We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, spacious, friendly staff....”
Review of Hotel Plaza Opera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Opera
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious, friendly staff....”
Reviewed 6 December 2010

We really enjoyed staying here. From the start, after a taxi ride that could be deemed an 'extreme sport', the doorman kindly insisted on bringing our bags in, and that was the beginning of a warm welcome to Palermo. The front desk staff was friendly, helpful, interesting, and showed interested in us as ambassadors of their city.
The staff of the breakfast room took the best care of us, bringing whatever we desired, in addition to all the goodies already provided. A great selection of fresh fruit! After a month of travelling, we really crave fresh fruit and vegies.
We paid extra for a superior room, which was large, quiet, nice bathroom, everything we could need, except that there was only one electric al outlet in the room. Makes it very difficult to charge phones, camera batteries and use hair dryers etc. Perhaps it was only the room we had, but a charging station like we had in our Barcelona hotel would be a great addition, particularly for business travellers I would think.
Booked ahead, got a great rate, and thought it was a great value.
Thanks to the staff!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tooyoung4grandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    192
    72
    15
    7
See reviews for
45
187
21
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We spent three nights at this hotel as we began our visit in Sicily. It was very conveniently located (we took a bus from the airport that dropped us off right near by). The rooms were comfortable, clean and the breakfasts were good. The staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
120 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Nice clean very modern hotel in safe area (if a bit away from the centre of things). Large quiet room. Ace aircon. Very comfortable bed. Great staff. Great breakfast. Secure parking. What more could you want?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
264 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Clean and Conveniently located in upscale neighborhood within walking distance to major attractions, transportation, shopping, and restaurants. We stayed three nights with our tour group. The rooms were rather small and tight with comfortable bed that was pushed up against the wall. There was no sitting area other than the one chair at the desk. There was a closet with drawers and also a safe. The bathroom was nice but quite dangerous getting in and out of the narrow bathtub/shower combo. The tub was about 2 feet high and had no handles on it.
Almost fell several times getting out. There is no free wi-fi and when we paid for it, it did not work and the gentleman at the desk could not get it to work either. The stocky lady receptionist was cold and rude and could not be bothered with questions when asking where to purchase water. Her response was "up the road in a bar". There were no irons, no pool, no exercise room, no balcony, and no business center.
Breakfast was bountiful with eggs made to order. Definitely does not meet Marriott or Hilton standards but an average stay for Italy.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tranquillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel on a 10 day trip around Sicily and it was one of the nicest and most modern we stayed at. It is clean and tastefully decorated and is in a nice part of the city near the designer shopping area. It is also within 10 min walking distance to the old town and cathedral. Breakfast was really good and overall this was one of the best value hotels we stayed at with really high standards (we payed 62 pounds through Expedia which was less than half the price of most of our other hotels). Would definitely recommend it as a good base for Palermo.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holmad10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2010

My Husband and I stayed here for one night on our last night in Palermo. The hotel is conveniently located near the shops of Via Roma, and is walking distance to many great restaurants and public transportation. We drove and easliy found street parking. The hotel staff was great, spoke good english and knew of great restaurants nearby. The rooms are a little on the small side (compared to the other two hotels we stayed in in Sicily), but having central ac and a great shower was a great off-set.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

Hotel is a 2 min walk from an airport bus drop off stop and within walking distance to all shops, bars, and sites. Rooms are clean and comfortable. You have to pay €10 for 24hr access to wifi which should not happen in a 4* hotel in my view. The breakfast was disgusting - think most things were atleast a day old, ordered an egg and it had some sort of foam on it and was completely unedible.

Overall just OK. Would recommend for low price and location only

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londongirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama
Hotel Principe di Villafranca
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palazzo Reale
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
Quintocanto Hotel & Spa
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Politeama Palace Hotel
#7 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Hotel Garibaldi
#25 of 101 in Palermo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Opera

Property: Hotel Plaza Opera
Address: Via Nicolo' Gallo 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Palermo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#21 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmopolitan with a taste for tradition, the Hotel Plaza Opéra boasts a unique atmosphere, where an authentically Sicilian character blends with the mood of the latest boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Plaza Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Opera Hotel
Plaza Opera Palermo
Hotel Plaza Opera Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing