We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice, old fashioned city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Wagner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wagner
Ranked #13 of 101 Hotels in Palermo
Certificate of Excellence
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice, old fashioned city hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice, comfortable, old fashioned city hotel, walking distance to city attractions. Rooms are clean, old style furnished; breakfast could be better. No WiFi in the rooms, as well as around the reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sedmi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    184
    70
    21
    3
See reviews for
46
215
27
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

After quite a bit of research I found the perfect Palermo hotel. For those that have not been to Palermo, it's not an easy task. 5 star hotels are few and far between...perhaps they were 5 star in their day; Villa Igea, Hotel Del Le Palme all classic hotels, but dated and tired. We gave this one a try and found the converted office building of the Teatro Massimo a gem. It's 5 years old and beautifully painted and appointed. The rooms are large, although the closet/armoire is all you get. Yes, the shower has a mind of it's own, deciding weather to scald you or freeze you, but one can overlook it since there are many other wonderful amenities. I recall the Villa Igea hotel turning off their air conditioning in the middle of summer at midnight and getting eaten alive by mosquitos, so having decent air conditioning is a real treat. Trust me, air conditioning is not important to sicilians.

We did not rent a car, nor would we dare, but found the location to be excellent for restaurants, shopping and sight seeing. It's in a safe area and the main street, Via de la Liberta, closes off to traffic on weekends. There's even a famous bar around the corner for gelato, coffee and pastries.

The staff was friendly, helpful and always happy to see you. We loved Tony, the bartender and morning breakfast attendant, the bell men as well as the desk staff. We also took advantage of the spa for reasonably priced massages. Don't expect to be draped in a sheet or blanket, however,...you'll be naked other than paper panties.

Our next visit will definitely include a return stay at the Wagner.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a residential street, so it's relatively quiet, so no matter where you face, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank browneydlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The ambiance is nice, I suppose. The location isn't bad. Sadly those are the best things I can say about this "5 star" hotel.

We had numerous problems during our 3 night stay. The bathroom was a real problem. I found myself commenting that it smelled of urine every time I opened the door. The shower temperature was all over the place - I would never let a child use it as they could get seriously injured. The temperature would go from "fine" to "gosh that's hot" to "crap I'm getting burned" in the space of a few seconds. The only saving grace was that it was large enough to move away from the spray. We could adjust the temperature down to the cold end but still have scalding water. Our showerhead was also cracked, so you get a fine mist of scalding water even with the head pointed away from you.

Housekeeping left something to be desired. We left the room for about 6 hours (from about 9AM) and came back to our door, along with 4 others, propped open and the room not clean. The staff was walking up and down the hallways shouting at each other. When I asked how much longer it would be for our room, all I got was a strange look and the woman turning and walking away from me. They noted that we drank 2 bottles of water from the mini bar on our first night but did not replenish during our stay.

Breakfast was not great. The main items of note were some filled croissants. The fruit was not good, the juice was not fresh, and the water bottles were usually empty and not replaced. We had to flag down someone every morning to get cappuccinos.

I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it. There are plenty of other hotels nearby that I would look to before staying here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sfgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grand-hotel-wagner, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel Wagner, responded to this review, 14 October 2014
Dear Sir,
thank you so much for sharing your feedback.

Our hotel is open since 2007 and it has been completel renovated. So all the furniture is very new even if classic design.

Concerning bathroom's smell, it suprises us since we provide cleansing and disinfection with specific products, twice a day. In the morning and in late afternoon

Regarding water control, during the months of May/June, high season period , we had a a plumbing problem.

Actually, due to a high room occupancy, water plumbing had a technical problem.
This happened above all in only a couple of rooms where the water was not keeping a continuous pressure causing unregulated water flow from taps and showers heads.
This problem has been immediately resolved, and please be sure that we provide scheduled mantainance to our equipements and systems.

We apologize for any inconvenience and we do truely care about our Guests safty.
We thank you, anyway, for choosing our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first hotel on a Tauck Tour of Sicily. The rooms are decorated in a very old, interesting, Sicilian style. However, the chairs need reupholstering. The toilet in the bathroom smelt of urine and we had difficulty trying to control the water temperature in the shower. We could have suffered serious scalds.
By the second morning, at breakfast on the top level, there were no waiters to be found. So we just tried to serve ourselves breakfast as best we could till they arrived.
We climbed the staircases to the breakfast level, however, not all guests are fit enough to do this.
The housekeeping staff were very good at checking our laundry and making sure that we had filled the laundry form in correctly. We thank this staff for their excellent service.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandering59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had high expectations from this hotel as it was our first stop on a Tauck tour of Italy. It was a disappointment, although well located. The ambiance was that of a grand old European hotel, but there were issues that were not so grand. The showers were so unregulated that you either had ice water or boiling water...no in-between. We had a large corner room with a view of the sea that really impressed us when we arrived, but once night-time came, the street noise was terrible. It was like the people below were in the room with us and all the windows and shutters were closed tight. The cafes beneath were active till very late and noise just did not abate. Others in our group had tiny rooms with no space, but they were quieter. Breakfast waiters were terrible. No one cleared the tables to accommodate new arrivals, and cappuccinos took forever to arrive. Tauck should find a new spot.

Room Tip: get a higher level away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JEDLRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monsey, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for and at this hotel that's not much. Breakfast was average and the service poor. Had to wait 20 minutes to get an expresso. Not going to go back here. The rooms were adequate in size but the beds were not comfortable. The hotel was busy with tour groups and caring for them to the detriment of our visit

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank howardr530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calabasas, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is located close to shopping and restaurants. The staff is very good. However, do not get a room on the street side. It's very noisy until late at night. Also, the rooms are not too comfortable. Especially the chairs. The breakfast could be better. It was more like a typical Best Western.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palermo hotels
Tribunali
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
Grand Hotel Piazza Borsa
#3 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Alma Hotel
#1 of 101 in Palermo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Politeama
Artemisia Palace Hotel
Artemisia Palace Hotel
#5 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Massimo Plaza Hotel
#9 of 101 in Palermo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wagner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wagner

Property: Grand Hotel Wagner
Address: Via Riccardo Wagner 2, 90139, Palermo, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Palermo > Politeama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palermo
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palermo
#15 Business Hotel in Palermo
#15 Romantic Hotel in Palermo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wagner 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Wagner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Palermo
Grand Hotel Wagner Palermo, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing