We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel would not hesitate to stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vecchio Borgo
Ranked #37 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family and I stayed at the hotel during June 2014. We have two young children for anyone in a similar position. Our time at the hotel was very pleasant.

Although the area surrounding the hotel may be considered by some as as a little lively at night, we were not put off. We felt safe at all times. Even when walking back late at night.

The hotel is itself is nicely decorated. The paint is fresh. All parts of it that we saw which were accessible to members the public were kept clean.

Our bedroom was large, clean and well equipped. The only addition I might suggest is a kettle with tea and coffee making facilities but otherwise it was equipped to a high standard.

Breakfast was served by a very pleasant waitress. What was actually on offer was fresh and would satisfy even those with the largest of appetites.

All the staff at the hotel should be complimented for their manner and professionalism. In addition, they should be complemented on their patience with my with my broken Italian.

Lastly, the hotel was located approximately 10 to 15 minutes from the Piazza Politeama which is bonus and for those interested in taking a bus to Mondello then it is even closer to the Piazza Sturzo.

I would have no hesitation staying at the hotel again should I have the pleasure to visit Palermo.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karamjit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (320)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Vecchio Borgo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked for 3 nights and checked out after 1. The room was poorly maintained with old,dilapidated furniture. Not very clean and seemed much smaller than the quoted 23 meters.
Breakfast was terrible. Tasteless food in edible fruit and railway standard coffee from the 60's.
The street outside was seedy and felt dangerous at night. Only redeeming feature was the pleasant concierge.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Vecchio Borgo for two nights and we would definitely recommend it to others and stay there when we return to Palermo. It's centrally located and a quick walk to Teatro Politeama and Teatro Massimo. The breakfast was delicious and they offered quite a bit of variety. Also, the staff was always very kind and accommodating. We were concerned about the Wi-Fi as some hotels offer free Wi-Fi that is slow, not this place though, the internet connection was great. Overall, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I would like to thank the front office staff for the warm welcome and their kind and courteous attitude to our travellers. Special thanks to Alessandro at the reception

Peter Georgiev
Abax tour leader

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peeteer56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I spent a happy week at this hotel. Before I travelled I emailed to ask about the shuttle bus from the airport. I got a very quick reply with details of cost and which stop is nearest the hotel. Staff were always helpful and spoke good English. Buffet breakfast was included in cost of room and gave a good choice including cooked, continental and a range of fruit and pastries. On one occasion I found the air conditioning was working but the lights were not. Reception sent an engineer within 5 minutes who diagnosed the problem and rectified it within minutes. The Vecchio Borgo is named after the old street market which surrounds the hotel. This market seems to run all day but really comes alive about 10pm and goes on until at least 1.30 in the morning with bars and stalls all busy. My room with a balcony on the 8th floor was spacious as was the bathroom. I usually sleep with window open when weather is cool but the noise from the market in the early hours prevented this. The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of piazza Politeama with its concert hall and only 15 minutes walk to Teatro Massimo - one of the great concert halls of Europe. Definitely good value

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We spent four days at Vecchio Borgo. The location is not so close to Palermo's main attractions, but is a good & quiet neighborhood.
We have chosen this hotel because of its good quality-price equation, and the room pictures. We were not dissapointed at all. Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Plenty of space. The bathroom was equally good. Room service was fine.
Hotel staff were always there to help with our many questions.
Last, but not least, tyhe breakfast buffet quality is amazing. You can choose from bacon, eggs and tioasts, to a wide variety of fruits and good talian coffee.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edgardo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

It was near to the center and to the pub area. For Sicily I would even say it was quiet! The bathroom and a specially the shower booth were not clean and full of mold! And I am talking about that easy to clean mold directly on the walls! Bottom line 75€ to much for 60€ ok!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,291 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#22 of 98 in Palermo
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Joli
#26 of 98 in Palermo
608 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#13 of 98 in Palermo
1,831 reviews
Hotel Posta
#29 of 98 in Palermo
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vecchio Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vecchio Borgo

Address: Via Quintino Sella 1/7, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £44 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vecchio Borgo 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vecchio Borgo is the ideal starting point either for a holiday or a business stay. Just a few steps from Via Libertà, Via Ruggero Settimo and Via Roma, you will definitively have much to see and enjoy. The elegant Politeama Theatre, jewel of the 19th century architecture, is just five minutes’ walk and the astonishing Massimo Theatre, the third biggest theatre in Europe, is only ten minutes’ walk. Every other renowned monument and museum, from the Medieval Age to the Contemporary one, is easily reachable by foot. Moreover, the best restaurants and cafés which are situated all along this area will definitively be the unmissable destination for the most exigent gourmet. All 32 rooms are joyfully colourful, soundproofed, parquet flooring, air-conditioned and furnished with poster-bed, free internet wireless connection, LCD television, minibar, electronic safe and direct phone. Bathrooms are decorated with fine marble and furnished with hydro massage shower, towelling bathrobe and slippers and guest amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Vecchio Borgo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vecchio Borgo Hotel
Hotel Vecchio Borgo Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing