We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Antico Hotel Roma 1880(Syracuse)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Domus Mariae(Syracuse)
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$227
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Caiammari(Syracuse)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$440
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$391
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$354
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,779)
Filter reviews
1,779 results
Traveller rating
1,383
309
66
18
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,383
309
66
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbulgari toiletriesbeautiful hotelfree mini barsea viewjunior suitestaff could not have been morehotel restaurantbreakfast buffethistoric buildingcannolirooms are smallour night staybeautiful roomthree nightsloved this hotelpastrieson foot
Filter
Updating list...
608 - 613 of 1,779 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Without doubt the best service of any hotel we have stayed in during our six week European trip. My husband and I stayed at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Saturday night. All staff were outstanding and could not do enough for us - from spending hours finding out about bus services for our next destination to organising tickets to the local puppet show. And this was from a genuine desire to help. There was a bar and restaurant for lunch and dinner and a buffet area downstairs with a selection of complementary cold drinks, nuts and facilities for guests to make hot drinks. The mini bar drinks and international calls were also included in the price. Breakfast was outstanding - as well as a wide selection of fruit, breads and pastries, cereal, yoghurt and drinks you could also order hot food from the kitchen. The morning we departed we only had time for a quick breakfast and the lovely girl serving us was concerned we had not had enough so she packed up a take away bag of delicious fruit, breads and pastries for our journey. Absolutely outstanding hotel on the historic island of Ortigia - perfect location near restaurants and iconic buildings. We wished we had been able to stay longer than one night and can not recommend this hotel highly enough. Thank you Ortigia Charme staff for making our time with you a memorable one.

Room Tip: Ocean view would be lovely.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horsenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It was our 1st stop on our 9 night tour of Sicily and after a painful hire car collection at Catania, we had just over an hours journey to Ortigia. The hotel (With Satnav and hotel emailed directions) were relatively easy to find and the hotel had parking directly outside.
Check in process was pain free and the stand out service from Laura the receptionist made for a very warm welcome. Maps were provided and suggested things to see.

We went for a deluxe sea view room and although the room was compact, it was large enough and had everything you would expect. TV, Sky, table and chair, mini which was free for our entire stay (soft drinks only before you get too excited), wifi, safe in wardrobe and king size bed.

The bathroom was well equipped and had plenty of towels, gorgeous Bvgali products and a large shower.

Breakfast the next day was the best of our entire holiday. Plenty of choice for fresh fruit, cereals, cakes, pastries and breads. Selection of cheese and meats. Choice of juices, water and hot drinks. Best of all was there was the option of eggs cooked to your preference including omelettes.

Service was of a high professional standard and I could not find fault.

The location is a good location for exploring (Ortigia is quite small). Theres a great market every day and a good selection of restaurants. All in all a very pleasant stay and would have liked to stay longer. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SarahN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Sarah,
thank you for your kind review, we are glad you appreciated our services and the hotel itself.
Everything seems to be perfect but, despite this, we did not deserve a perfect score.
I'm sure there's a reason even if I can not guess it.
I invite you to visit our site where, soon, there will be photos of the new Palazzo Bongiovanni, with large rooms, some of which panoramic
We still wait fot you in our hotels

kind regards
Mariella Taranto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely hotel on 19-20 June. Our room was comfortable and cool. The hotel itself is quirky and interesting. Breakfast was very good. The hotel is ideally placed to explore Ortigia in a narrow lane close to the cathedral. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only downside was that the price was really quite high. We enjoyed our visit and would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher quieter room at check-in
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leicestersaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Sirs,
thank you for the nice words and for the wonderful review.
We look forward to your next stay, book it right now between the deals you find on our site. By choosing in advance the package that's right for you, you will benefit a really very affordable rate that is lowered even more if your stay becomes longer.
In April 2015 they will be ready new and spacious rooms in an old building that we are restructuring: we are waiting for you!

kind regards
Mariella Taranto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel with my mother, husband and 4 year old daughter. The location of the hotel was excellent, very close to central part of Ortigia. We could discovered the city by walking and Syracuse is such a historical and beautiful city.
The hotel also had special parking space for us.
I selected this hotel, considering great review in Trip Advisor and selected junior suite for celebrating my mother's 70th birthday.
However, I am afraid to say that for junior suite and the room condition was ordinary and nothing impressive.
The room did not even have a bathtub and the condition of mattress was poor.
The hotel is in a beautiful historical building and has a lot of potentials for further improvement.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mosquito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Madam,
thank you for having expressed and shared your opinion.
I am pleased to note that your stay was pleasant.
Starting from your observations, I take this opportunity to reiterate once again that the hotel is located in an old historic building in a UNESCO protected Old Town and where you can not change the original state space . There it was not possible to enter the bathtub in all rooms but only in some of them. If this had been a priority, would be enough to indicate this on the booking or on arrival and we proceeded to assign one of the junior suites also feature both the bathtub and shower. In April 2015 we will inaugurate a new dependency of the hotel where we will be able to accommodate clients who need more space. The Palazzo Bongiovanni, adjacent Algilà Ortigia Charme Hotel has spacious rooms, some duplexes and communicating, most with terrace and swimming pool.
See you there!

Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We greatly enjoyed our stay at the Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel. The service, the cleanliness and the room were just great. Breakfast is superb!

This hotel is very recommendable and offers more than what you would expect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Direttore at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Markus,

thank you for being our guest .
We are always happy to note we have fully met expectations and, in this case, superseding them. The hotel offers a very wide range of possibilities and free services. From April 2015 we will be able to accommodate even larger rooms with terrace and jacuzzi: we will open, in fact, Palazzo Bongiovanni, adjacent Algilà Ortigia Charme Hotel.
I hope you'll want to be among the first to try
I look forward to meeting you again

Best regards
Mariella Taranto
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews