We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you want and need”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Ranked #2 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
denver
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“All you want and need”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

A small boutique hotel on the island of ortigia just across from Siracusa,Sicily. The staff is the best you will find anywhere. Courteous and always available. Great location with an eastern view of the sea. Excellent breakfast..fresh every day. Walk everywhere easily. A worth while stay in Sicily.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hockeyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    290
    65
    18
    3
See reviews for
289
996
40
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taormina (Me)
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Warm friendly service from an exceptionally helpful staff made our stay here something to remember. Lovely sea view from a charming small but very clean room. Easy walking to everything .Breakfast buffet well presented with wide choices. Highly recommend this lovely hotel - we would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautiful hotel and exceptionally clean. We had a Sea View room with a great view of the sea.
The room also had a large door window that you could open easily. The mini bar had complementary soft drinks and water, that they restocked everyday..nice touch! The staff were very friendly, especially in the restaurant at breakfast. ( we only had breakfast at the hotel) They couldn't do enough for us, it included a hot and cold breakfast...with a large selection to choose from. Only problem, WiFi didn't work in our room, but they told us they were in the proceed of having it upgrade . But not a big issue, could get the WiFi in the lobby. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Dorothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pass Christian, Mississippi
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We enjoyed our 2 night stay in Ortigia. This hotel staff was most welcoming and efficient. They took the time to explain the room a/c, TV, key access, etc. The large room had a WIFI booster which made communication easy. The hotel provided free international calls and free one time refrigerator item selection. The room had a nice size bathroom with a walk in shower and a classic bedroom design. In the dining area between breakfast and dinner, guest could come down and have access to free water, tea, coffee, and wine. Breakfast was delicious, they provided the usually food items on a center table but they also had fresh made to order omelets and meats served. Off the dining room area, you had access to a computer and printer. Room 304 was in the back and had no view. It also had steps going into the room which would be difficult for many people. I thank the staff for giving me the comfort of good communication and the opportunity to call home

Room Tip: Be sure to ask about the steps that are in some of the rooms. Once you entered the outer door to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We had a great time in Ortigia. The very helpful staff, especially Magdelena and Laura - who were exceptional!! The breakfast was fantastic, hot food to order...which is always the best way to serve. Would have to say it would be the best location in Ortigia-so lose to the fresh markets, with parking available just outside the hotel (which can sometimes be tricky to find).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Luke555,

Thank you for your review, yes, Magda and Laura are truly exceptional!
I am glad that your stay here was pleasant, will certainly have got to take advantage of all the free services we offer, such as mini bar, bicycles, free phone calls to foreign countries and on national territory and so many others.
If you come back here again, as I hope, please choose the best price on our website among the many packages that we offer

Looking forward to meeting you soon
Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for 10 days. A lovely quiet spacious room.The breakfasts were everything you could ask for from cold to hot food. Lovely fresh fruit.
Staff were very friendly and when needed very helpful including finding times of local buses etc.
In an excellent location only a few minutes walk from local shops/restaurants and the other side of the island and mainland Siracusa.
Many thanks to the staff for helping to make it a memorable and enjoyable stay for us

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RODERICK B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Roderick,

thank you who have privileged us by choosing us!
It 'nice to know that you were satisfied.
The room you occupied was one of the most spacious, can be selected on our website directly, among the upper level bedrooms. Hurry to book your next stay with you now: find the best rate

Looking forward to meeting you again

Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We really loved Ortiga and enjoyed our stay. Hotel has been beautifully refurbished; although our Junior Suite courtyard 'view' was a tad disappointing, however, the room itself was great. Breakfasts were wonderful, all savoury food was served from the kitchen rather than being on display which we really liked. Hotel was very busy and but the staff were wonderful. Christina, Sonia, Eric and Ariana are exceptional people, thank you so much. Overall a great experience.

Room Tip: Book a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Carole,

thank you so much for writing your impression of the hotel.
All staff have appreciated your thanks, it's nice to see our efforts materialized.
We have rooms of every size and with different exposures. Junior suites with sea views are only two (we are a very little hotel ...), but if you come back, I invite you to book well in advance. In addition to finding the availability of your favourite junior suite with a view, you will have applied a very, very tempting rate


Looking forward to welcoming you soon

Mariella Taranto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 74 in Syracuse
578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
1,242 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 74 in Syracuse
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
4.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 74 in Syracuse
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Property: Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing