it so ladies be prepared to get your hair wet or wear a shower cap. We were on the street side so it was a bit noisy at night even though the windows had shutters on them. It was a trade off - either you're on the street with good views but noise, or in the back where it's quiet but not much to look at.
I would not recommend the rooftop restaurant for dining even though the setting is beautiful. We had one dinner there which turned out poorly - it took forever to get our food and when we finally did it lacked taste and imagination. The breakfast consisted of alot of pastries and no fruit other than the oranges that you had to squeeze for your juice. The only redeeming factor in the restaurant was our waiter Giorgio - who pretty much was a party of one waiting on everyone at dinner time. He was always working to make our meal enjoyable - not his fault that the chef was lacking. If you stay here I would suggest the rooftop patio for Happy Hour or Sunset viewing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Rooftop Terrace was absolutely gorgeous! The staff were pleasant. The room,however, was pretty bad. The decor was early attic. It had a smell we could not get rid of. We turned air conditioner on to help and specks of black dust kept coming out. The toilet seat was broken and there was mold on one wall in bathroom. The room was on Via Roma and very,very noisy.
The location was good for walking in the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jes1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel at the start of our Sicily holiday because of its central position and reasonable cost. Our room with not real window, was not the best we have had, but adequate and the bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom. Reading other reviews it appears that the rooms vary considerably. When we booked there was little available, so I suppose we got one of the last ones. One point of warning don't book if you can not manage stairs as the breakfast is on the 7th floor and the lift only goes to the 5th floor.

However the terrace for breakfast, drinks or supper was absolutely marvellous, as were the meals. It was certainly worth staying there just to see the magnificent views. But it would not be the only reason. The staff were great, and the position is central enough to be able to walk to most places of interest. I hope to visit again sometime, choosing a better room.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dazeaway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
87 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stayed in a quadruple room. It was big, decent bathroom and beds were comfortable. The terrazza where we had breakfast everyday (with freshly squeezed red orange juice!!!) is beautiful. Loved Palermo, churches are beautiful and the city is very welcoming. Next time, however, would prefer to stay in another part of town, closer to the "new" part of town, where we can find more restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulista1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Hotel Porta Felice
#4 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Brunaccini
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#6 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambasciatori Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambasciatori Hotel

Property: Ambasciatori Hotel
Address: Via Roma 111, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Tribunali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Palermo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambasciatori Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Ambasciatori Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambasciatori Hotel Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing