We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, friendly staff and comfortable rooms”
Review of Grand Hotel Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wagner
Ranked #13 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel at the conclusion of our Italy trip. The hotel was centrallly located, so you can pretty much walk to everything. Palermo was very active during our stay, so it was hard to sleep given all the activity - which went on until the morning hours of dawn. Our room, however, was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was professional, friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sebtran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Palermo is not a good town for hotels so I was very happy to find Grand Hotel Wagner after a few trips there for work.

It feels a bit like you have gone back in time 20 years when you walk in the front door, add this to the 20 years you go back when you land on the island and you have something rather a lovely, a sense of old world glamor.

The rooms are huge, the bathrooms magnificent and the beds very comfortable. I haven't slept as well here as I do anywhere else in the world. I would go back there just to sleep!

The coffe at breakfast was amazing and for an italian hotel the staff were actually quite nice!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FinnRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were traveling with a tour group and Alitalia lost our luggage for two days so perhaps I wasn't in the greatest mood when I first saw the Hotel Wagner. The front desk staff was lovely and tried to be helpful. The Hotel ( a grand dame covered in gilt to hide her age) is in a great location just two blocks from the best shopping and the hop-on-hop-off bus which shouldn't be missed ( red line) . The rooms are an O.K. size and quiet if you are facing the courtyard ( but dark with no view in that case). The bathroom was dirty with long black hair all over the curtains ( dingy gray). The linens were very old and the blanket worn. The robe ( although clean) had a hole in it.) We couldn't wait to leave Palermo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelartist0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This hotel is one of two five star hotels in Palermo. We spent three nights. Our first room was quiet, facing the back alley. When we were "upgraded" to the front side it was to a smaller room with a lot of city noise. Some of the hotel staff were eager to help, others were seemingly too busy to be bothered. The location is nice, close to the harbor and the public markets for walking. Not bad, but not Grand.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a view, but rooms in the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27countriessofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This is a classic hotel in the heart of Palermo on the border of the new and old town. We found the location very convenient. The rooms were large with a large bathroom and as the rooms faced the inner courtyard, it was very quiet. Great breakfast selection and very friendly and helpful staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ek6347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The grand hotel Wagner may have once been a five star hotel but those days are long gone. The rooms are so small you cannot unpack. I saw 3 different rooms and none were much different, we chose the last one shown and were not told it was on the noisy side. We heard horns blowing all night and loud conversations from the bar across the street. There was no night turndown service. The hallways still have the old grandeur but rooms need a lot of work to call itself a five star hotel. I would call it a three and that's being generous. The breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Be sure you request a room on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My husband and I took my 21-year old daughter to Sicily, Italy for a vacation. The location of this hotel was excellent as it is just off the main boulevard, so it's quiet. It's within easy walking distance to all of the main sites & great restaurants. The staff was excellent and tended to our every need. When I wanted to switch rooms to a quieter location, that was not a problem. When we needed help with arrangements for a rental car, they helped us. Internet was free in the lobby--and it's a beautiful lobby and bar. The breakfast was included and was delicious! We would definitely recommend this, and only this hotel if we travel to Sicily again!

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room that includes a view of the street. The interior rooms can "hear&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karenm329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
498 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#7 of 98 in Palermo
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wagner

Address: Via Riccardo Wagner 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £100 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wagner 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Hotel Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Wagner Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing