We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic but friendly”
Review of PoliteamAffitti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
PoliteamAffitti
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very basic but friendly”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The friendly and very sweet owner is the only real perk of this accommodation. The apartments are very old, with furniture to match. The bed in the apartment I stayed in was a sofa bed with a rock-hard mattress, and I doubt I would have dared to cook in the corner kitchen which consisted of two hotplates. Location-wise, it is in the middle of nowhere - you need to walk quite a way on either side to get to the hotspots of Palermo. It is close to a central bus stop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    7
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The area is great, you get a feel of the 'real' Palermo, street bbq's, cheap street food and markets, friendly, cheap shops and cafes. Very close to the centre still. The owner was very pleasant and kind, this was why, being typical British, we didn't complain, so I must stress that as he didn't know there was anything wrong, he didn't have the chance to do anything about it. I think we were unlucky in our room allocation!
There was no balcony and only a couple of small skylight windows. This made the room feel very claustrophobic and was a shame as it was so lovely and sunny outdoors. The bed was an incredibly uncomfortable sofa bed that didn't seem to be quite horizontal! This wasn't good enough, we barely slept and had backache. They need to replace this with a proper bed at the very least. One night there was a heavy storm and because we were in the roof, the rain caused a very loud noise all night that ear plugs didn't block out.
The decor was nice enough, bathroom was fine and everything was clean.
The air con leaked all over the wardrobe and made our clothes wet.
We couldn't get wifi signal in our room.
I'm not saying don't stay here, just don't stay on the top floor! Ask for a balcony or at least windows and make sure you get a bed not a sofabed. The area is a bit rough but this does add to the atmosphere, it felt more 'real' than other parts of the city.
The city of Palermo was great, would go back but if we stayed here it would be in another room on another floor!

Room Tip: DON'T STAY ON THE TOP FLOOR! Ask for a bed instead of sofa bed and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This apartment block in a busy, dirty side street doesn't make the best impression due to its location, that's for sure. All of that immediately disappeared when we saw our apartment. Old-fashioned, big, cheap and well-maintained. Perfect for a week long holiday in Palermo.

Most of these reviews had us worrying. The neighbourhood isn't nearly as dangerous or as intimidating as some write here. Sure, it's dirty and always moving, but it's just as dangerous/safe as any street of its kind in any other city. We never felt unsafe. In fact, it has it charms. Definitely check out the nearby piazza on a Friday / Saturday night, it's a sight to behold and perfectly fits in with a summer vibe. Cheap, fresh bread, fruit, and meat available in a 2-minute-walking-cirlce of the apartment, perfect for when you want to cook, which is possible because the apartment is well-equipped with pots, pans and plates.

The owner, though friendly as any Sicilian is, doesn't speak a word of English, luckily his assistant does and he made us feel home right away. The normal lock of our apartment door had been visibly forced, which was worrying, but luckily there was a big old 'turn-that-sucker-three-times' lock that made our room as secure as a vault.

We enjoyed this place very much, and it definitely was a worthwhile addition to our trip.

P.S.: Be aware of keeping food out in the open, ants will crawl all over the place in a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This is an apartment block in (as mentioned previously) an interesting area. The immediate area does have an undesirable feel about it at night. The owner is charming and very helpful (all in italian but he had a helper who speaks some english). It is right down near the port and in fact, a quick walk up takes you up to a very expensive area but it is a poor residential area that you walk through to get there. And drag your suitcase through! Fairly easy to walk to a major bus point. Rubbish on streets++, cars parked on pavements several deep and you do feel very out of place if you walk to the opera house dressed up but I never felt threatened physically as such.

The apartment is fine - clean and what you would expect from the price- with air-con and reasonable kitchen facility. Hot water etc fine as well.

I would return if price was a really big issue. So I guess yes, I would recommend it as long as you realise the reason it is so cheap!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2008

just got back after 12 nights ..had a wonderfull time ,apartement well equiped and clean,mr rossi the owner and his staff were lovely..was a bit worried about the area to start but my fears were unfounded ,on the first day went to the local cafe and the owner was really friendly , the food on the market was amazing fresh fruit and veg ,we bought fresh fish and they cooked it for us on a huge bbq ,there was a stall that sold siclian salads, potatos, and rice all prepared fresh that day.
there was supermarkets and bread shops on your doorstep all real people who couldnt of been more friendly.
loved palermo amazing sights to see ,there are some beggars and the men selling plastic crap drove me mad but i learned to ignore them.
mondello beach is lovely but beware 25 euros for 2 beds and an umberella we bought our own umberella for 10 euros and threw it in the back of the car. i would go back and would definetely stay there again ...

  • Liked — the location and the locals
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank salNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2006

PoliteamAffitti is a block of self-contained self-catering apartments. We stayed in Palermo in October 2005 and paid for a studio apartment (through lastminute) at a very reasonable price. The apartment comprised a nicely-decorated lounge area, kitchen area, separate bathroom, and bedroom situated on a mezzanine level. We found the apartment clean and comfortable and well-located for the city's amenities and attractions. The block is situated down a back street and looks uninviting from the front, but once inside the apartments are perfectly fine. Recommended if you are seeing Sicily on a budget.

Helpful?
4 Thank OccasionalTraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 January 2005

We found this place on the Internet - it's a fairly-recently renovated block of self-contained apartments which we had for two nights - very competively priced at €60 for two per night. For that we had a double room with squeaky-clean ensuite bath, and an open-plan sitting/dining/kitchen (full utensils, microwave, fridge) area with linen in January. It was a located slightly away from the centre, near the harbour - which was good (quiet (!! - in Palermo!!), residential area, supermarkets almost opposite, fruit stalls galore, a market, your own local cafe/bar, and "real" life), and bad (you have to walk through a slightly rough area to get your apartment). It was however 10 minutes from the Politeama square, where the airport bus drops you off, and for the price, location and facilities it'll take some beating. Very very happy (even though we got mugged in the old town - but that's another story ...)

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Casa Riccio
Casa Riccio
#52 of 98 in Palermo
50 reviews
Hotel Regina
#43 of 98 in Palermo
203 reviews
Castellammare
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#62 of 98 in Palermo
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Hotel Liberta
Hotel Liberta
#74 of 98 in Palermo
39 reviews
Libertà
Torreata Hotel & Residence
Tribunali
Albergo Cavour
Albergo Cavour
#34 of 98 in Palermo
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PoliteamAffitti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PoliteamAffitti

Property: PoliteamAffitti
Address: Via Domenico Scina' 27, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — PoliteamAffitti 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 minutes walk from Politeama Theatre, the very heart of Palermo, this is truly a gem in the heart of the city. Featuring 10 fully refurbished, modern apartments with all the amenities you need, we are sure you will be delighted from the first moment of your stay! Established in 2005, our central location right in the heart of Palermo enables our guests to truly immerse themselves in the city’s thriving cultural landscape. Piazza Politeama, the sea, and the historic market "Borgo Vecchio" are all within a few minutes' walk. Its proximity to a major bus hub also allows quick easy transportation anywhere in the city and its surroundings, airport included. Immerse yourself in the local atmosphere, and we are sure that our city will charm you with its many boutiques, quaint cafes that make espresso to write home about, and restaurants that will make you want to return again and again -- all within a short walk from your doorstep! Whether you're visiting Palermo for business or pleasure, our luxurious apartments are the ideal place to rest your head at the end of the day - though you may like them so much you'll not want to go out! Each apartment is unique, yet all have all the comforts you would expect from a first-class establishment, such as free, fast Wi-Fi, Comfortable beds, bathrooms with showers so lush they'll make you turn up late for your appointment and, of course, a fully functional kitchen with cooking hobs, oven, microwave, and fridge, for when you're able to resist the allure of the restaurants nearby ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your PoliteamAffitti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Politeam Affitti Palermo
PoliteamAffitti Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing