We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Ranked #2 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is lovely and well positioned. The staff were very friendly although the hotel was understaffed, the poor waitress in the breakfast room kept getting told off because she wasn't fast enough. The problem was that she was cooking and serving the whole restaurant! Other minor complaints - there was no wifi in our junior suite for our whole stay and the parking is very tricky for those of you who have cars. Overall though we recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessaruspoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

577 - 583 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel was charming. It has been refurbished. Smaller than other rooms we stayed it - it was still roomy enough for our two day stay. The bathroom was a bit small...but based on the age of the hotel it is understandable. The reception was warm and friendly and we enjoyed the fact that there was a bar hotel to have a drink before going out in the evening. Great Sicilian breakfasts in the morning. Our room overlooked the sea...and so we would open the French style doors and hear the water and awake to the sunrise.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent two nights at this property and paid for an ocean view room and were very happy we made this choice. Great location close to all Ortigia attractions including fabulous market and also close to Syracuse making exercise hike to archaeological park feasible. The room was tight but the hotel is beautiful inside and out. Staff were very courteous with helpful suggestions. Hot items from menu cooked to order for breakfast were included in the room rate. Highly recommend this to couples looking for romantic occasion.

Room Tip: We were worried about the noise on the ocean view side but the windows were double glass which made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked the deluxe spa room as we were celebrating our anniversary and my husbands birthday during our stay here. The room was fabulous - on the roof top with hot tub and sun beds. We had planned on having our anniversary dinner here and were informed that if the weather cooperated we'd be able to have dinner on the roof top.

On the day of our anniversary we came down to find out about dinner at around 7:30 and were informed that the chef was sick and the restaurant was closed. Marcello at the front desk quickly sprang into action to find us alternative dining plans for the evening.

The next day we expressed our discontent with the manager. She offered us a free dinner at their sister property that evening which unfortunately we already had plans (and was our last night in Siracusa) and couldn't take them up on the offer - which we informed them of. We were offered instead what ended up being 2 Aperol spritzes.

Now I was originally going to give 1 star based on this experience, however as stated Marcello was very diligent in trying to find us alternative dining plans that evening and we were offered a free dinner (with wine) though we couldn't change our already existing plans - I feel like some effort was made to remedy the situation. But when it became apparent that we were unable to accept that offer they could have come up with something else. We paid a lot of money to stay there and I just feel like if you are a top rated hotel, you need to go the extra mile for your guest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very charming hotel with great service. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Food was very good and we really enjoyed starting the day with some great espresso and a small cooked to order breakfast. We are from the US and I have to note that every guest seemed to be from the US. Not sure if that is good or bad, but worth noting if it is a factor for you. Elsewhere in Sicily we encountered very few people from the US. When evaluating this hotel as a star, I would give it a European 4 star. It wouldn't be a 4 star for a US hotel since the rooms are not modernized, but they are clean and comfortable and charming. It is also worth noting that the insulation is virtually non existent in terms of noise cancelling. Again, for Europe, I wouldn't lower the rating for this, but it is worth noting. Location is great for Ortegia as well. Away from the busier and more touristy port area but very walkable to all parts of the island. One more minor point, was that they were understaffed as breakfast opened at 8am so you had to be a bit patient if you got there early, but they staffed up properly within 30-40 minutes. So my 5 star rating is based on the charm, location, service, food, and cleanliness of the hotel. If there are any concerns it would be around lack of sound proofing and lack of modernization, but those were not concerns of mine so they didn't impact my rating.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoTrvlr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is probably the worst hotel experience I have ever had, and I've traveled all over the world for over 40 years. We had a booked a "junior suite" with a "sea view." It was very expensive - more expensive than the Villa Athena in Agrigento, the Villa Ducale in Taormina, both extremely lovely hotels. I had repeatedly emailed the hotel to request a downgrade to a superior double with a sea view, but was always told that this could only be done through booking.com and that they were helpless to do anything about it. When we arrived, we were given a room on the first floor with a "sea view" that consisted of the street and adjacent parking lot with a thin strip of grey water (the sea) above it. We asked to be downgraded to a superior double and was told by the receptionist that even though she had such a room, she would have to charge us the same as the junior suite unless booking.com agreed to the change. We contacted booking.com, which responded immediately and told us that it was up to the hotel to change the room and rate, and that booking.com would not prevent them from doing so. Booking.com contacted the hotel, but the receptionist kept insisting that it was up to booking.com. I told her she was wrong about the booking.com policy and showed her my email from booking.com stating that the room and rate could be changed, even as late as upon arrival, if the hotel agreed. At that point she said, "Oh, but we don't agree." This, after telling us when we checked-in that she would be more than happy to change our room and rate if only booking.com didn't prevent her doing so. We changed rooms to a junior suite without the sea view (but paid the higher price for the sea view suite). This room was overlooking an air shaft.
In addition, the halls were very dirty, our drains in the sink and shower didn't work properly (I couldn't take a shower without flooding the bathroom floor), the air conditioning didn't work in the bedroom when we arrived and the wifi was out (there is no wifi in the rooms and the wifi in the hotel common areas did not work). I reported all these problems immediately. The air conditioning wasn't fixed until late the second day (all it took was opening the vents in the bedroom - something that should have been done when we arrived and I reported the malfunction - it required a ladder to do the job) so we had to suffer with no ac for the first night, and opening the windows wasn't possible if you wanted to keep the curtains closed, which was important since our room looked directly into another room on the other side of the ugly airshaft. The drains weren't fixed until our third day of a four day stay, and even then they didn't work properly. The halls were dirty - there was a hairball on the stairs that stayed as long as we were there.
The food was good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Ms. Susan S,

In our opinion your review has no place here, because it's a complain on Booking.com services, but we are happy to use this occasion to underline a few facts, because using Internet Distribution Services (IDS) like Booking.com or Expedia.com may be easier at first sight, but as your case teaches, it has strong hidden disadvantages. If you book with them, you must follow their rules, that are much less elastic than if you book directly:

- you could change or cancel the reservation with Booking, as we suggested. We are sorry we could not help in this respect, but if we just charged less that written in the Booking.com reservation we would be still paying them a commission on the higher price, they do all automatically and they listen to no reasons!
- to the IDS we pay commissions as high as 25% (YES) and this is one of the reasons why our hotels are pricey; we would like (and we tried) to make lower prices to customers booking directly, but if we do so we are outcast from the IDS, who impose a "rate parity" clause in all their contracts.
- the IDS intercept about 50% of our revenues, we cannot go against them; even this website is owned by Expedia, founded by Microsoft; we don't pay 100€, they cancel us from the list without notice (it really happened to us);
- we cannot overcome these rules, we are a small hotel, these companies dominate the market and we live by their rules.

Next time please BOOK DIRECTLY and we all be more happy. An email is enough or even a phone call, we even have US, UK and French phone numbers for our customers to call! (look on our website)

Finally, we note that in "40 years of travels" you never signed up to Tripadvisor and you felt the urgent need to do so only this week creating a new profile with just a contribution against our hotel. Your complain is about booking.com and the rest is just false and pretextual, something you added just to get the review published by TA (of course they reject reviews not talking of the hotel services).

Best regards
Mariella Taranto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to Ortigya but the first time we stayed at the Algila Charme. What made our trip was all the people who work here. Our room was small and faced the building under construction. The construction was not a problem but opening the drapes in the morning wasn't an option with work people right outside the balcony. We had to live out of our suitcases since the armoire didn't have enough space for our folded clothes and my dresses. None of these things were an issue because the staff was so nice and the atmosphere was friendly. All of the people who we dealt with went out of their way to be helpful. After having stayed at another hotel only a short distance away that was no where as nice I would recommend staying and if we can visit Ortigya again we will definitely stay at the Algila Charme.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 75 in Syracuse
608 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 75 in Syracuse
1,294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#16 of 75 in Syracuse
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
2.9 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
4.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 75 in Syracuse
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £134 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing