We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem not to be hidden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli
Ranked #96 of 483 Palermo B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 January 2014

What a delightful surprise! I had been too busy to check the details sent to me by my son, so it really was a bonus to find such a gorgeous spot and such a vibrant hostess who seemed to know EVERYTHING about everything! You definitely need your own transport but would probably have that anyway. Being winter I could only imagine the joys of Gabriella's garden and surrounds, but found it hard to believe it could be any better than our four-night stay. Thanks to Gabriella we saw as much as time allowed and enjoyed every moment. A bit too far for us to get back there but if you are in Europe already and are planning to visit Sicily, then this base for several days is well worth knowing about.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GillzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

This accommodation is very good for relaxing and recovering. It is very quiet and there is a beautiful garden like a little paradise with a lot of different plants and trees as well as a little garden pond with turtle. The house and the rooms are a excellent compound of museum, hotel and holiday flat (because you have a little cooking area). It is recommendable especially for families and it is not far from beautiful beach with crystal clear water. The breakfast is very substantial with jam, cake, cheese, yogurt and fresh fruits and more. In the house you have a lot of interesting things to discover. The good soul of the house called Gabriella speaks many languages and comply every wish.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Being keen gardeners, we had picked this B&B because of the pictures of the gardens and also because Gabriella had written us such a nice email when we were making enquiries. We were not disappointed! The house and garden were delightful and Gabriella was the perfect hostess. It was the ideal place to come back to after a busy day sightseeing and battling with the traffic in Palermo! The home-made jams at breakfast were scrumptious and Gabriella's cake on the last morning to die for. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sheena P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We spent four nights in this beautiful villa just minutes from Mondello. Our hostess Gabriella was exceptional in going out of her way to ensure our comfort and provide day trip suggestions, restaurant recommendations and deliver us a beautiful breakfast each morning. This is truly an oasis away from the bustle of Palermo. Mille Grazie Gabriella.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DucatiRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Everything was excellent. The room was very clean, spacious, lovely decorated. The terrace was with a nice view to the sand beach of Mondello & the mountain of Pellegrino. The breakfast was wonderful too with homemade jam, freshly pressed juice & organic (bio) fruits everyday. The hotel host was very friendly & helpful too. They could always advise us some tips for sightseeings & traveling. We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Habushi1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I've just returned from Piana dei Colli, where I had one of the best experience's of my life! The room was just incredible, very peaceful and clean, overlooking this amazing tropical garden and beautiful Palermo's mountains, 5 mins from the wonderful Mondello's beach as well.
The building its very old and extremely well mantained, with an incredible taste for interiors. My room was just a dream, very big, warm and just perfect! I loved every minute of it, from the great breakfast to the lovely chats with Gabriella. I'm so looking forward to go back and spend a few more days in this paradise. I've highly reccomend it, a lifetime experience.
A special thank you goes to Gabriella that made this such an amazing place, full of love and serenity, so happy I've met such a fantastic soul.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renata b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Gabriella is a gracious host and seems to genuinely enjoy meeting people the world over. Her English (and the French we noticed her speaking with two other guests) is fluent and she prepared breakfast for us every morning. Her recommendations for day trips were always dependable (too bad we weren't paying attention when she told us about the beach below the Tonnara di Scopello), her gardens are an oasis (if you ask she'll tell you what all the different flowers are and give you freeze dried shrimp to feed the little resident turtle) and her B&B has a quiet, homey feel.

Room Tip: The downstairs room has a private terrace enclosed by vines and its own bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
5.1 mi away
B&B L'Opera Buffa
B&B L'Opera Buffa
#55 of 483 in Palermo
38 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Flora
Villa Flora
#111 of 483 in Palermo
13 reviews
0.6 mi away
B&B Le Muse
B&B Le Muse
#45 of 483 in Palermo
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Il Glicine Bed & Breakfast Sul Golfo
0.8 mi away
B&B Casa Chinaski
B&B Casa Chinaski
#4 of 12 in Mondello
41 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Al Baglio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli

Address: Via Castelforte 98/A, 90146, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: £62 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 18C Villa of the Palermo Bed & Breakfast "La Piana dei Colli", sunk in the most luscious subtropical vegetation, is situated 15 minutes away from the centre of Palermo and 5 minutes distance from the beach of Mondello.Sicily’s mild climate will allows guests to enjoy the superb garden during all year, indulging in breakfasts, readings or simply walking around its paths.The owner who is an expert in gardening and botany, decided twenty years ago to transform the abandoned lemon’s garden next to the house into an extraordinary place where she has now gathered a wonderful collection of rare plants. This garden is visited every year by several Garden Clubs.At breakfast you will sample the traditional Italian "prima colazione" served with fruit from the garden and home made jams. Fresh eggs will be served if you wish. The house interior has been elegantly refurnished and it still keeps the charm of the old palazzo.Seaside is a few minutes far from the Villa, well-known Mondello beach, and the beautiful rocks of Capo Gallo add pleasure to your journey.Coastal boat trips (with boatman) available at reasonable prices.Two dogs, affectionate and playful live in the garden, sometimes at the sight of a cat can bark upsetting the calm that otherwise is sovereign.IL GLICINE La Piana dei Colli B&B guest house offers two types of accommodation:ROOMS (SINGLE, DOUBLE AND TRIPLE)DELUXE APARTMENT SUITE (OPEN SPACE)FREE WI-FI INTERNET ACCESS IS AVAILABLE IN ALL THE ROOMS.All the Rooms are comfortable, spacious, and tastefully furnished with a bed, a sofa, a desk and a television. Each room is fully air conditioned and has its own private bathroom, either ensuite or on the landing just outside the room.The ground floor room has French windows opening onto the garden, while all the other rooms are located on the first floor and overlook either the garden or the courtyard. Twin beds rather than a double bed will be provided on request.The top left photo shows the ground floor room with French windows opening onto the garden, while the lower photo shows a double bedroom overlooking the courtyard.The recently restructured Deluxe Apartment-Suite is an open space composed of two rooms and can sleep up to four people.The apartment is furnished to the highest quality standards has two windows offering splendid views over the garden.The living room is furnished with a sofa bed (which, when necessary, provides a comfortable double bed) and a small dining table, while the kitchenette in the corner of the room is fully equipped for the preparation of meals. The double bedroom, which in addition to the bed is also furnished with a large antique wardrobe, leads directly to a bathroom with shower. The bathroom is comfortable, spacious and tastefully furnished.The apartment-suite is fully air-conditioned.The photo on the top-right shows the bedroom, while the lower photo shows the living room with kitchenette.The town of Palermo will require a few days to visit its fascinating historical centre (one of the biggest in Europe) the many churches, the palazzos and the picturesque markets.Day-trips from Palermo can be arranged to visit Monreale, Segesta, Bagheria, Cefalù, Trapani, Erice, Agrigento, San Vito Lo Capo.The airport of Palermo "Punta Raisi - Falcone Borsellino" is 20 km away.Guests staying in the B&B must have their own means of transport as the area is not served by public transportation services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Il Glicine - Piana dei Colli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Glicine - Piana Dei Colli Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing