We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”
Review of Hotel Sicilia

Hotel Sicilia
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sicilia
Ranked #89 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wedding”
Reviewed 27 May 2009

I have read some of the reveiws on this site and think some are a little unfair I stayed 3 nights in Palermo after going to a great Irish wedding in the Grand Hotel Taormina what a fantastic town that is, I had a nice large clean room all staff were fine I was not paying for the Ritz the breakfast room was very nice looking over the street I was staying in a city and felt safe, a couple got robbed on there first day in Florida out side the hotel this happens the world over, I was very pleased with this hotel and would stay there again Michael 52.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael_In_Essex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    17
    19
    6
    28
See reviews for
13
20
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Don't expect luxury if you book the Sicilia! Instead you are going to stay in an old building which the hotel occupies in a maze of rooms. In the halls and passageways there are sofas and mirrors and pictures to look at.

Our room was large and inside the building, so quiet and good for a night's sleep. We walked from the station-5-10 minutes. I wouldn't bring a car into Palermo.

Problems with the hotel - toilet water was leaking so flooding the bathroom floor. Fixed by turning of the water and then turning on again after each flush. There were some insects - although not sure if they came from outside or were already in the room.

We stayed 3 nights which is too long. One night would have been enough - there were other much better places in Sicily and one night would probably have left better memories. By three nights we just wanted to move on to the next place.

For eating, Primavera on Piazza Bologni is reliable.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank drumbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

I stayed for a night at the start & end of a week in Sicily, with my husband & 2 year old son. We chose this hotel for its price & proximity to the station/bus to airport. The location was fine, just off main road so not too noisy, but easy to find. Within walking distance of Cathedral, Archaeological Museum & lots of atmospheric old bits of Palermo. The rooms were spacious, nicely decorated, very clean, sufficiently quiet. The bathroom on our first night was lovely - big & recently fitted- the other one was a bit older & smaller, but still fine. Staff were friendly & helpful, with rudimentary English to match our rudimentary Italian.
Excellent value for money at prices quoted for double rooms - we paid 80 euros per night for a triple room, which didn't seem such a bargain.

  • Liked — Central location
  • Disliked — higher price of triple room
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PreservedKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U S A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

This hotel is in a nasty neighborhood for starters. Very dangerous. The pictures on the web site are a joke; they do not match up with reality. There are no windows in the rooms; nor smoke detectors. You have to lock yourself in the room with a skeleton key. The desk clerk spoke some english but he seemed very seedy and was unsympathetic with our plight; which was a mugging directly in front of the hotel in broad daylight. It was the worst hour and a half ever spent at a hotel.

The rest of the trip to Italy was great; so stay away from this rat trap!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank baileyusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Palermo hotels

Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

The Hotel Sicilia is in a great location, just minutes by foot from Quattro Canti and within easy walking distance of Palermo's central train station. At an intersection with a major street (Via Maqueda),
I felt quite safe in the area, even at night.

The Hotel Sicilia is not a full-service hotel, nor does it pretend to
be. It offers clean, comfortable rooms at a budget rate. Common areas held some pleasing touches, and the breakfast area was bright and airy. The desk staff spoke at least some English and were very helpful.

My nicely-sized single room faced an inner courtyard that also holds the stairway to the hotel's entrance, so although I did not hear any noise from the street, I did occasionally hear other guests when they
rang the bell for entry or spoke to one another while on the stairs. Some rooms face a different interior courtyard; those rooms might be even quieter. The entrance to the hotel is up a long flight of stairs, so keep that in mind if mobility or luggage would make that difficult.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the bathroom sink in my room didn't have a drain stopper
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2007

We stayed here for two nights. . . I sincerely wish we'd stayed in an agriturismo outside of the city. Firstly, the traffic was crazy, and we had to worry about having our car stolen; secondly, the hotel is near the train station in a slightly sketchy neighborhood; thirdly, and most importantly, the bathroom (and consequently the room) reeked of sewage. It was as if the entire sewer system of Palermo was channeled right through those pipes and presented to us for our pleasure; lastly, one of the hotel staff busted into our room without knocking while we were taking a nap in order to "give us our key" (he made sure to barge in twice). If only the other options in Palermo weren't so expensive.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lolalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Hotel del Centro
#29 of 98 in Palermo
507 reviews
Orientale
#54 of 98 in Palermo
186 reviews
Albergo Vittoria
#63 of 98 in Palermo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tribunali
Ambasciatori Hotel
Ambasciatori Hotel
#8 of 98 in Palermo
1,175 reviews
Tribunali
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#70 of 98 in Palermo
198 reviews
Tribunali
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#50 of 98 in Palermo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sicilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sicilia

Property: Hotel Sicilia
Address: Via Divisi 99, 90133, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sicilia 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sicilia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sicilia Hotel Palermo
Hotel Sicilia Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing