We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you have to go to Palermo”
Review of Grand Hotel Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wagner
Ranked #15 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“If you have to go to Palermo”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were traveling with a tour group and Alitalia lost our luggage for two days so perhaps I wasn't in the greatest mood when I first saw the Hotel Wagner. The front desk staff was lovely and tried to be helpful. The Hotel ( a grand dame covered in gilt to hide her age) is in a great location just two blocks from the best shopping and the hop-on-hop-off bus which shouldn't be missed ( red line) . The rooms are an O.K. size and quiet if you are facing the courtyard ( but dark with no view in that case). The bathroom was dirty with long black hair all over the curtains ( dingy gray). The linens were very old and the blanket worn. The robe ( although clean) had a hole in it.) We couldn't wait to leave Palermo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelartist0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    195
    76
    25
    4
See reviews for
48
232
29
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hotel is one of two five star hotels in Palermo. We spent three nights. Our first room was quiet, facing the back alley. When we were "upgraded" to the front side it was to a smaller room with a lot of city noise. Some of the hotel staff were eager to help, others were seemingly too busy to be bothered. The location is nice, close to the harbor and the public markets for walking. Not bad, but not Grand.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a view, but rooms in the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27countriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a classic hotel in the heart of Palermo on the border of the new and old town. We found the location very convenient. The rooms were large with a large bathroom and as the rooms faced the inner courtyard, it was very quiet. Great breakfast selection and very friendly and helpful staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ek6347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The grand hotel Wagner may have once been a five star hotel but those days are long gone. The rooms are so small you cannot unpack. I saw 3 different rooms and none were much different, we chose the last one shown and were not told it was on the noisy side. We heard horns blowing all night and loud conversations from the bar across the street. There was no night turndown service. The hallways still have the old grandeur but rooms need a lot of work to call itself a five star hotel. I would call it a three and that's being generous. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Be sure you request a room on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My husband and I took my 21-year old daughter to Sicily, Italy for a vacation. The location of this hotel was excellent as it is just off the main boulevard, so it's quiet. It's within easy walking distance to all of the main sites & great restaurants. The staff was excellent and tended to our every need. When I wanted to switch rooms to a quieter location, that was not a problem. When we needed help with arrangements for a rental car, they helped us. Internet was free in the lobby--and it's a beautiful lobby and bar. The breakfast was included and was delicious! We would definitely recommend this, and only this hotel if we travel to Sicily again!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that includes a view of the street. The interior rooms can "hear&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karenm329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The hotel is in a superb central location, close to some fine restaurants, cafes, and cultural attractions. I came for the opera, and the Teatro Massimo is just a few blocks away. So too is the great Baroque centre of Palermo, easily reached on foot for a nice tour of the markets, churches and monuments that define Palermo.

The Wagner's service is first class: attentive without being uncomfortable. I stayed in a double room for single use, with french doors to a balcony onto the side street. It was admittedly a little noisy at night, but it was all part of the bustle of an active city.

I plan to be return for other performances at the opera, and will stay here when I do.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rascal_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This hotel was beautiful, clean and the breakfast was great! Staff was friendly and the lobby/sitting room/bar was fantastic (looks wise). And we got a great deal on Expedia. The location was amazing too - it was very easy to walk around the town and there were lots of restuarants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbm615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#16 of 98 in Palermo
987 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
443 reviews
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wagner

Property: Grand Hotel Wagner
Address: Via Riccardo Wagner 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wagner 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Wagner Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing