We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So Close to being better than very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Maniace Hotel
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Nyc
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“So Close to being better than very good.”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I spent one night in room 214 which is smallish but very quiet as it faces the courtyard and one evening in room 215 which was large with a big big terrance and a sea view. However the large room had only one chair and was a tad bit noisy since it faces the street. Both rooms had nice bathrooms ( 214 had a small clumsy shower) and good A/C. The rooms were very clean with dark woods,

Parking demands some patience, frankly in the summer months bringing a car into Ortygia is asking for trouble anyway.

The staff is great, very helpful. The location is fine, Ortygia is small so no matter where you stay its all in walking distance. There are great restaurants nearby.

The one thing I found and other reviewers also found was that the breakfast left a lot to be desired. A few hard boiled eggs, a few slices of cheese and what I think was scrambled eggs ( use lots of salt and pepper to give it some taste). But this is Italy where breakfast isn't a big deal.

Room Tip: Room 214 is quiet but no view, 215 has a big terrance but might be a tad bit noisy for light sleeper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hi3655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    169
    44
    16
    4
See reviews for
47
238
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Having been assembled from an old nunnery and an adjacent house, its renovation to a 21st century hotel sporting good wifi, a/c, electronic keys etc has been complete and well done, retaining old stone arches and walls and monastic breakfasts - boiled eggs, scrambled yellow stuff, heavy croissants and some of the best fruit to ever grace a can - but the coffee is passable. Our room opened onto a narrow balcony, with table and chairs looking directly into the water - I think the Ionian Sea - a perfect place for an evening G & T. There are good restaurants in the street around the corner and Ortigia is small enough for it to be easy to traverse the whole island without too much effort. Staff are helpful, bathrooms modern and all is clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We spent 4 nights at this hotel in August. It is in a lovely location looking out over the sea - we had booked a room with a sea view and were pleased to find that we had a small balcony we could sit on. It really is worth paying the extra for this. The rooms are very modern, clean and comfortable. The only thing which let the hotel down was that the rooms were not always made up and cleaned promptly in the morning - on one occasion our room was not cleaned until 6.00 pm. That said, the staff were very pleasant and breakfast was lovely - try the wonderful ricotta tart! There is no restaurant in the hotel but there are plenty of restaurants nearby; there are also two shops only a few yards from the hotel where you can buy any provisions you need. Ortigia is lovely and there is plenty to do there for two or three days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveR11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Perfect in Ortegia, sea front, minutes away from Duomo, close to many great restaurants. Clean rooms, newly furnished, nice shower, spacious.
Very quiet Airco, which is nice in Summer and if you don't like airco noise in your room. Staff kept a parking spot available for us so we didn't have that hassle and they had some great recommendations for other restaurants etc in southeastern Sicily

As everywhere in Italy, don't count on any serious breakfast though

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Old Siracusa, the Island of Ortegia, is a diamond among diamonds on Sicily. For some of us this city is something extraordinary. You would expect tourists everywhere, but that is not the case, yet. Hotel Royal Maniace is situated on the "wrong side" of Ortegia, but if you want the evenings to be calm, while you sit on your terrace, choose this hotel. It is a fairly small modern hotel in an old beautiful building. No extravaganza but personal and professionally run. Though, the breakfast could be slightly improved. The guests are often people with social and cultural interests and preferences. This gives the hotel its personality, which is something of great quality to more and more of us. Hotel Royal Maniace is a good base for a stay in beautiful Siracusa.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanLeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

There is no easy driving access to the hotel. Parking is on the street and its difficult to find a spot. Excellent free wi fi everywhere in the hotel. Worse breakfast food ever in Italy... cold dried scrambled eggs, old cheese... We had never experienced a bad breakfast in Italy before and we have traveled Italy extensively. I do not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are driving, be aware that you may not be able to find parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen_ralph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The location is beyond words. Ortigia is a wonderful place and the hotel Maniace is in the best part of the island. The view is worth a million bucks. We spent hours on the room's balcony looking at the sea and the boats going by. The room nice and comfy.

As you might guess, although rooms with sea view are much more expensive, they are really worth it. Initially we had booked a room in the back but it felt small and enclosed. The front room with sea view is truly worth the expense!!!!

The staff is beyond words. One night my girlfriend was not feeling well and the night attendant did everything in his power to help me. I am really grateful for his help and their overall friendliness.

There are many things to do outside the island. Rent a Fiat 500 and explore. You will enjoy it. At night as you come back to the Royal Maniace you will relax after all the swimming, walking visiting etc. I suggest to keep a bottle of prosecco and enjoy it as a nightcap looking at the sea.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3Cuori1Capanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 75 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#9 of 75 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maniace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maniace Hotel

Property: Royal Maniace Hotel
Address: Lungomare d'Ortigia 13, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#10 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Maniace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Maniace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maniace Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing