We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real old school place where you'll find mostly locals”

Casa del Brodo dal Dottore
Ranked #46 of 1,755 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Real old school place where you'll find mostly locals”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Not a tourist place... if you want a down to earth Palermo experience, this is it. It is unpretentious, straight forward, and solid place to eat - without getting fancy.

We wanted fish and we were escorted to a fish case in the restaurant where we picked our fish and told them how to make it. They prepared it perfectly and then boned it table side.

A solid (not perfect) wine list complements the foods.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank NeroDavalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    397
    125
    59
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great classic Sicilian”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Good food, good value and wonderful deserts. What's not to like?

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“GO THERE!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

If you want traditional Sicilian/Italian atmosphere, just go! The food is simple and good. The service is efficient and it is all watched over by the patriarch (and his wife), to whom most people paid their respects some time in the evening - including us, as we left!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randbk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“visited twice; superb meal and atmosphere both times”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We ate here back in March and thought it was great. We came back with 8 friends on this trip (over American Thanksgiving weekend). We got in just before it became packed. Most were locals. The wait staff was responsive and we communicated adequately in English, with lots of pointing and questioning looks, but hey, it's Italy--we enjoy the mistakes we've made and eat them)! It was a superb meal--for appetizer we had cacio cavallo all'argentiera with vinegar, oregano, and in olive oil, I had the tortellini in meat broth and the machiaroni alla normal. My wife had swordfish cakes and the rest of the party had a variety of entrees, including seafood and other soups. The wine was fine. We agreed this was the highpoint of eating during the 10 days in Italy. We would definitely come back.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcr1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great Service and Lovely Food”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We turned up without a reservation at 9.30pm on a Friday evening and the place was heaving. The young lady front of house said the place was full, but she asked us to wait a moment, went in the back and came back saying they could do a table in 15 mins, we were glad that she did.

After nipping across the road for a quick beer we went back and were greeted with great food, wine and beer. Me and my partner had the fritella of broad beans, peas, artichokes and ricotta which was absolutely gorgeous. My friend had the hock and his missus the grilled pork chop. The hock and the chops were huge and were very tasty by all accounts.

For deserts we shared lemon sorbets and a chocolate desert. Both of which were gorgeous. To finish I had a sambuca and the others had a limoncello.

Throughout the meal the staff were very friendly, helpful and lovely to talk to.

Great restaurant with authentic sicilian proper cooked food and good atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bungleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa del Brodo dal Dottore also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Casa del Brodo dal Dottore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing