We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I’ve spent three days of my last holiday in Sicily in this hotel.
I had chosen it because my flight landed late and the hotel was really near the bus stop to the airport.
I found a very clean and comfortable room and the staff was really kind, so I decided to sleep there again the day before my departure.
The location in the city centre is perfect to visit the town!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andréanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

I stayed in a single room for 40 euro a night. It was a clean, bright hotel with very nice staff. Filippo speaks some English and French and they have a computer he can set-up for you and use during the day. The room was nice and quiet with great a/c and a mini-frig and tv. All the amenities for a great price and location!

Only downside, similar to many European hotels, the staff has to buzz you into the building, then let you into the hotel, you don't have your own key! I hate this! I feel bad when I come and go and don't like this lack of privacy. I like to go out a night, so I felt bad waking up the night staff to get into the hotel, although they were very sweet about it. Although I felt like a guilty teenager sneaking back into to my parents house, after a night of partying. The cleaning staff also cleans your room daily, so it can be awkward if you want to take an afternoon siesta, which is necessary in the heat of the summer.

Overall great hotel, great location, half a block from the best shopping area in Palermo and many other amenities. Also not too far of a walk from all the sites in Palermo.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annadel36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Ariston in late February. The room was clean and spacious with a small balcony. Only one staff member spoke English but all were pleasant and helpful. We found the location perfect for exploring old Palermo.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriman67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2009

We had no itching problems at all, rooms looked very clean, and spacy as well. Good value for your money. Breakfast is simple, but personally 'prepared' by the manager, while you're waiting. The staff is very helpful, although not all of them speak english.

The hotel is on the 6th floor of an apartment building in a very busy street. Across the street is a popular cafe which can be quite noisy. Join the party and the problem is solved, otherwise you can lower the shutter and the noise becomes more than acceptable. Location of the hotel is excellent, you are only two blocks away from the city centre.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joopdehoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2009

well i took advice off the lonely planet book but i really wished i hadn't!!
we got there and everything seemed fine actually, what you'd expect from a budget hotel, well not that budget actually but we'll get to that!
it was very difficult to get to sleep as there is a cafe opposite and the noise was pretty constant till the early hours, however, what was made worse was the plumbing. once an hour EVERY hour, the sounds of gushing water and dodgy pipes was really loud in our room and constantly woke us up. however the worse was the itching...
i woke very early to find over 20 bites all over my body and my wife had several too. i have stayed in lots of hotels and hostels but the bites here were the worst. I spoke to the owner, very politely and asked if there was anything he could do about it, his reply was if i didn't like it we could "just leave". i was reasonably shocked by his flippant response, and i told him i would discuss the matter with my wife and within 5 minutes he was knocking on my door asking me when was i leaving. we had been courteous and polite about the whole thing and tried to resolve it with civility but he was plain rude, if you don't want bites, noise and rude staff, find somewhere else. also the 'breakfast' is a pastry on a piece of kitchen paper!
we went and eventually stayed at the Crystal Palace Hotel around the corner. 15E more and it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank clete88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2007

Cheap, VEry clean, basic 2star hotel in a good location. Breakfast actually better value in the little cafe downstairs. Staff quite pleasant. Seemed to speak some English.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank meancritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Valentina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#11 of 98 in Palermo
1,340 reviews
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#20 of 98 in Palermo
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bel 3
#18 of 98 in Palermo
806 reviews
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#12 of 98 in Palermo
1,865 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 139, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#10 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £39 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ariston 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ariston Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing