We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat in a Busy City”
Review of Hotel Plaza Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Opera
Ranked #27 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We spent a fabulous 4 nights at the Plaza Opera in a room that was perfectly arranged, functional and quiet. It also had an Italian rarity, excellent bedside reading lamps. Airport transportation worked well, which was fortunate, as the hotel's superior central location makes it tricky to find at night for those with jet-lag. Breakfasts were tasty, though we thought the coffee could have been richer and stronger. Every single member of the the reception staff was impressive and provided consistently great recommendations for nearby restaurants, tips on negotiating Palermo, and accurate daily weather predictions. We were especially appreciative of the bellman and the receptionist on our last morning when we discovered that taking a taxi to our car rental office was impractical and walking with luggage would have been strenuous. The two gracious staff members developed a plan for driving us to the rental office; this was accomplished (although the bellman had to corral a passerby to help him push and jumpstart the car) and our perfect stay was further enhanced. We had a lovely time and will return at our earliest opportunity!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJHW_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Sales & Marketing Executive at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience here at Hotel Plaza Opéra with the other members of the Tripadvisor travellers community.

It was lovely to read your fresh and positive notes and impressions about your recent stay with us, and learn that you enjoyed the location, services and features of the hotel. Thank you also for highlighting the polite, warm and professional attitude of our staff - we would especially like to thank you on behalf of them all!

We really look forward to have you again with us on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo!
Kind regards

Giulia Briguglia
Sales & Marketing Executive, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

This hotel is quite modern and situated in close proximity to the city centre and with dozens of restaurants in nearby streets. The room was very clean and modern and provided excellent sleeping opportunity. WIFI is not free which is most dissapointing in this day and age and if we had realised this we probably would have booked elsewhere. The staff on the front desk were obliging. Correspondingly the service in the breakfast area was appalling. On the first morning we went down to breakfast at least an hour before closing and found that the eggs sitting in the warmer were cold. The warmer had been turned off. On the next morning we noticed a sign on each table promoting that you could order eggs of your choice. However upon ordering poached eggs the rude head waiter advised that it would take 10 minutes to heat up the water and it would be better if we had the eggs from the warmer. In our view if you advertise something you should deliver. This is not the first time that the poor attitude of staff in breakfast areas has downgraded our rating of hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra with the other travellers of the Tripadvisor community. We would like to thank you for highlighting your appreciation of our rooms and their comfort, of the surroundings and location of the hotel and of the politeness of our front desk staff.
On the other hand, we would like to express our most sincere apologies for the poor attitude of our breakfast service staff, for the low quality of the eggs served in the warmer and for the lack of personalized service you experienced as to table service. Professional tailored service and excellent product quality are our trademark and we sincerely apologize that you were delivered a breakfast experience which is in no way compliant to our standards. We will take all appropriate actions in order to prevent such events to occur again.
Wifi is at present a fee-paying service but we will submit your remark to our management in order to highlight your experience with this service.
We sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to have you again as our guest and let you experience that all the remarks that you shared with us have turned into steps for improvement.
Best regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The hotel is 6 or so blocks north of the edge of the Old City part of Palermo in which most of the city's numerous attractions are located, with a convenient and easy walk to Via Maqueda or Via Vittorio Emanuele. Very close to the hotel is a large shopping area and there are several excellent restaurants within just a few blocks. The hotel was nicely designed and clean, with spacious and comfortable rooms and large and well-equipped bathrooms. The staff was very helpful and friendly, patiently answered all our questions, and gave great advice. This is an outstanding choice for a hotel in Palermo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BSSGSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your review!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that really everything, from the hotel location to the room comfort and size, contributed to make yours a great stay - we are also very glad to read that you appreciated the helpful and knowledgeable attitude of our staff.
We look forward to having you again as our guest on the occasion of your next stay in Palermo!
Best regards,
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

A very nice city centre hotel in a good safe location near the big shops and theatre. Had a boutique feel with pleasant modern decoration. Large very comfortable bed, good sized room, well equipped bathroom.

Only niggle: the breakfast room downstairs did a fair, if not particularly inspired breakfast - but the noise! Every sentence, chair being pulled back, echoed and when the two rooms were full it was deafening as everything echoed! A carpet would have helped enormously.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malvernman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Guest,
we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra and that everything, from the property location, to room size and comfort, met your expectations.
We appreciate your remark about the echo in the breakfast room and would like to ensure that we will take in the utmost consideration your suggestion as to decorating the room with a carpet so to reduce this effect.
We hope to have you again with us in the near future!
Best regards
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed in the Suite and it was lovely,just didnt want to leave. Only down side is my boyfriend went down to get us a drink from the bar at about 8.30 in the evening and they said it was closed?! Other than that cannot fault it!

Room Tip: The Agata Suite is beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducky18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your enhusiasm about our property and for sharing it with the other readers of the Tripadvisor community - we are delighted you enjoyed our suite so much!
We would also like to apologize that you found our bar closed on one evening of your stay - as a matter of fact, on that occasion our barman had unfortunately felt ill and had to leave without notice.
We hope to have you again soon as our guests on the occasion of your next visit to Palermo!
Best regards

Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The hotel is very centrally located, very near on foot to many sights and shopping areas, restaurants and the like, room standard is great, good value for money, breakfast buffet is wonderful and all the staff are courteous, knowledgeable, very friendly so overall a marvellous experience. I would highly recommend this pearl of a hotel in Palermo. Made my stay there unforgettable. Keep it up.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear guest,
thank you so much for sharing your enthusiasm about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra with the other members of the Tripadvisor community. We are really happy you appreciated so much our property, its very convenient location, our room standards, our breakfast service and the skills of our staff, on behalf of which we would like to thank you.
Reading that we made your stay unforgettable is really our greatest reward. Thank you also for highly recommending a stay at our property!
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again as our guest and in the meanwhile would like to send you our best regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just spent a long weekend here, we found the staff very helpful and the hotel, clean warm and friendly.

Not quite in the centre but that is probably a good thing but very handy for the buses both local and the tours.

We would recommedn it.

I have nothing more to say but have to put something in just to make up the word count to the required 200 for tripadviser - why is this?

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malcolm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GiuliaBriguglia, Executive Assistant at Hotel Plaza Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Hotel Plaza Opéra.
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel clean and warm and the staff friendly. We are also glad you appreciated the hotel location, which is indeed in the city centre, just off the main city square, piazza Politeama, and a short walk or bus ride from the historical city centre, which you mention in your review.
We really look forward to welcoming you again as a guest at Hotel Plaza Opéra and in the meanwhile would like to send you our kindest regards.
Giulia Briguglia
Executive Assistant, Hotel Plaza Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
675 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#4 of 98 in Palermo
534 reviews
Politeama
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,311 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#11 of 98 in Palermo
538 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#13 of 98 in Palermo
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Opera

Address: Via Nicolo' Gallo 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palermo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £71 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Palermo
Hotel Plaza Opera Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing