We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Maniace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a setting! I love staying on Ortigia and the Royal Maniace is in a great spot overlooking the sea close to the tip of the island. All the rooms are different in their layout and if you are lucky you will have a room with a balcony facing out to sea. On this occasion I didn't but that didn't diminish my enjoyment of staying here. My room was comfortable and had a great bathroom. Breakfast was good and while the hotel doesn't offer lunch or dinner, there are so many restaurants around here that it really doesn't matter.
Had the feel of a boutique hotel with helpful staff.
Hope to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Royal Maniace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited Sicily as part of a group, moving around the island, and stayed here for 4 nights in May 2014. We had a 3 room suite with a large balcony and overlooking the harbour. The style was elegant Italian and the rooms were very clean and fresh. The only complaint we might have had was that neither bedside light was working, but it didn't really bother us. Breakfasts were good and the girl who served us always remembered what we wanted. Friendly staff, a good area, easy to walk around Ortygia, and a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HampshireJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, it was the highlight of our stay in Sicily. The location is perfect in the heart of Ortigia. The hotel is lovely, recently refurbished. Our room had a nice view on the sea. It was very spacious, modern and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful with excellent and varied pastries. The staff was really nice and helpful when it came to parking tips. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frenchie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with super views over the sea. Walking distance to all sites. Friendly staff. Parking can be difficult, but the staff is very helpful.
The breakfast is about average. Coffee from a machine and no fresh juices. But again, friendly staff.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seat_0A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Lovely hotel, recently refurbished. We enjoyed the junior suite (room 111) with lounge, bedroom, compact shower room and lovely balcony overlooking the sea. Sheets and pllowcases perfectly laundered every day. Superclean. Fantastic location, right in the heart of Syracuse and ideal to visit all the local sights.

The room was immaculately clean and quiet with a comforatable bed. Breakfast was lovely with breads and jams and all the trimmings.

Tip. The hotel is difficult to find by car through the cramped, narrow one-way streets. Suggest you get clear directions and a small car. Great place, modern and classic with welcoming and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreelancerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed for two nights last week. The hotel has a fantastic location and our view was wonderful from room 110. That's where the good bits end, I found the hotel to be very average - the decor is extremely dated (early 90s) and a bit shabby in parts (like a stained, faded old bedspread and tired, chipped old furnishings). It is in a lovely building but the rooms and decor need some serious updating to be more comfortable and smart. Also things annoyed me like the fact that the fuse box in our room gave off a loud constant buzzing noise all night and that the aircon didn't work. Service was lethargic - when I asked for the aircon to be fixed all they did was turn on the heating - aircon cooling aspect still didn't work but I just gave up. Breakfast is basic and not refilled frequently. I also saw a cockroach in the breakfast room one morning which the waitress freaked about - the reception guy nonchalantly kicked it out of the front door. To be fair the hotel seemed pretty clean to me and the roach could have come in from the street but it put me off my breakfast. In summary, I would not stay here again and would not recommend it. Only plus is the wonderful setting, I feel the hotel is resting on its laurels because of this. If you don't get a sea view room then forget it.

Room Tip: Room 110 has a lovely aspect and bacony overlooking the sea
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

On arrival at the Hotel Maniace Luca on reception very helpfully came and moved our car into a space for us which set the tone for the whole of our stay. The staff were all friendly and very helpful which really allowed us to settle in and enjoy the hotels facilities. Our first room had a small balcony but given we were staying for 5 nights we asked to move rooms to take advantage of the larger balcony - all of which was done with helpful and positive support, there was no hint of this being an inconvenience. When we moved the maids who cleaned the rooms came and moved everything for us which was so very helpful. There is a mini bar fridge which is great for putting beers and water in, free wifi is great, the TV was all Italian channels which didn't really matter but it would be good to see the BBC news channel but we could get it on our iPad. Close by there is a take away pizza which was always busy and very good and just behind it there is a shop selling everything you need. The location is perfect, on the right side of the island close to all the best restaurants and everything is in easy walking distance, we didn't need the car for the 5 days. The island of Ortigia is beautiful and we happily wandered around the streets, feeling at all times very safe. We will be going back very soon.

Room Tip: Room 116 is at the front with the large balcony which gets the sun till around 2pm.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simpson570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#3 of 74 in Syracuse
600 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#9 of 74 in Syracuse
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#13 of 74 in Syracuse
655 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maniace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maniace Hotel

Address: Lungomare d'Ortigia 13, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#10 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#14 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £57 - £470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Maniace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Maniace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maniace Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing