We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home....”
Review of Hotel Ariston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ariston
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This was my first trip to Palermo and didn't really know what to expect. Hotel was easy to find form the airport bus which drops you in Politeama Square.- its only a couple of blocks away. upon finding the building - a residential block also housing another hotel - we were confronted with a lift and stairs but no signage indicating what floor the hotel Ariston occupied! So we got out on the wrong floor and ended up walking up to find the hotel. A discreet sign inside the lift could fix this.

Speaking of the lift it was temporarily out of action during out stay but as we were going downstairs wasn't too much of an issue.

The hotel itself has minimal but clean and bright décor with white walls and arts prints. Room was big, bright and clean with a good firm bed. There was a coffee machine (bit temperamental) tv and fridge stocked with free water, soft drinks, fruit and yoghurt which was a very nice touch.
However the freebies in the fridge seemed more of an apology for not being able to provide much in the way of breakfast.

Breakfast is served in which presumable used to be the living room of the apartments before it was converted into a hotel - it does have a balcony and view of the street below. which is nice in the morning before heading out to explore this fascinating city. Not so nice was the cold "coffee" (frothed up lukewarm milk with a tiny bit of expresso) and cheap tasting shop bought sugary croissants and juice drinks with melba toast and processed cheese. Every day. This had an impact on my digestion. Just providing some decent hot coffee, museli / cereals along with "real" bread and less sugary juice would have made a real difference. Cooked breakfast was obviously not an option as there didn't seem to be a kitchen as such.

This was my only real gripe with the place. One other thing was that if you come back late the "nigh porter" ( a relative) has to wake up and let you in. I guess its the nature of this not being a big budget hotel with a manned reception desk but it was a bit guilt inducing to keep having to wake the guy up if you came back late - which with the variety of interesting bars and restaurants in the old town we tended to do.

Wi_Fi works but is a bit sporadic.- maybe only on during the day.

The owner Guiseppe is very helpful and makes you feel welcome

I would stay here again if in Palermo but would maybe go out for breakfast to a local café....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zahzahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

The owner Giuseppe was very frinedly and helpful. The hotel rooms were very clean and well functioned. The items in the room fridge were all included in the reasonable hotel price. There were fruits, bottled water, sodas, and yogurts inside. The breakfast is nothing extravagant but was enough for me with croissants and coffee. The location is right by Politeama theater and easy to find. I had problem finding which floor of the building this hotel was located. Make sure to press floor #6 button on the elevator. If you prefer quiet room, ask for a room facing court yard.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street are noisy. Ask for room facing court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank galavantingsusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

First of all we appreciated the excellent service. The owner Giuseppe is very friendly and helpful and although it is a little hotel, there is always someone at the reception where you can leave your keys, even at night. The breakfast is also nice. When we had to leave too early for a day trip, the owner gave us some croissants so that we could eat them in the train.
We also appreciated a lot the minibar which was refilled every day with drinks, fruit and yoghurt. There is also a coffee machine and biscuits in the room.
The room was very clean and there was enough space for all our stuff, which was important as we stayed there for 9 days. There is also a balcony, but as the hotel is on the 6th floor you shouldn't be afraid of height if you want to use it (there is a lift, of course).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasminchenHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Palermo and wanted to be central and close by the bus stop for the airport since we were leaving very early the next morning. This B&B was perfect. We got a very quiet room (on the courtyard) with a very quiet AC which was awesome. I noticed all the windows are soundproofed and modern.
The B&B is on the 6th floor of an apart building. Very safe and safe neighborhood. Extremely clean and furnished simply but tastefully. Everything worked perfectly.
Beds are a tad hard.
I would definetely go back.

Room Tip: Courtyard room is probably the most quiet ones. Although all their windows are soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank axel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while in Sicily. Giuseppe and crew are amazing and very friendly. Not only do they provide fresh croissants in the mornings, they give you coffee, fruits, yogurt, and drinks in the fridge..for free.

I am going to upload a picture of my map that shows where you can park. I paid about 9€ per day to park.

Hotel is on the 6th floor, but there is a lift. Good AC in the rooms and free WiFi. The WiFi is not very strong so I had to sit in the lobby. While there Giuseppe always offered me espresso. What service!

We liked Palermo and we really liked this B&B/Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Everything is perfect for hospitality!!The location was super!!The beds were wonderful and top service.The breakfast and dinner here are very nice..All super!!! Congratulation and I will be back!!
Thank you very much :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fenia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We've spend 3 nigths in this really nice B&B. The locaion is outstanding, in the center of Palermo and at the same time very quite.
In the room they offer a coffee machine, with espresso coffe and also tea, fruits, yogurt, all for free.
The owner and the staff are always ready to help you.
They give us a map and also advices of nice restaurants, places to go and buses to cacht.
The breakfast is prepared at the time you wake up, all fresh.
I recommend this nice place to stay in Palermo!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank GayaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Politeama Palace Hotel
#10 of 98 in Palermo
1,310 reviews
Hotel Columbia Palermo
#20 of 98 in Palermo
547 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Mercure Palermo Centro
Mercure Palermo Centro
#14 of 98 in Palermo
1,852 reviews
Hotel Bel 3
#18 of 98 in Palermo
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ariston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ariston

Address: Via Mariano Stabile 139, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#4 Best Value Hotel in Palermo
#10 Family Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £40 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Ariston 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Ariston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ariston Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing