We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Superb Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Maniace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Maniace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Superb Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Spent 12 nights here - on arrival we were upgraded to a Junior Suite which had a sitting room and a separate (small) bedroom along with a large terrace overlooking the sea with 2 sunbeds, 2 chairs and a table. The room was excellent, the staff were extremely helpful and even fixed the wi-fi access in the room without being asked as they saw us accessing the wi-fi downstairs. The lady who served breakfast was excellent - she prided herself on remembering your room number and your drink preference. All in all an excellent hotel which we would happily visit again. The only (small) issue was the lack of control of the water temperature in the shower which went scaldingly hot briefly several times during a shower. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    164
    41
    16
    3
See reviews for
46
231
20
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very nice property in great location and good parking close by, excellent views out over the bay from certain rooms.
Delux rooms are large though bathroom is quite small, breakfast is ok for Italian standard through the breakfast room is a little cramped.
All in all a nice place to stay but mainly for the room views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a very nice hotel, we booked a deluxe room but it was not as expected. It was big but basic, small window with outside terrace area looking out to sea, no sun on balcony in the afternoon just in morning. If they did room only it would be better as breakfast was not what we enjoy. Parking a bit tricky & so make sure you get good directions as we got lost & it takes up so much precious time with the one way system. Lots of restaurants good & many rip off types near by, so be aware, take recommendations to be safe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taylortowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Our room had a little balcony overlooking the ocean - beautiful view. The hotel is close to everything on Ortigia - which is tiny anyway! The breakfast is adequate - with espresso available on request.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ermie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a setting! I love staying on Ortigia and the Royal Maniace is in a great spot overlooking the sea close to the tip of the island. All the rooms are different in their layout and if you are lucky you will have a room with a balcony facing out to sea. On this occasion I didn't but that didn't diminish my enjoyment of staying here. My room was comfortable and had a great bathroom. Breakfast was good and while the hotel doesn't offer lunch or dinner, there are so many restaurants around here that it really doesn't matter.
Had the feel of a boutique hotel with helpful staff.
Hope to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We visited Sicily as part of a group, moving around the island, and stayed here for 4 nights in May 2014. We had a 3 room suite with a large balcony and overlooking the harbour. The style was elegant Italian and the rooms were very clean and fresh. The only complaint we might have had was that neither bedside light was working, but it didn't really bother us. Breakfasts were good and the girl who served us always remembered what we wanted. Friendly staff, a good area, easy to walk around Ortygia, and a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireJulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courbevoie, France
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel, it was the highlight of our stay in Sicily. The location is perfect in the heart of Ortigia. The hotel is lovely, recently refurbished. Our room had a nice view on the sea. It was very spacious, modern and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful with excellent and varied pastries. The staff was really nice and helpful when it came to parking tips. I cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frenchie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#14 of 74 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#7 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Maniace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Maniace Hotel

Property: Royal Maniace Hotel
Address: Lungomare di Ortigia 13, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#8 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#10 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#13 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Maniace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Maniace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Maniace Hotel Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing