We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient - with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wagner
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient - with character”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel the night after arriving on the early morning ferry. We found it very easily and were able to walk there with our suitcases from the ferry terminal. The staff were very helpful and promised to have our rooms ready as soon as possible which they did. We were able to leave our luggage and explore Palermo. Our rooms were very comfortable with a great shower! The only small complaint was that there was no WiFi in our rooms and the WiFi in the lobby was not reliable and came at a cost. All in all a great place to make a base for discovering the beautiful city of Palermo.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raine1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    184
    70
    21
    3
See reviews for
46
215
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

The hotel staff is as nice as you can find, very friendly and professional. Anything you ask they will assist you with. Fantastic buffet with all you can eat. The decor of the hotel is refined and elegant. People should never compare hotels, the fact is the Grand is probably the best in Palermo but you get what you pay for. The junior suite was wonderful, not overly large but consider that Palermo is hundreds of years old and the retrofitting of every room is so beautiful.

Yes the Wifi was not working but we were on vacation so I didnt care. Yes its hard to find because there arent any hotel signs on the street but so what, the fun of travelling is finding your way around.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bossy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel looks larger on the internet than in reality. Good rooms, small lobby, not very friendly staff. Took very long to get car back. Expected more, though room ( junior suite, double room relatively small) is fine.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickVeldh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a three day stay at the Hotel Wwagner in Palermo. The location is excellent just by the central square and by the 'round the city bus tour'. Very useful for getting around town. Hotel rooms are comfortable with most modern amenities except for Wifi. The staff are very friendly and helpful and aided our journey well. Although there is no 'in house' parking the arrangement they have with a local garage works well. Breakfast is a bit mediorce but quite adeqate unless you need four courses. Overall a good base for our trip and we would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at this grand hotel, and whilst it had some grandeur its not what you expect from a 5 star hotel. we stayed here between the 20.09.2012 and 24.09.2012. The hotels location is brilliant and worthy of 5 stars, its only 200 metres from the teatro politeama! and some of the best designer shops (LADIES WHO LIKE TO SHOP WILL LOVE IT) . Check in was problem free, we arrived at 9pm, but the hotel was so quiet, not a soul in the bar area which was beautiful and air conditioned,very welcome in the 30degree heat. Sadly thats where the 5 star stopped for us. The room we were given (room 906) was nicely decorated but had a view of a a wall and even during daylight hours there is no natural light, so the next day we asked to be moved and the hotel staff were very helpful and moved us to a brighter room albeit slighhtly smaller. The toiletries in the room although very welcome could have been better,but still nicely presented in monographed grand wagner bottles. Breakfast is continental which was ok,but the hot water for tea was sometimes tepid, there was plenty of choice from pastries, meats, cheeses scrambled eggs and bacon and cereal,but another low point was the tinned fruit, not what I would expect from a grand hotel, but all very palatble. Back to the bar area and although the price is a little expensive the service and presentation of the drinks was excellent,and the little touches, like the snacks along with the drinks, made us feel special, but generally lacking any atmosphere, there was a beautiful grand piano in the lounge area but sadly nobody to play it, not even at night and the bar seemed to shut very early. I had a pleasant stay here but not sure I would stay here again,because although the hotel has old world grandeur its not quite as garnd as it could be.

Room Tip: room 906 very dark with no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeh7475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Lovely restored building, friendly staff, and large rooms. But the rooms are very dark with heavy curtains, wi-fi is available only in lobby and they charge by the hour for it, and, on the Saturday night we were there, loud music blared from a nearby square until 1:20 am making sleep impossible. No music the previous two nights however. Not really a 5 star hotel but a nice one.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cicero, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

beautiful, immaculate, elegant hotel can walk anywhere GREAT concierge service. courteous, professional staff Breakfast delicious!!! meticulously renovated palace. Rome airport lost my luggage to Palermo upon arriving to Hotel Wagner. The hotel immediately handled the LOST LUGGAGE situation my suitcase arrived the next day!! ann q.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#8 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wagner

Property: Grand Hotel Wagner
Address: Via Riccardo Wagner 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wagner 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Wagner Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing