We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B with good rooms and a superb, friendly, helpful staff. And great breakfasts.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al Galileo Siciliano
Ranked #247 of 483 Palermo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2011

Stayed here for a total of three nights and had a great time. The rooms are nice (some are more spacious than others) and comfy. There is a tv in each room, and it was fun watching Men In Black dubbed in Italian! The staff is simply amazing; so friendly, warm, helpful, certainly among the best out there. The women in the morning make several types of cake for breakfast (orange, pound, chocolate, apple) and you will be tempted to go back for more! Breakfast also includes freshly-squeezed orange juice, yogurt, cornflakes and milk upon request, cornetti, bread rolls, and a great assortment of fresh fruit (bananas, oranges, kiwis, apples, etc.). The B&B is in a residential part of Palermo, a ten-minute walk from the train station, and relatively easy to find as long as you have a map to orient you in the right direction. The walk to the B&B is along a main street, so even when I was alone in the evening walking back to the B&B it was okay... you have to be aware, but there are always other people around who can help if there's any trouble.
I would definitely stay here again, and I can't recommend the staff highly enough; they are all superb.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily0384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

We reached the hotel by walking some 300m from the central station. The hotel is very close to the center of the city and it is easy to get to the station (by walking) or to the harbor (by bus).
The hotel was fine: clean, with nice rooms and _very_ good breakfast, including freshly made cakes and juices. The staff was kind.
All this at the very reasonable price of 60E per night, for a double room.
Very recommended.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank pepeCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Really good place to stay, friendly staff, clean and quiet rooms, amazing breakfast (homemade) and cheap, what more can you ask for?

Don't be scared by the area which may not seem the best, at least that's what we thought, but it's just characteristic and very close to the centre, we left our car parked outside and the old ladies sitting outside took good care of it! Recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank igor975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

This was our base hotel for exploring Sicily. We stayed there for 2 nonconsecutive nights. Both nights we arrived very late. We were there with a hire car and to our dismay the hire car company had no GPS for us to use. So we had to find the hotel on our own. It was an absolute nightmare. We finally stopped at a local bar and phoned the hotel- the person at the hotel very kindly agreed to come with his car to show us the way. The hotel is located in a very unsightly part of the city. The streets were very narrow and our 'secure' parking consisted of a slither of parking space in the open street. You would need to ensure that you are a very good driver if you intend to rent a car. We were asked if we had an alarm system by the front of house staff member- that in itself should indicate that the parking that this hotel offers for your car is anything but secure. The rooms were clean enough and breakfast was OK.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canopus_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

We stopped for one night in Palermo. We chose this B&B because it had parking, secure on nearby on the street. It does look like its located in a dodgey bit of town, but its clearly locals rather than tourists. But a twenty minute walk takes you to the main sights.

The room was big, clean, air conditioned. The breakfast was very good too, choice of fruits, yoghurts, pastries and meats and cheeses. the service though was outstanding. The family owners went out of their way to help us with our questions, gave maps and offered to book restaurants for us. They also helped plan the rest of our trip and even rung up a ferry service for us to ask questions on our behalf in Italian.

highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gurvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

The family owned B&B is about a km away the Stazione Centrale (main Railway Station), not the 350 mts stated in their leaflet, but without a heavy luggage is a pretty easy walk along busy and popular (but not risky) Via Oreto or just a short ride with any of the frequently scheduled buses right from the Station (bus service is pretty reliable but in the night hours).
The B&B is located in a recently refurbished 4 floors building (no lift). My room (a double one) and my colleague's were really well equipped: perfect beds (clean linens), good tables for reading/writing, fridge (honest pricing for water and fizzy cans), TV, air conditioning/central heating and a large, spotlessly clean bathroom (shower, bidet and sink) with towels changed on daily basis.
Breakfast is really yummy: no less than 3 homemade cakes; fresh fruits/fruit salad, fruit smooth, orange juice from the rich Sicilian oranges freshly squeezed each morning, crispy cornetti (french croissants) from a local bakery, savoury foods (ham, cheese), bread, cereals, jams (canned), Nutella, honey and any kind of milk/latte(plain coffee/american coffee/cappuccino with lot of cream!)
Owners are the kindes people on heart and a quick chat with them will help you plan your staying in Palermo.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niqoletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2008

I was having this sponteanous mood to go to Italy for the weekend, so decided to head to Island of Sicily.
After having a great experience in a B&B during my last time visit in Italy (feb this year), decided to try it out again.
And Al Galileo Siciliano B&B did not let me down again.
For a great price for one person per night I could not be more happier for what I got in return.
Nice big room with a kingbed (as in Europe used to single beds when traveling solo)
Working A/C (split unit with remote control) Fridge and few drinks you can buy for normal price.
Nice big bathroom (only the shower is on the small side) but you don't feel cramped while in the bathroom. (they even supplied toiletries if needed)
Everything was clean and tidy.

I arrived late in the evening and the owner called me to check if I was on my way or I knew were to find it.
The location was for me perfect. Not between the tourist sides but between the locals. Where from my private balcony can enjoy the way sicilians lives.

The street were the B&B is located does look a little dodgy but never felt unsafe and once inside the B&B it's a whole another story.
There is a supermarket right at the corner of the street, where you can stock up during your stay. Also a wonderful sicilian owned restaurant where you can buy some delicious panninis.

Al Galileo Siciliano is about 10 mins walk (carrying light luggage) from the central station (where the bus to the airports drops you off) with heavy luggage would suggest take a taxi. Its near by so will not cost you much.

The B&B will gave you a map with all the sites and It's walkable from the B&B. ( I did since it was such a lovely day).
Walk to the city center will take about 15 to 20 min (the same too for the first monuments)

I'm used to that when staying in Italy the breakfast contains choices of pastries, breads, croissants and jam/jelly, but for a health freak like me they also provided fresh fruits and fruitsalad made with freshfruits. Enough to fill you up and start your day

I would have love to get more information about Palermo, but because of the staff english being very basic couldn't really have proper conversation. However they tried their best to answer most of my questions and were friendly and professional.

Those with lots of luggage and or diffculties using stairs. This B&B has no lift (elavator) only stairs. My room was on the highest floor so it required every day to go several flights of stairs to reach my room!
Request a room in the first floor if it's available.

Bottomline had a great weekend in Palermo and wonderful stay at Al Galileo Siciliano B&B

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank advensyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palermo
Libertà
Marbela Apartments & Suites
Villa Scaduto Residence
#1 of 2 in Bagheria
80 reviews
Hotel Europa Palermo
#54 of 98 in Palermo
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alla Loggia del Gattopardo
#84 of 483 in Palermo
134 reviews
Liberta' Bed And Breakfast
#10 of 483 in Palermo
304 reviews
Al Giardino dell'Alloro
#125 of 483 in Palermo
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Galileo Siciliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Galileo Siciliano

Address: Via Giovan Battista Odierna 40 | Close the Railway Central Station, 90127, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #247 of 483 B&Bs / Inns in Palermo
Price Range: £46 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Galileo Siciliano 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Al Galileo Siciliano is set in the centre of Palermo, just a 10-minute walk from Palermo Centrale Railway Station. It offers a great location, free wired internet access throughout, and rooms with a private bathroom.All rooms are decorated in a rustic style, with dark-wood furnishings, wrought-iron beds and some featuring exposed wood-beamed ceilings. Each is provided with air conditioning, a flat-screen TV, and a work desk. Some rooms also have a private balcony.Breakfast at the Galileo B&B is served in the shared dining room and it is a rich buffet. It offers sweet and savory products, including fresh fruit, pastries and Sicilian specialties. Gluten-free options are available on request.Staff are available to arrange transfer to main sites and to give tourist information. Free bikes are available to explore the surrounding areas. Palermo Airport is a 30-minute drive away. Palermo Cathedral is 2 km from the B&B. Two important hospitals are 1 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Al Galileo Siciliano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Galileo Siciliano Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing