We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but extremely comfortable”
Review of Hotel Teocrito

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Teocrito
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Banchory, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“small but extremely comfortable”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

First impressions at street level not encouraging but once inside, we were delighted with the facilities and the warm welcome. Rooms were spacious and bed extremely comfortable. Breakfast excellent and staff very helpful with restaurant recommendations etc. Close to archeological park and the hideous modern church which is not worth a visit but will always guide you back! A pleasant 20 minute walk takes you in to Ortigia.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_McG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    189
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
204
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Don't be put off by the strange entrance door. This is a friendly hotel which is well sited for Ortigia and the old Greek/Roman ruins. The walk to Ortigia will take you 20 mins but that's not too far!
Room was comfortable with a very good double bed, free wi-fi and a good sized bathroom. They have Sky TV but only at additional cost.
We overlooked the wacky church which looks like an inverted ice cream cone. It is worth a visit however.
Breakfast was very good with the only scrambled eggs and bacon we encountered in a 2 week, 7 hotel holiday. Reception staff were very helpful.
There is free on-street parking.
This is a great budget hotel for Syracuse and worth a stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChelseaMark1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

A small hotel located on the first floor of a regular building entrance complicated to the hotel but when you get in you find a very nice hotel with room big enogh for a couple the view is not the one you like to see but the staff are great and helpfull

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elil99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Very good location to see all the sights in Siracusa! Everything is in walking distance. Very clean, convenient, friendly staff - especially Signora Lucia! She was very pleasant & helpful - made us feel like at home! Rooms very clean & comfortable , ours was view of the Sanctuario Madonna della Lacrime- Breakfast very nice with lots of options.
Was a little hard to find, because its not really a "hotel" but I appreciated the coziness!

Room Tip: Request room with view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

It is a good, typical "feel like hotel" hotel. No specials drills or buzz. Breakfast includes ham, cheese, scrabbled eggs etc which is nice for a change from typical "only sweets" Italian breakfast. The walk to Ortigia was not so long - 10-15 min and pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

It is an ordinary hotel in a back street of Siracusa. Not really close to the city center though near the ancient Greek sights and the big modern church which made it easy to find a way back to the hotel.
At first glance the hotel looks very neat and comfortable. Our windows looked out on the inner courtyard which made the room quite. There was nothing wrong with the room and there were no noise from outside. The hotel was poorly isolated. We heard everything from the hallway and the neighbors next door. First night we slept restlessly.
Second night was more fun.
We have taken place in the breakfast area next to the bar. It is allowed to drink your own liquids and it's possible to use the hotel bar too. There was only one employee present, he did reception work, baked pastries for next morning and poured us cocktails.
We haven't found any special bars nearby our hotel, but reception hall was just fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraHodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed here for 2 days and it was perfect for parking our car. Rooms were big for European hotels and the hotel was very clean. Have to walk up some stairs to get to the elevator. However at this point, you might as well walk all the way up one more floor.

My three issues that may or may not matter to you were: Internet would fail often and it did not reach our room. I had to sit in the lobby to use it. The breakfast area is the lobby so it is a bit cramped in the morning. Finally, not too many restaurants in the area. You need to walk a bit to get to one. I actually don't mind walking, but the other 2 issues are what make me knock it down a star.

Room Tip: If you absolutely need WiFi, don't take a room all the way down the hall. It did not work for me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Siracusa Prometeo
1.0 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.6 mi away
UNA Hotel One
UNA Hotel One
#11 of 75 in Syracuse
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#10 of 75 in Syracuse
658 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 75 in Syracuse
359 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Il Parco
Hotel Il Parco
#18 of 75 in Syracuse
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teocrito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teocrito

Property: Hotel Teocrito
Address: Viale Teocrito 71, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Syracuse
#16 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Teocrito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Teocrito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teocrito Hotel Syracuse
Hotel Teocrito Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing