We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Missed Opportunity”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 4 Quarti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
4 Quarti
Ranked #39 of 453 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Missed Opportunity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This Hotel is nice and cosy, with a very good looking interior; which was the main reason for my stay, but the service is appalling. The rooms look typically "old school" Italian and entice you right away, but unfortunately that is also all you get here - furniture and a bath. The employees make no effort whatsoever to fulfill the promises the beautiful rooms make. They basically hand you the keys, including those to the main entrance, and you are on your own. I felt more like a squatter than a guest. There is no room service, no reception, no mini bar, and not even a way to contact anyone who works there. You may run into someone in the early morning, but aside from that you're all alone. The breakfast is terrible, the employees speak next to no English and the overall service is the worst I ever had.

It took me 10 minutes to even get inside the hotel, despite them knowing my exact time of arrival. Took me another 2 days to find someone to arrange payment before departure. Aside from that, the room was ant infested. Imagine my surprise when I encountered the whole table crawling with ants after leaving a glass of juice on it.

The city of Palermo itself, is a catastrophe. If ever I have encountered lazy and unfriendly service people, it has been here. There is literally nothing to eat most of the weekend, as most restaurants are closed for lunch, dinner, or both. Better choose another city for your trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldOfSmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    22
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
61
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Palermo can hardly be described as a pretty city. Much has been done to improve the seediest areas but many of the streets could do with a good clean. Nice to find this small but charming hotel in the middle of a bustling and busy town.

We caught the train from Milazzo (good trip) and walked from the station - not far but a bit tricky to find. Once inside you are cocooned in a very stylish B&B. Outside, you are in easy walking distance of the main sights. Whilst not renowned as a tourist city, there is plenty to see ranging from street markets to musems and churches. Make sure you check on opening hours. We found the main museum shut for lunch when we tried to visit.

The rooms are individually decorated with old world charm but don't expect a view from the window. Our room had a bath that we enjoyed after a day travelling. Breakfast is served communally at the large dining table. The staff are helpful in a quiet sort of way. We mixed up our dates and realised we only had one night although we had booked for two. No problem and no cancellation fee for the second night. We wished we had more time to enjoy this B&B and the interesting city.

Be aware that the staff are not always on site and you may have difficulty contacting them by phone. Plan ahead and let them know your movements. We had a bit of a mix up regarding the taxi to the airport but got there in the end. There were very few taxis in the street outside.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Wello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, B.C.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Great location in Palermo - walking distance to many of the great sights. Albert (Elvis) made our stay very enjoyable - he did a very good job and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast buffet was good - typical Italian - rooms were comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed two nights in this lovely little B&B and found it perfect for our needs. It was clean and beautiful, in an amazing old building, was central to all of the major attractions in the region and had lovely staff. We were greeted with authentic Sicilian canoli on our arrival and felt warm and welcome. Although the area around the hotel is a bit run down, which seems typical of Palermo, that was quickly forgotten when we stepped inside.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeyanaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I had booked a double room at this b&b so was a little disapointed to find it was two single beds pushed together (particularly as it transpired that a single traveller was in a proper double room). Room was very nice though and spacious with a separate sitting area. Something that we found very difficult was the lack of natural daylight as the room only had windows onto a dark lightwell but correspondingly it was very quiet at night. I think we would have preferred room onto the street which would have been more noisy but at least we would have seen daylight! The owners were friendly enough but we didn't see much of them. Breakfast was typical of what we found in Sicilian b&bs - fairly uninspiring packet pastries (not fresh) and 'juice'. The b&b is in part of a palazzo and the man serving breakfast showed us around the main rooms on our last morning - very impressive!

Room Tip: Choice is between daylight and street noise at front or darkness and quiet at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonMap_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I did visit Palermo quite often this year and the B&B Quattro Quarti is the perfect spot to discover Palermo historical town
I do found this B&B the best one i ever been in all my life and i have been around the world a few times. The Management, The breakfast, The rooms, The food make me feel like a King every time i stay there, always a very professional warm welcome . Water melon jelly, mini cannoli with fresh ricotta cheese every morning, warm croissant with white nutella mmhhh delicious delicious
Quality and price better than perfection

Room Tip: all the rooms are very good and elite comfort but my favorite is the green one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limoncello1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2007

We are just leaving this B&B after a three night stay. After notifying the manager the time of our arrival, we found the outside door locked (at 6pm) and no one answering the bell or the telephone. After 20minutes on the street, another guest let us in. We prowled throught the house and found the son of the owner asleep upstairs.

This young man showed us to a small double room. We had been promised a suite (in writing) but he told us the owner's relatives had come and were staying in it. So no suite and a room in which the air conditioner didn't work

During the three days of our stay we never saw the owner or manager. When we presented our credit card at checkout, the young man said the machine was broken and we'd have to pay cash. I refused and left a check.

There are many better hotels in Palermo at equal or lower cost. Stay away from this one if you can.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Gurumanjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
B&B AI Tintori
#42 of 453 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Tribunali
Boutique B&B Vintage
Boutique B&B Vintage
#21 of 453 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abatellis Luxury
#9 of 453 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
La Terrazza sul Centro
#25 of 453 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Quarti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Quarti

Property: 4 Quarti
Address: Via Vittorio Emanuele 376, 90134, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Palazzo Reale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 453 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast 4 Quarti is the right choice to discover Palermo with its artistic wonders and the gorgeous attractions of its historic centre. A wholehearted and friendly atmosphere combined with modern comfort and service, guarantee absolute tranquility and privacy while traveling to work, study or pleasure. The rooms are furnished with antiques belonging to the House and refined fabrics provide the unique match of historic charm and the comfort of modern hospitality. The rooms are all equipped with a private individual bathroom, TV, heating, air conditioning, free Wi-FI Internet, safe box, and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. , HostelWorld, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your 4 Quarti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Quarti Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing