We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely lovely place”
Review of Il Banano

Il Banano
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palermo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Il Banano
Ranked #369 of 490 Palermo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 October 2012

My boyfriend and I spent a couple of days in Il Banano in Mondello after a week of travelling around mainland Italy.

Mondello is an absolutely beautiful area, not touristy at all, completely stunning beaches. It's easy to get to from Palermo central - take a bus from Piazza Sturzo (number 806) and you will know when you get there thanks to the gorgeous scenery. There are lots of lovely fish restaurants (not good if your other half doesn't eat fish!!) but also pizzerias. Look out for an icecream bar by the beach, which was huge and delicious and very cheap.

We spent the two days on the beach, and hired a sunbed for about 10 euros p/day. This was for 2 sunbeds, a chair and an umbrella, which was thought was pretty reasonable. There's a bar nearby which we bought lunch / water from.


And Il Banano. The place is lovely. There are 3 rooms, and it feels really personal and lovely. We had heard brilliant things about Georgio from TripAdvisor, but sadly he was away whilst we were visiting. However, his cousin, Rafaella, was there and was also brilliant. She bought lots of breakfast things which we could help ourselves to, and for 30ish euros, drove us to the airport as well.

We had a private room with a private bathroom across the corridor. The room was lovely and big, with a very comfy bed and enough storage for us. The fan provided good air con as well. To be honest, we hardly spent any time in the hostel as we were on the beach, but I would definitely recommend it and we will be coming back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhicez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2012

we stayed here last july and wanted to say what a lovely place this is, the manager/ owner Georgio is lovely and helpful, the rooms are clean comfy perfect and well worth the money we payed. There is a lovely small garden to sit in and being within waking distance of the beach and some great resturants what more could you ask for.Breakfast is help yourself which is much better as can have when you want unlike other places where you have to eat at the time the b and b gives. Thankyou Georgio for a lovely stay, from natalie and simon ,uk

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mauri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank marcodecaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Mauri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
B&B D'Angelo
#143 of 490 in Palermo
80 reviews
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,357 reviews
Splendid Hotel La Torre
#1 of 1 in Mondello
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Banano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Banano

Address: Via Stesicoro 3, 90151, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 490 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Il Banano Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing