We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming and unique newly redone seaside hotel with excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Ranked #3 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming and unique newly redone seaside hotel with excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

We enjoyed a delightful three days at this excellent hotel on the ocean in the fascinating old town part of Siracusa, which is easily explored on foot from the hotel. The first room we were shown was a bit small (the hotel is in a historic building ), so we upgraded to a junior suite and got a wonderful one, albeit more expensive. Decor is whimsical but very attractive,contemporary and authentic, quite a unique atmosphere. An excellent breakfast in the pleasant dining room along the narrow old street on the town side is included in the rate. We must particularly mention the staff. They were gracious and helpful from the start, but proved extraordinary when we accidently left behind a precious personal item, a new Kindle DX eReader. The hotel arranged for a courier to drive to our next destination some sixty km away to return it to us. At first they thought there would be a charge of about 50 E but in the end did not charge us and simply suggested that a tip would be welcomed. (We tipped the driver the 50 euros). Siracusa has quite a few nice hotels and the Ortigia is working hard to keep its clientele. Go there-- you will enjoy it and be well treated!

Notes: the AC had a quirk, which was that it turns off if you open a window. Not knowing this we suffered through one rather warm night, though not really hot, before learning how easily the problem was remedied the next morning. Management might consider letting clients know how the AC works in advance.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussyrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,154
    274
    62
    18
    2
See reviews for
260
916
40
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Worth. TX
Level Contributor
248 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

I could not agree less with the recent negative review. Did we stay in the same hotel?
The Algia has been resently restored and is lovely, the staff friendly and helpful, the room plenty large. Of course, we asked for a nice room with a view of the sea (right across the road). It was a little higher priced than a standard room but well worth the upgrade. Our experience here was terrific . . .and free parking too.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Manager at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Dear Madame, we thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad there is the chance for guests to make a forum and discuss whereas, sometimes, it is not possible for managers and owners to have their answer published. Hoping to welcome here again and many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

The standard room we booked way in advance was TINY. It was, without a doubt ,the smallest room we ever stayed in. We could not get bulbs replaced in the room, so it was both tiny and DARK. The front desk was not helpful or sympathetic at all. The were not of any use in helping us with our other travel plans in Sicliy. They were always too busy to answer questions and tried to dismiss you as quickly as possible - even if they were not busy.
The hotel looked charming and pretty in the photo and it got a good review here, but I suggest you look around for something better. A poor stay and a poor value.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank haddawad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mtaranto, Manager at Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel, responded to this review, 7 June 2010
Dear Sir, I am really upset in reading this heavy review. Let me do some remarks for precision duty. Hotel rises in the historical centre where, according with the european standards and laws, it is not possible to change or enlarge rooms size. On the other hand, even if rooms are perfectly sized according to the international standards, we can offer a wide range of different and larger typologies which where available at time of booking. When clients arrive and they do not like the room assigned they have the chance to choose another room if the hotel is not full. It does not happen very often expecially in high season, doesn't it?.Unfortunately when the hotel is fully booked there is no possibility to give an upgrade as we normally do when it is possible. Also let me spend a few words on the staff since I am really surpriced : hotel staff is our greater resource! They always get large consents and approvals from clients and they are not forced or artificial but they do everything with natural predisposition. Guests are co operated with their personal needs, are informed on where to go and what to visit, are assisted to solve problems with the ferries, trains or planes (again see the Tripadvisor contributors reviews)...it doen't seem to me the behaviour of a busy and hurried staff! I Finally I am sorry but we did not realize such a scontent during your stay... usually guests try to speak with the front desk clerks or to me while they are here and togherter we find a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at large
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

I spent one night at the Algila Ortigia in mid-May while working my way up the east coast of Sicily. Silly: I'd have budgeted more time if I'd known how nice Ortigia and Syracuse are, and I loved this hotel. So much so that I took photos of things I'd like to copy for my own house. The location is great, facing the water at the edge of town, and there’s parking right in front, which was fab. The rooms are well thought out – mine had a desk with integrated plugs for a laptop/chargers, plus a very cute little rooftop terrace (I think it was #308). There’s a bar and a restaurant on the ground floor, sort of elegantly cosy, and both dinner and breakfast were delish. The concierge spent HOURS helping me book the ferry from Messina to Salerno, so I’m giving them full marks in the staff department. And bonus points for having loaner bicycles to cruise around town on. This was, by far, the best place I stayed in on my trip.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

We recently visited Sicily by car and stopped in Siracusa (Ortigia). We had originally checked into a boutique hotel recommended by CN Traveler and were highly disappointed. We left and stumbled upon this hotel by chance and found it to be wonderful. The staff could have not received us more warmly at 11PM without reservations and two infants. On top of it, it was the week in which Siracusa hosts plays at the Greek Theater so the hotel was quite full. They gave us a wonderful room, and worked hard to accommodate my children and succeeded. Breakfast could not have been better as well. It was one of the priciest hotels we stayed at in Sicily, but it was also one of the best.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CdiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire uk
Level Contributor
252 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

I can fully endorse the lavish praise heaped on this hotel by other reviewers. During our stay there was an eclectic mix of nationalities but with a high proportion of our colonial bretheren from across the pond.(the more refined variety thank goodness).
The food in the restaurant was excellent with the staff and chefs responding obligingly to the occasional request for something not on the menu. Breakfast was excellent and the only thing missing was a toast making machine (however this was quickly sourced from the kitchen on request) Bedrooms are of a high standard and pleasantly quiet at night.
Reception staff were friendly an most efficient. Overall an experience we would be happy to relive at a future date.
I'm sure repeat customer business is most likely, so the offer of voucher for a free meal next time one visits, if a positive review is submitted to Tripadvisor, was, whilst charmingly Sicilian in nature, perhaps was not the most apt way of going about achieving this.
Otigia is a most interesting, attractive and agreeable location, if slightly sterile (World Heritage sites often are). It has a high proportion of upmarket tourists and manages to calmly go about it's daily business without indulging in endless attempts to take advantage of its visitors (Venice Pisa Florence Rome etc could learn alot fom Otigia's example).
If this is a visitor's only destination in Sicily, perhaps a walk roud the back streets of Siracusa town will restore a bit of balance.
We could be back with or without the voucher.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cannytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

The Ortigia Charme Hotel is just beautiful and was a terrific base to tour Siracusa and surroundings. Located on the "Mastra Rua" or main street of ancient Siracusa, the hotel is within walking distance of any site in Ortigia-- and just wandering the surrounding streets is one of the main joys of staying on the island. Our classic double room with a water view had a lavishly tiled bathroom and Bulgari bath products. Both the food and the candle-lit atmosphere in the restaurant were a great treat after a performance at the Greek Theater, and breakfast was the most elegant of those we enjoyed throughout Sicily. The hotel uses historic features in lovely ways, such as the jewel-like fountain off the lobby. The staff was very helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations, and parking was easy -- not a small feat in the historic center. Among other nice touches, a variety of newspapers ( including English-language) was available everyday. This hotel gets our most enthusiastic recommendation and we feel that it was a great value for the experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosAngelesVista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.5 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
4.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Pantano
Hotel Borgo Pantano
#1 of 74 in Syracuse
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 74 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel

Property: Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 93, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
#3 Business Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in an exquisite ancient building on the waterfront of Ortigia, the historic centre of Syracuse. Giving onto the ancient "Mastra Rua," where the Siracusan nobility resided from the 14th century, the hotel is a starting point for cultural itineraries. Its recent restoration maintains the original structure made of three buildings, contributing to its dynamic layout. Rooms are furnished differently with antique furniture, four-poster beds and refined interior decoration with distinctive Sicilian touches and Mediterranean features such as colorful bathrooms tiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algila Ortigia Charme Syracuse
Hotel Algila Ortigia Charme
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing