We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“S.O.S. PALERMO !”

Casa del Brodo dal Dottore
Ranked #42 of 1,735 Restaurants in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$56
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“S.O.S. PALERMO !”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We arrived with high expectations and we left very dissapointed and unsatisfied. We had the grilled cheese and mussels as antipasti. Both were bland tasting and boring dishes. For primi piatti we chose the risotto frutti di mare and the pasta con le sarde. Again bland and uninspired dishes. The ingredients were fresh but we didn't taste any passion in the food. The waiters were quite unattentive without eye for detail, they didn't seem to enjoy their jobs. They served our main courses seperate and didn't notice that we had only two forks on the table and no knife or spoon. This restaurant has plenty of room for improvement and we hope that a negative review like this will stimulate the owner to make a positive change! Good luck!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elisabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaetano1968, Proprietario at Casa del Brodo dal Dottore, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Google Translation
La Sicilia e nel caso specifico Palermo ,sono terra ricca di cultura gastronomica , siamo la regfione meridionale che ha più locali insigniti dalla Michelin din una o più stelle. Che orgoglio!!
Quando si sceglie di andare a pranzare o cenare in un locale , bisogna innanzi tutto essere sicuri ci cosa si VUOLE.
L'offerta di Palermo è ampia ed articolata per tutti i gusti e per tutte le tasche,
Veniamo a noi. La Casa del Brodo , scusate se mi ripeto, è il locale piu antico di Palermo. Nel corso della sua lunga attività il locale si è evoluto da umile trattoria di quartiere , a ristorante di buon livello, che pero si è rifiutato di tradire le sue umili origini; in parole povere il perfetto compendio tra atmosfera estremamente familiare grande attenzione alle materia prime e piatti cucinati come per un convivio familiare ( senza frozoli ).Mi tocca Particolarmente il fatto che abbia sottolineato che la mia cucina non tasmette Passione.
Le posso garantire che molti dei piatti da me cucinati hanno avuto un alunga genesi frastagliata di critiche e insuccessi prima di arrivare alla forma definitiva ,considerata tale perché il gradimento del publico è costante, e solo la Passione nel farli mi ha permesso di provare e riprovare sino a raggiungere determinati livelli.
Uno di questi piatti è la pasta con le sarde, che a detta di moltissimi è come quella fatta a casa dalla MAMMA. Quale migliore gratificazione per me ed il mio staff.
La mia parola d'ordine è sobria sostanza , che la si ritrova in tutta la mia cucina, perche questa è la CASA DEL BRODO, sobria sostanza , nulla di più:
Gaetano Romeres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    489
    391
    125
    59
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best cannoli”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Josie was our server as well, she was adorable. The pace was slow, but that is how italians eat. My meal was good, soild. We enjoyed the appetizer self serve bar, too much to choose from.
Josie made some selections for us. We enjoyed our time so much we stayed for lemoncello & grappa, and shared the best cannoli I ever had, I feel in love. I Wish I would have known, should have ordered my own, or ordered a second. Josie said it is because they make their own cheese.
We had showed up the night before looking for a table, and they were full, the next night we had reservations, and she actually remembered me from the night before. Maybe it was poor Italian.
Would go back, treated well, good meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catskierMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Poor Service, So-So Food”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I have nothing significant to add here. We went mid-week in low season. The place was moderately full. We had incredibly slow service - the owner sitting prominently in the middle of the restaurant worrying only about the cash and spending not one second looking at the kitchen or seeing if the customers were well looked after told me all I needed to know. We had several servers indifferently looking after our table through the evening. Our table was right beside the owners eyrie overlooking the restaurant. When it was time to go, I had my wallet out on the table and spent a good 15 minutes trying to get one waiter to make eye contact to ask for the bill - nothing doing. You would have thought the owner might have seen the problem and stepped in (after all, the bill was prepared by him and the waiter who did eventually get if for us simply turned around and asked for the bill and our table by number, then handed it to us without moving even one step).

We ordered a main dish each and then a salad as starter. It all came at once. Given that our main dishes each came with the same salad as an accompaniment that we ordered separately, we would have been grateful if our indifferent waiter has pointed that fact out to us. The food was indifferent - I had tortellini in brodo simply to have a comparitor for the excellent offering if Delizie de Cagliostro across the street. The tortellini tasted as if it had been frozen. Whether it was frozen or not, I cannot say for sure. I can say that it was eminently forgettable. Go there if you must, but expect nothing but indifferent service and food made to be served to foreigners. Not an Italian in sight in the restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SDtor273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaetano1968, Proprietario at Casa del Brodo dal Dottore, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Google Translation
Le rispondo , non per ribattere sulle sue considerazioni, perche ogniuno è libero di pensarla come vuole, ma solo per sottolineare la sua profonda ignoranza sul lato gastronomico. Noi non serviamo cibo da turista quello lo lasciamo fare agli altri miei vicini (quelli da lei mensionati) tutto da noi è fresco controllato e di grande qualita .Se non ha colto queste differenze presumo che lei non sia abituato a determinati standard.
Sul resto , da lei contestato , non posso fare altro che mortificarmi dell'accaduto:
Gaetano Romeres
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limeira, SP
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, excelent service”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Despiste of the shy entrance, the restaurant is very very good. There's an assortment of fresh sardines, eggplants apetizers, and others sicilian things for entrance. The pasta with seafood is very well served with a lot of shrimps, squids, mussels and everything more relates. The waitress Jose (I think this is the correct way to write..) gave us a good support in english and she knows food very much. Really recomended restaurant, tip from an attendant from Íbis Hotel, Gianpuero.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fjdegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Sicilian seafood”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great family run Sicilian seafood restaurant--terrific service and wonderful seafood risotto as well as other seafood specialties.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Casa del Brodo dal Dottore also viewed

Palermo, Province of Palermo
 
Palermo, Province of Palermo
 

Been to Casa del Brodo dal Dottore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing