We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Baroque Hotel in Noisy, Big City”
Review of Grand Hotel Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wagner
Ranked #15 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Brielle, New Jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Baroque Hotel in Noisy, Big City”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here on our first night in Sicily, as part of a travel group. The hotel's past grandeur was in evidence, but some of that had dimmed over time. Our room was very large, with a nice WC. There was quite a bit of noise at night, as a team seems to have won, and the crowd was celebrating into the wee hours. Breakfast was acceptable, if not up to mainland Italy's usual offering. May be among the best that Palermo has to offer, but leaves a bit to be desired.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mangiabene48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    189
    75
    24
    3
See reviews for
48
226
28
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here during our stay in palermo room was great
Staff totally cheeky and very helpful with our transfer from a horrid hotel
Breakfast ample variety
Room big and bathroom also huge new bathrobes a bit special
Location easy to reach tourist sites

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

A one night stay on the way out of Sicily back to Rome.
Stay here only if you must.
It has some grand features of overdone gilding, and furniture past its prime.
One night triple stay was almost $300 US and probably the least value of a 14 day Rome/Sicily trip.
No one is at fault - but it is only if you have no other good choices. Smells like smoke in the lobby.
PS - they provided breakfast in a bag when we were leaving before breakfast is served - not worth even thinking about eating it.
PPS - Tauck Tours stays there - and it is way below their usual standards.
Cannot recommend.

Room Tip: Search until you find one that you would stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GrahamGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Like others have noted it is a big down in the mouth for a 5 star. Hard to pin point what exactly, just seems a shadow its former self However, the location is excellent, off the main drag by one block so it is relatively quiet. The breakfast is good enough, not great but good and in the basement. Bathroom a bit on the small side but big for Europe.

Room Tip: First floor balcony is a spacious room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elleg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham, MA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel at the conclusion of our Italy trip. The hotel was centrallly located, so you can pretty much walk to everything. Palermo was very active during our stay, so it was hard to sleep given all the activity - which went on until the morning hours of dawn. Our room, however, was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was professional, friendly and helpful!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebtran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Palermo is not a good town for hotels so I was very happy to find Grand Hotel Wagner after a few trips there for work.

It feels a bit like you have gone back in time 20 years when you walk in the front door, add this to the 20 years you go back when you land on the island and you have something rather a lovely, a sense of old world glamor.

The rooms are huge, the bathrooms magnificent and the beds very comfortable. I haven't slept as well here as I do anywhere else in the world. I would go back there just to sleep!

The coffe at breakfast was amazing and for an italian hotel the staff were actually quite nice!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FinnRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We were traveling with a tour group and Alitalia lost our luggage for two days so perhaps I wasn't in the greatest mood when I first saw the Hotel Wagner. The front desk staff was lovely and tried to be helpful. The Hotel ( a grand dame covered in gilt to hide her age) is in a great location just two blocks from the best shopping and the hop-on-hop-off bus which shouldn't be missed ( red line) . The rooms are an O.K. size and quiet if you are facing the courtyard ( but dark with no view in that case). The bathroom was dirty with long black hair all over the curtains ( dingy gray). The linens were very old and the blanket worn. The robe ( although clean) had a hole in it.) We couldn't wait to leave Palermo.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelartist0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
652 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
620 reviews
Eurostars Centrale Palace
#17 of 101 in Palermo
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wagner

Property: Grand Hotel Wagner
Address: Via Riccardo Wagner 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wagner 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Wagner Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing