We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a visit to Ortigia, Siracusa and Sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casesicilia

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Syracuse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casesicilia
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal for a visit to Ortigia, Siracusa and Sicily”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Our apartment in Via Salomone was perfectly situated for a weeks exploration od Siracusa and beyond. In a quiet area it was within a few steps of the Piaza Duomo and all the other sights. The apartment was spacious and well appointed. our hosts were more than helpful

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JockfraeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have now spent time in the Salamone apartments on four different occasions. We feel like it is arriving home and Massimo is always there with a warm welcome. Two years ago we were in Mono 10, which we loved, but it has a mezzanine bedroom and my husband's knees have deteriorated. This year we were back in Mono 3. The free shuttle bus to the station was pretty unreliable this year but it is a pleasure to walk in Ortigia so it is not important. There are heaps of places to eat out but the fresh fish and vegetables from the market are wonderful so it is well worthwhile having an apartment rather than staying in a hotel.

As you can tell, we just love it!

Room Tip: Only the size matters. Mono 3 is one big room, Mono 10 has a mezzanine and the others even more spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opole, Poland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

We have just returned from a week in the Porto Grande apartment. It was superb and we were looked after very well at the beginning and end of the stay.
Best things:
Space - it's a huge apartment. Big enough for five easily.
View - overlooking the harbour and on a quiet road (where there are always parking spaces if you have a rental car with residence card). You can even see Mount Etna in the distance
Patio/Balcony - it's large and gets the afternoon sun. Perfect, even in February for sunbathing and eating
Location - the courtyard leads right onto Piazza Duomo. The courtyard itself is gorgeous.
Facilities - the flat is warm, it has enough hot water for a family, the beds are comfortable and the kitchen has (almost) everything you could need.

Things to be aware of:
It's renovated but not ultra modern. Messages told us to switch the gas pipe off at night and not to use too many electrical appliances at one time.
The hot water boiler in the shower is on the wall above your head when showering. It's very secure but still made us a bit nervous when glancing up!

All is all, the price we paid was a real bargain and we had a wonderful time in Syracuse.

Room Tip: It's on the second floor with steep steps outside to the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod_Fricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urunga Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We were met by Massimo on arrival and he was most helpful with all our queries. The unit - MONO 10 - is situated in a lovely little quiet street, but within close proximity to everything there is to offer in the old town of Ortigia - which is gorgeous.
The unit is in a very old building but has been totally modernised inside and a delight to stay in. The bedroom is situated in a mezzanine and has plenty of storage and hanging space. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you would want on your stay (including great Italian coffee) and the ensuite is large and has everything in it. We were there in January so nights were getting cold but the unit had more than enough heating.
Just outside our door was the laundry which was a bonus for washing and drying clothes.
As an older mature couple travelling we felt perfectly safe walking around Ortigia both day and night and we were spoilt for choice with great restaurants and bars.
Thanks also Massimo for organising a taxi on our departure.
Our whole stay in Mono 10 was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We spent Christmas week in the apartment "Prestige". It was perfectly located, with all sights and service within 10 minutes walk. Our son had his own bedroom and bathroom we had a room with ensuite WC upstairs. The terrace was spacious and sunny and we had lunch out there a couple of times. There was a washing machine in the building. The kitchen was well equipped, but we had use for the sharp knife we always pack. I could go on forever, but the easiest is to find their homepage and trust what you read - that is far from always what I recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

This is just the best little place to relax , Massimo and Lilla are very accommodating, not that we needed to bother them as everyone else there makes you feel very welcome. I highly recommend staying here, as everything is less than 15 minutes walking distance. If you are flying in, be sure to ask for Peppe the cab driver to collect you, he is safe driver and a wealth of knowledge also.

The only fault we found was that t is too far from Australia to visit as often as we would like, but we will be back.

Ciao

Room Tip: Get the single level apartment as the dual level is hard to get even temperature..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirrello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Apartment was comfortable, spacious and well equipped and in a great location in the heart of Ortigia. Massimo and Lilla were very helpful and welcoming. Bars, restaurants and the sea all within minutes. We will certainly go again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.1 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casesicilia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casesicilia

Property: Casesicilia
Address: Via Salomone, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 95 Speciality Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In unique and historical surroundings, we offer personality and charm, combined with all modern facilities. Reside in our self-catering apartments in Syracuse and your expectations of comfort and lifestyle are met with the reality of staying in prestigious & modern furnished apartments. It is our aim to exceed your expectations and to create the perfect home away from home! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casesicilia Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing