We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
Ranked #35 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Crickhowell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on 15th - 17th may. The room Was good with all basic facilities and was clean but smal ( we were in a superior room). The booking information said there was a balcony but in fact there were no rooms with baloncies. Breakfast was ok, but there were not enough tables to seat all guests so had the wait. The actual position of the hotel was not good. Probably 500 metres away from the main centre so took at least 15 minutes to get to main routes. The location would mean we wouldn't return to this hotel. Staff were helpful but could explain where to eat locally which we thought was strange.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    148
    43
    14
    6
See reviews for
36
163
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I wanted to give this hotel 4 stars but alas, too many things went wrong to give this hotel any more than an average rating. In many ways it embodies Sicily...warmhearted, beautiful and somewhat broken.

PROS:
Location: Great central location with all sites within easy walking distance; several hip bars right up the street (this comes at a price though - see below)
Aesthetics: Very nicely appointed rooms with thoughtful design and a nice sized bathroom
Staff: Afternoon receptionist very friendly and helpful (despite problems - see below)
Parking: Convenient valet parking at a cost
Linens: While not the softest, much softer than the sandpaper at most places within Sicily
Breakfast: Above average breakfast with something for everyone - pastries, yogurts, cereals, eggs, and meat.

CONS:
Location: While the rooms are fairly well soundproofed, the hotel sits on a square where the Palermo youth like to loiter throughout the night. I personally didn't mind this but some older guests might.
Wif Glitch: Didn't work on the higher floors when I arrived at the hotel; it was fixed a few hours later and worked flawlessly thereafter
Room Air Conditioning Glitch: Didn't work when I arrived but was promptly fixed
Room Service Glitch: I hung my breakfast order door hanger outside my room only to find out after the appointed time for breakfast delivery that nobody ever came by to pick it up - totally inexcusable; no attempt was made to make amends other than a quick "I'm sorry" from the front desk
Staff: Evening/night receptionist is cold and not very welcoming (as opposed to the bright and cheery daytime receptionist)
Shower: way, way too small; while it has all sorts of gimicky massage features it's quite literally the smallest shower stall I've ever stepped into

Maybe it was a bad day at the Vecchio Borgo? It has the potential to be a GREAT place to stay. Unfortunately, based on too many inconsistencies, it's no more than average for now.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nextmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Our (standard) room was comfortable and brightly decorated, the advertised "massage shower" was an amusing item and also a usefully functional shower.

The location is good (there are frequent bus services to the central station, but it's far enough out from the middle to be away from the worst of the incessant honking).

Good breakfasts, with a nice selection of pastries and cake as well as cereal and fruit. Helpful English speaking staff.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are lovely, but have no bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHShotels_HG, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Vecchio Borgo, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Dear Guest, thank you for your excellent review!
We are really glad to fulfil the expectations of our Guests!

Thank you for all and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

The Vecchio Borgo is centrally located in Palermo just a few minutes away from the Teatro Politeama. The hotel also offers a guarded parking area just around the corner. The reception staff was always very friendly and very helpful for restaurant recommendation and other questions. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean, however the shower was a bit small. At night the streets were still busy, however one could still sleep well. The only really negative point was the breakfast. The variety was very small and the coffee was terrible.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK_Frankfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHShotels_HG, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Vecchio Borgo, responded to this review, 1 September 2011
Hi!!! Thank you for yor excellent review!
We are glad that our services satisfied you!
We are sorry for the inconvenience with breakfast and we use your suggestions to improve our service.
We hope to see you soon...best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The World
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

This hotel is located in very dangerous location which I am told by some locals has criminals and thieves, indeed, we ventured outside the hotel and into the corner street, it was filled with rubbish, people were in the streets nearly drunk and wild dogs were roaming the streets !

The staff inside the hotel are great, the breakfast is great, but contrary to what is advertised there was no internet inside the rooms, this was a problem for us regarding planning and cheking our trip.

In all, it is poor hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldHeritage711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The staff was very helpful, including restaurant, sightseeing suggestions, directions, etc. - and in good English. We stayed in a superior room which was more expensive and well worth the extra cost. Good breakfast as well.

We loved the location - it's just a few blocks from the main streets, yet has a neighborhood feel, almost like an outdoor market with many street stands. I've read reviews discussing safety and lack of nearby restaurants - this wasn't our experience. We were out well into the evening and felt safe. And restaurants were easy to find, although 2-5 blocks away. While the hotel doesn't have room service, I was sick for part of the trip and they called a nearby restaurant for us who brought a delicious dinner to the hotel for us.

Room Tip: Superior rooms best, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2011

After a tiring journey and a lengthy day sightseeing, my partner and I very much appreciated the comfort of the accommodation and the helpfulness of the entire staff which were outstanding. Located in the downtown area, visiting the city's histtorical and cultural sites on foot from the hotel as a base was easy and rewarding. Room decor is pleasing and up-to.date. Local restaurants in the immediate neighbourhood for evening meals are rather restricted but the Osteria di Carlo 100 meters from the hotel front door provided friendly service and good food at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rod048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garibaldi
Hotel Garibaldi
#23 of 98 in Palermo
1,095 reviews
0.2 mi away
Politeama Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Posta
Hotel Posta
#29 of 98 in Palermo
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Palermo Excelsior City
0.2 mi away
Hotel ibis Styles Palermo
0.3 mi away
Hotel Joli
Hotel Joli
#24 of 98 in Palermo
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchio Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Borgo

Property: Hotel Vecchio Borgo
Address: Via Quintino Sella 1/7, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vecchio Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vecchio Borgo is the ideal starting point either for a holiday or a business stay. Just a few steps from Via Libertà, Via Ruggero Settimo and Via Roma, you will definitively have much to see and enjoy. The elegant Politeama Theatre, jewel of the 19th century architecture, is just five minutes’ walk and the astonishing Massimo Theatre, the third biggest theatre in Europe, is only ten minutes’ walk. Every other renowned monument and museum, from the Medieval Age to the Contemporary one, is easily reachable by foot. Moreover, the best restaurants and cafés which are situated all along this area will definitively be the unmissable destination for the most exigent gourmet. All 32 rooms are joyfully colourful, soundproofed, parquet flooring, air-conditioned and furnished with poster-bed, free internet wireless connection, LCD television, minibar, electronic safe and direct phone. Bathrooms are decorated with fine marble and furnished with hydro massage shower, towelling bathrobe and slippers and guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Borgo Hotel
Hotel Vecchio Borgo Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing