We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Place”
Review of Grand Hotel Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wagner
Ranked #19 of 98 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

You get what you pay for and at this hotel that's not much. Breakfast was average and the service poor. Had to wait 20 minutes to get an expresso. Not going to go back here. The rooms were adequate in size but the beds were not comfortable. The hotel was busy with tour groups and caring for them to the detriment of our visit

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank howardr530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Wagner
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is located close to shopping and restaurants. The staff is very good. However, do not get a room on the street side. It's very noisy until late at night. Also, the rooms are not too comfortable. Especially the chairs. The breakfast could be better. It was more like a typical Best Western.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The hotel is obviously old and a little dated, but it was clean, located well and the staff attentive. I don't know what more to exoect in Palermo. My friends commented that the breakfast paled in comparison to the other hotels that we stayed in on thus trip, but then again, so did the price. If in Palermo, I would probably stsy here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank joeyrm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Our travel agent booked this wonderful hotel, and we were completely pleased. For one thing (and an important point during Sicily's summer), the air-conditioning works well! Such had not been the case elsewhere here. Spacious, comfortable room, and bathroom amenities - as opposed to what prevails in even the "4-stars" elsewhere in IT. Central location & friendly staff. Thumbs up!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gyrfalcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently stayed for three nights as part of a group. Location is fine. Pretty central to the main sights, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are large and the bathroom clean but no air duct to get rid of steam and smells and no windows. My real complaint is that the rooms are so dark and to open the shutters and curtains was an exercise. So they were kept closed which was a shame. Also it is a little noisy outside. Also there is no area where one can go outside for a drink which again is a shame.
There are no restaurants to speak of but with so many around the area it's not that important. There is an area for breakfast and the food was good.
To summarise, it's O.K however, I would not necessarily stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room where there is light from outside.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandlebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Thought the hotel was beautiful and comfortable - bed was great and room all in all very good. Also, the location is very handy. However, at least on the street side there was good bit of noise, so bring ear plugs! Then again, I'm not sure WHERE in Palermo you would not need them if you're in the vicinity of a street. When in Italy etc etc. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mirakoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a tour group. The hotel public spaces and rooms are nicely decorated in the style of a grand hotel. Breakfast here was very good with a large assortment of food. The location is ideal, with many shops and restaurants nearby. It is also very convenient for walking in the city and is not far from the Port of Palermo. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but all seemed to be very willing to help. We did hear some noise from the street but not enough to disturb our sleep. Would stay here again if in Palermo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGELONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#6 of 98 in Palermo
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#5 of 98 in Palermo
530 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 98 in Palermo
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wagner

Address: Via Riccardo Wagner 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
Price Range: £101 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wagner 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Wagner Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing