We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely small,modern hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Opera
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
L.A., CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely small,modern hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Great boutique hotel in good, quiet area. Lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murano56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    193
    72
    15
    7
See reviews for
45
187
21
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2010

There are no words to describe this hotel and its staff! It is incredible! Really wonderful! The rooms are perfect, the bathroom clean and large! The breakfast huge with handmade cakes and sweets and obviusly a great continental choice of salami and cheese! The staff is helpful and really nice. The first day me and my girlfriend arrived in the early moorning and our room wasn't ready, so the staff offered us the breakfast! The room was amazing with all the facilities that you can required for a 5 stars hotel!!
Really great place in the center of the city! Unbelivable but I payed this hotel about 60 euro per night!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x5marano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellesley, MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

We arrived with our car and parked right in front. Bags were taken and brought to our room and car put in garage. Room squeaky clean and well air conditioned. Plenty of towels. Hotel is in a very nice part of the city. Easy walks to restaurants and sites. What we really liked were the men at the front desk. Always available and helpful. Good value for a big city hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel for only one night.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and modern.
The breakfast was very nice, a never-ending selection of food and drink!
I don’t have any complaints about the hotel, so I would recommend you stay here if you want a modern Western hotel, but not if you are looking for a more Italian experience.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phili22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

I stayed here for a fortnight in October 2009, and it was one of the best hotels I've ever used in Italy. The room itself was larger than average, comfortable, well-thought-out in layout and facilities, and kept spotlessly clean. The only downside was the bath which for someone who is not quite as young as I once was, was not easy to get in or out of - a grab handle would have helped enormously.

The great strength of this hotel, however, is the staff. They could hardly have been more helpful. To give just three examples: I wanted to go to Monreale & asked the desk if they could find a driver (as they had a few days earlier). The desk clerk wasn't happy with any of the prices she was being quoted by local taxi firms, so she arranged with one of the hotel porters for him to drive me on his morning off, at (to put it mildly) a very reasonable price. On another occasion, I got caught in an exceptionally heavy rainstorm and was soaked to the skin. I happened to mention to a member of staff that I thought my jacket (which was 50% silk) had probably been permanently ruined. She simply said "Where is it?" and two days later I had it back in pristine condition. The same evening it was quite difficult to face going out to find a restaurant, so the barman cooked me a simple meal instead.
I could add quite a few more examples of their kindness and efficiency.

Like most people in Italy, they appreciate any ability and willingness to speak Italian and to respect their standards. Offer that, and you will be treated as if you were a life-long friend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmcgLeeds_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2009

+Very close to airport shuttle bus stop, shopping and the Politeana.
+Good breakfast buffet
+Relatively quiet although we had a corner room
+Well equipped bathroom

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OddnyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
158 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

This was the nicest hotel we found during our ten day stay in Sicily. The modern rooms are not real large but they are tasteful and clean and have every amenity including fine linens, plush towels, etc. We're hotel bargain hunters and thought this hotel provided a great value. The breakfast was better than most we found in italy. The location couldn't be better to tour the downtown core of Palermo. The best part of our stay was the help we got from the courteous and friendly staff. They carried our bags, helped us park the car, made restaurant recommendations, and Monica at the front desk helped us plan our entire trip, even making hotel reservations for us. Warning: Driving in Palermo is NOT for the faint of heart. Make sure you carry a GPS navigational aid.

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bud9845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 101 in Palermo
1,200 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
620 reviews
Palazzo Brunaccini
#9 of 101 in Palermo
486 reviews
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#7 of 101 in Palermo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Opera

Property: Hotel Plaza Opera
Address: Via Nicolo' Gallo 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palermo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Plaza Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Palermo
Hotel Plaza Opera Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing