We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ocean view”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We were redirected to Algila from another location, and this turned out to be very lucky for us, as we found the hotel a perfect place to stay in Siracusa. The staff was very professional and friendly, the room was nice with a small balcony overlooking the seaside promenade. Breakfast was excellent, and overall our stay was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ece_asker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Sirs,

Our luck was to have had the opportunity to host you and let you know our hotel. I hope you can come back to visit us . Book directly from our website by choosing the more convenient offer. You will, thus, have the ability to choose a more spacious room at the best price ... and for a longer stay.
Thank you on behalf of all the staff

See you soon
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    281
    63
    18
    2
See reviews for
273
950
40
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

After several visits to Italy, I finally did what everyone who has been telling me to do, visit Sicily. And they were absolutely correct. It is truly an amazing country; from the scenery to the food and the people, nothing compares!
The first stop during our eight day stay was in Syracuse, the island of Ortigia. Wow, what a magnificent place!!
We stayed at Algia Ortigia, a wonderful hotel situated a few blocks from the center of town and the exciting and delicious Mercato!!
The hotel accommodations were much more then I had hoped for with beautiful views, clean and spacious rooms and an excellent dining room. The availability of bicycles was a added addition to enhance our way thru the streets and along coastline.
One last comment, as for the hotel, the staff were simply amazing. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at home. Friendly, cordial polite and extremely patient. Patience with me and my many questions about directions to other parts of the region and recommendations for restaurants and cultural sites were never a problem no matter how busy they were. Mille Grazie to the entire staff!!!!!!!!!
I guess you know by now that I highly recommend staying at Algia Ortigia!!!! Frank

Room Tip: Wake up hungry, breakfast is awesome, from the fresh juice to the caprese salad!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maria d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Maria,


thank you and again thank you, your enthusiasm says everything!
I just want to let you know that hotel has a range of free services apart bicicles, such us free national and international thelephone call (new entry among our services!).
Please, visit our web site in order to choose the best offer for your next stay which I hope will happen very, very soon.


Looking forward to meeting you again
Best whishes

Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent service - friendly and helpful at all times. Delicious, varied and relaxed breakfast, excellent restaurant in the evening. Set in a more quiet part of the city, overlooking the sea, within walking distance of all the sites. Discreet and efficient housekeeping.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxylady15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Madam,
I thank you on behalf of all the staff for your kind words that gratify us very much.
We are glad that you have liked the breakfast that we offer to our guests. We invite you right now to choose among the various offers the most suitable to you and visit us again.

Sincerely

Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is beautifully located with a view across the sea. The rooms are on the small side, but are cozy and charming. The ceilings are beautiful and the curtains likewise. When we arrived, harried, in a rented car, a smiling Marcelo took the keys and handled everything, while Laura calmly checked us in. We dined very well in the charming restaurant, where server, Sonia, reigned with cheer and efficiency. We asked if she ever slept, because when we returned for a delicious breakfast, she was there again. We did all sightseeing by foot from the hotel and loved our three nights there.

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the water, whereas backrooms have the sound of a splashing fountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schateau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for leaving your review and spending your time.
We are happy you have choosen us for your holiday and your expectation wasn't disappointed.
Thank you on behalf of my precious staff, they are always glad to know their work goes in the right direction that means client satisfaction.

Hope to have you here agin

My best whishes

Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Our experience at this hotel last week was truly mixed but here's a summary of the good and the not so good. The overriding thing that left a poor taste in my mouth was we booked a Classic Double Room (ie: one bed) and were given a Classic Twin Room (two single beds). This is one of the most annoying things a hotel can do in my opinion. For 250 Euros a night I would have liked the room I booked and not one with a narrow single bed I could barely fit in. We were not at all happy. As the hotel was booked there was no moving us to another room or paying more for a better room (which I would have done).

However, all the good things:
* the location - well located in the old town of Syracuse (Ortigia). You can pretty much walk anywhere in 10 - 15 mins and the hotel is a great base from which to explore all of it
* clean, well kept hotel - in no way is it dirty or shabby or looking worse for wear
* inclusion of breakfast - each morning there is a breakfast buffet in the dining room downstairs. You can choose juices, yoghurt, cereals, fruit, bread and then one other thing off the menu such as omelette, bacon and eggs, or plate of cured meats, etc.
* bathrooms are nice and well done and reasonably sizeable

The not so good (aside from a twin room):
* dark rooms - the website says that the Classic rooms look over a delightful internal courtyard. Ours looked into very small light well. There is no courtyard that I saw from either our room or our friends room. Plus being on the first floor it was dark, which I don't find pleasant.
* parking is a nightmare - the hotel is in a residential area and 60 - 70% of the parking is for residents only. We drove around for ages looking for a parking spot and in the end took a chance, parked in a residential spot for the night, hoped we didn't get fined or towed (which we didn't) and then moved the car to a visitors spot the next day.
* no iron in the room, one couldn't be ordered up (because I asked) and no laundry facilities on the weekend - so when you're travelling for weeks and want to iron a shirt before heading out, you have no options. Might be a small thing, but it's annoying and is I think a minimum expectation for a hotel
* service - is up and down. The women in the breakfast room are completely run off their feet with orders and cleaning away dishes, that getting a coffee order in is a task in itself. People on the front desk are helpful though with making dinner reservations.
* quality of breakfast food - the food on the buffet is pretty good (cereals, fruit, etc) but the items you order off the menu are not up to scratch, or at least not what you might see in other hotels of comparable quality. This is only a minor thing though.

If I come back to Ortigia I wouldn't stay here again but then wouldn't outright say to you not to try it because you might have a different view or get a better room. Things like the iron and parking were minor irritations at the end of the day, and the room you get is really just down to luck.

Room Tip: Very few rooms have views that do not look into the internal courtyard/light well so there isn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathanj78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Nathan,

thank you for spending your time to write your impression and complains of the hotel
We do not stop to try and improove the service and every observation is welcome but I must preci
I must point out some things:
- Both rooms have been prepared with twin beds because this was specifically requested in your Expedia reservation that , with separate e-mail , I can forward you if asked . We observed, therefore , the requests received
- Car parking is always available with different choises . There are areas where you can park even if you do not live in Ortigia , we have a public car park nearby and , eventually , a garage with parking fee . Our staff is always available to assist customers in parking, information are also given upon check in and ... you can leave the car keys at the reception ... we provide to park your car
- The iron is not supplied , in the interest of the customers, for security reasons. There is an ironing service available with rates given in the form in the room.
- the room that has been assigned, although on the first floor , overlooked a pretty courtyard with a fountain and tiles. The photograph of the courtyard is visible on the Expedia site and on our site that we invite to please visit

We hope to be able to heve you still our guest

Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a charming hotel on the historic island of Ortygia in Syracuse. My room had a view of the sea (and a parking lot). There was a nice breakfast buffet as well as tasty omelets. My room had a separate sitting area with a daybed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Pauline,
thank you for your comment on the Algilà Ortigia Charme Hotel
Next time we do hope for a longer stay to have the chance to try our restaurant as weel.
You can choose the best and more suitable offer among the numerous on our web site.
The more in advance you book the more convenient it is. Also .. you can have the best room at the lowest price


Hope to welcome you again
Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Algila is one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in and was a highlight of our trip to Sicily. The location is great, the building is beautifully restored, and the service is excellent. The hotel offers some charming innovations such as offering phone calls and minibar supplies for free instead of gouging guests for these services.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Jay,

Thank you for your kind words.
We are pleased you had the chance to use our free calls service, that means to us that it is very useful for clients.
We have lots of free services such us bicycles, parking, information about place to visit, reservation of restaurants, cars, and... should you came and visit us again, a free dinner in our restaurant . This offer is reserved to those who come and stay with us more than once.

We wait for you soon

Sincerely
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
4.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Property: Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing