We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated Elegance in the Heart of the New City”
Review of Hotel Plaza Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Opera
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Jasper
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Understated Elegance in the Heart of the New City”
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Part of the Summit Group, Hotel Plaza Opera maintains the standards of a large chain while providing a boutique experience without the pretension. Travellers flying into Palermo will appreciate its location a block from Piazza Politeama, which is one of the two drop-off and pick-up stops for the Prestia e Comande airport bus. The hotel is within comfortable walking distance to the historic centre but its proximity to high-end retail on Via della Liberta and the more affordable strip on Via Ruggero Settimo will delight shopaholics. Average rooms come with very tight showers and little space for luggage, but the tasteful, minimalist decor make it a welcome sanctuary from the frenetic streets of Palermo. Although breakfast is the usual spread found all around the continent, eggs and coffee made to order is a brilliant touch that almost justifies what could be perceived as overstaffing, albeit with lovely, attentive servers. For other meals, quality dining can be found just metres away at Pizzeria Peppino or Fratelli la Bufala, both of which are conveniently located around Piazza Castelnuovo. To cap off a memorable time in Palermo, obtain a Mondello beach club voucher and city bus tickets directly from the hotel reception and head to one of the most gorgeous sandy beaches in Italy.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeyface09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear guest,
we are so delighted with your review! We are so glad you loved our location in the shopping district, the easy links to the airport but also to lovely attractions such as Mondello, the décor and comfort of our rooms and the attentive breakfast service. We hope we will have the opportunity to have you again as our guest in the future, on your next trip to Palermo, so that we can help you discover other amazing places and sights in the city, together with other delicious tasting meals in recommended restaurants and pizzerias.
We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Plaza Opéra!
Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia,
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    191
    72
    15
    7
See reviews for
45
187
21
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2011

great breakfast- fresh fruits, pastries every morning....can upgrade to a bigger room for a very reasonable price--best bathtub i found in italy (large, american style)!. great location-right around the corner from a main bus station/stop. attentive staff.

Room Tip: the bigger room was only 20euros a night more than the small rooms--well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calabrialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed your upgrade and all the features and standards of the new room! In our hotel we have 3 superior rooms, 3 deluxe rooms and 2 suites and we encourage our guests to take advantage of promotions so to enjoy additional features as whirlpool bathtub, increased bathroom amenities, coffee and tea maker including a complimentary selection of teas, free parking upon availability, etc. We are also delighted you enjoyed our fresh breakfast so much, together with the location and the helpfulness of all our staff.
We’ll be looking forward to having you again as our guest!
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia, Executive Assistant
Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Positive:
The location is good for a hotel not located right in the Old part of the city.
The airport bus is 2 or 3 mins walk away from the hotel.
It's relatively much quieter than the hotels in the old city.
There are restaurant and supermarket around.
Almost all the buses stop here and there are a bus ticket selling point if you would like to take buses.
The exchange point of the two lines of the open tour bus is here.
I asked for a quiet room and they did give me a very quiet room! I liked it.

Negative:
Not located right in the middle of the old city, although you can easily walk around or take buses.
Ok breakfast, not really memorable.
Internet is not Free. I feel it should be included.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Transparent2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and the good transportation links around the hotel, together with the shopping and dining opportunities provided in the area. As a matter of fact, many travelers prefer to stay in a downtown hotel and not in the old town precisely because of the quality and quantity of services provided in the area. We hope you will choose our property again on the occasion of a future stay in Palermo, so that we can make our best to make your stay truly memorable, starting from breakfast, which offers a selection of fresh products and which is one of the services we continuously improve thanks to our guests' suggestions.
We look forward to having you again as our guest,
Kind regards
Giulia Briguglia, Executive Assistant
Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Convenient, new hotel right in the center of Palermo, in a very quiet street. Airport shuttle bus stops around the corner, as well as buses to the train station and the beach. New rooms, great bed, good bathroom.OK breakfast. However, for Italian hotel standards in this price range the breakfast is better than average.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarOhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Dear Guest,
we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and everything about our hotel: the location, the transportation options, the rooms and their features. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast, which, being completely based on fresh products, makes sure that every guest has a taste of Sicily during their stay at our hotel.
We look forward to having you again as our guest!
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This was the last night of our honeymoon in Sicily so we stayed in Palermo to be closer to the airport. On arrival we were directed to a car park further back up the street that is used by the hotel.Parking in the car park was a total nightmare, you have to drive down a very narrow steep slope, very sharp turns and park deep underground between a lot of narrow pillars. From here we had to carry our cases back up the steep lope and across to the hotel. We had booked a Superior Room which was really fabulous with a spa bath . We went out on a bus tour of Palermo and returned to the hotel to get a drink in the bar, but there was nobody to serve us. We asked at reception and they tried to find somebody but nobody turned up to serve us. We returned to our room disappointed.

*** We were woken at 2.00am by the fire alarm going off and this went on and off ALL night. It was impossible to sleep.

Nobody got in touch with us to explain what was happening.

We were told that this was the THIRD night that the fire alarm had been going on and off.
.
We left the hotel at 6.00am and slept in the car because we could not stand it any longer.

Terrible. Terrible. Terrible

Why did they not tell us when we booked in that there was a problem.

What if there was a fire.

They gave me my money back but that is small compensation for ewhat we had been through. A terrible end to our honeymoon

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bletchingleyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, 21 June 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review.

We would like first of all to address the issues pertaining to the car park and bar service. As to the first issue, the hotel’s private videosurveilled car par is just in front of the hotel entrance and is perfectly equipped and suitable to serve its functions: what you have described as steep slopes, sharp turns and deep underground was never described this dramatically by the thousand guests that have driven down to the garage since the hotel opened in 2005. Moreover, we would like to remind that our car valet service is always available at a cost. As to the bar service, we would like to apologize for the wait, which has surely taken too long, and ensure that we will take this comment most seriously in order to improve our standards of service.

We presented to you our apologies for the inconvenience caused by the fire alarm going off at night during your stay at our hotel. We have called the fire alarm system maintenance company to address the issue and resolve it, and hopefully the only issue with the fire alarm, which was not faulty whatsoever, is that it went off because a guest tried to smoke in the room (more than one night in a row).

We have agreed to fully refund your stay because it was part of your honeymoon and we felt that it was a sensitive thing to do in order to make up for the inconvenience, even if caused by something which was not in our control such as a guest smoking in his/her room. We are sorry to read that this was not appreciated.

Hoping that we will have the opportunity to have you again as our guest,
We send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia, Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Plaza-Opera, though not posh, is clean, modern, and comfortable. Its best feature, however, is its convenient location: (1) within 2-3 blocks of bus lines to the tourist attractions in the city center perhaps 2-3 kilometers away; (2) 2 blocks from a dropoff/pickup stop for the airport shuttle bus; and (3) within 4-5 blocks of a Hertz car rental agency (on Via Messina). The immediate neighborhood is quiet and residential, but there are a number of restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. As for the hotel itself, our room, though a bit tight, was attractively furnished and had a large flatscreen TV (with 2 English language channels) and a comfortable bed. The bath included both a shower and a tub. Breakfast was in a pleasant setting and offered the usual tasty Italian pastries, fruit and juices, cold meats, cheese, and, on request, eggs. Staff was helpful in explaining how to navigate the bus system (it’s easy). The hotel’s clientele includes, besides tourists, a fair number of business travelers—at least they were wearing suits and ties. With the Plaza-Opera, one gets a nice hotel with good access to downtown, but without paying downtown prices for a hotel of comparable quality. We judged the Plaza Opera to deliver good value for the money we spent.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robtlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your positive review – we are glad you appreciated our hotel, its rooms and amenities, the breakfast service based on fresh products and most of all the convenient location of the hotel, which is some steps away from Piazza Politeama, in the modern city centre, the main shopping and entertainment area, and at a comfortable distance from the main historical city centre sights.
We hope you will choose again Hotel Plaza Opéra for your next stay in Palermo and look forward to having you again as our guest.

Kind regards,

Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Plaza Opera for 2 nights on our first stop during a 2 week honeymoon in Sicily. The hotel is modern with spacious rooms. We stayed in on of the suites which was very large and had a private deck with great views of Palermo. The hotel is in walking distance to many great restaurants and in the perfect location to walk around Palermo. Highly recommended we will return to this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bostontraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaHPO, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Dear Guest,

thanks a million for your review! We appreciated your positive comments on the hotel location, and on the suite features and views. We really look forward to have you again as our guests on your next trip to Palermo.

Kind regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#24 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Opera

Property: Hotel Plaza Opera
Address: Via Nicolo' Gallo 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palermo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Palermo
Hotel Plaza Opera Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing