We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ambiance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domus Mariae Benessere
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent ambiance”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked into this hotel for 1 x night and they only had a courtyard room, as all the rooms with views to the sea were taken. The room we were given was spacious and modern, with a lovely feel to same, with high ceilings and lovely drapes. With an excellent bathroom with bidet etc we were pleased at how clean and modern the hotel was in this lovely historical building.
We decided due to our copious luggage to stay in the on room and we booked another two nights
that was a mistake as the air-conditioning work intermittently, fine during the day, but at night the temperature went up to 28 degrees centigrade. All in all this persisted throughout our stay ( we complained 11 x times) but to no avail. We similarly had a TV with it seems100's of channels but NONE in English or French
The atmosphere and historical nuances were terrific and even though we had lots of niggly problems we would go back again as everyone was smiles all round. We even enjoyed the lovely choice for breakfast, with good coffee and a great selection of cold meats and cheese, plus fruit and lots of bread and cakes +
We must say the internet worked intermittently, also necessitating us constantly having to re-connect continually.
The area and general conditions of the area is bracing, as round every corner is something new, not to mention the instance choice of magnificent ice cream and restaurants with superb sea food in abundance
We must mention on checking out we received a letter of apology and a 50% discount as the hotel was ( unbeknown to us ) upgrading the facilities

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as this offers views for ever and try the deck on the 4th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    127
    33
    7
    7
See reviews for
47
191
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We went there because of the good reviews! Misleading... The hotel is not a 4 stars at all. Really dirty bathroom (many hair on the floor). The showers corners were brown!!! Ridicoulous TV (too small and far from the bed / equal no tv). breakfast very sad, in a dark room, very poor and service really bad (a lot of screaming between the bar tender and the waitress...) we decided to leave and have breakfast in the city center! This hotel spoiled our stay in Ortigia

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyforgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear guests, thank you for taking your time in reviewing our hotel .
Thank you for your reports , that help us to improve and maintain the high standards about which many guests give credit to us.
We are very sorry to read that your experience was not positive .
We do not know how it could be happened that you have found the bathroom dirty : clean is one of our strongest points, as we reach the "High Standard Clean" in 2013 by venere.com guests.
As for the TV, our rooms have 19" TVs and are placed on the desk in front of the bed. Sorry you found it small, but we're changing them into 21" and they will be replaced in these days.
As concern breakfast we have already taken steps to solve the problems you have reported: in general, our buffet is very varied and full of sweet and salty food, always fresh and cooked by our chef (as cakes or quiches).
We are sorry for the screams you've heard and we assure you that we have taken steps in this regard.
We hope to have you as our guests in the future to change your ideas about the quality of our services

Best regards
Sister Rosamaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Atmospheric, historical building in a great seafront location, convenient for all the sights and restaurants of Ortygia. Great reception staff. Good choice at breakfast, when available. Comfortable room with sea view (costs extra) but ours was not very big.

Although most of our room was clean, the windowsills were very dusty. Breakfast service was disorganised, and breakfast staff did not seem very happy. Quality of orange juice was dreadful (made up from concentrate and varied greatly in strength). Such a disappointment when we had had wonderful freshly squeezed juice elsewhere. On our second morning we were unable to get a table at 8:45. We came back at 9:15 when there was plenty of space but none of the tables were laid and the buffet had almost all gone. When replacements came out (in small amounts, very slowly) they were snapped up immediately. The next day we made sure to be early! Some electrics in room not working (only partly fixed during our stay) and poor wi fi (good wireless but internet very slow at popular times). I am rating the hotel as good despite this long list of issues because it is such a special place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights in a sea view twin room. We parked in the car park across the road and just left it there as walking everywhere was easy. The room was sparklingly clean and lovely with high ceilings, fabulously draped curtains and a beautiful and well equipped bathroom. The walk in shower was terrific. Reception staff were really nice and very helpful. The roof terrace is a great sun trap and you can easily while away a few hours up there. Breakfast is an entertainment. The wonderful staff are run off their feet trying to cater for every need, particularly with coffee preferences and restocking the food. People didn't seem to realise the difference between an "American" and an "Americano" which might have accounted for the dislike of the coffee. Our Americano was delicious and hand made by a nun!
If you have the chance, go and see the chapel...it's beautiful.
Overall, our stay was fabulous and we'd love to go back. Next time I'd try the spa too.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisB-Moseley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Chris,
thank for writing a review.
We are glad to read your five stars comments about our services.
We hope to welcome you next time and you to use our relaxing SPA and its massages and treatments.

Best regards
Sister Rosamaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My family and I loved this hotel on Ortygia. Our room was large, tastefully decorated, updated, very clean, and pleasant. The entire facility was well-maintained. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and customer service seemed a priority. Breakfast was plentiful, fresh, and unique, including specialty cheeses and custards. There was a terrace outside the rooms on our floor and one on the roof for sunbathing. We did not use the spa facilities.

Domus Mariae Benessere is located an easy walk from all of the attractions and restaurants on Ortygia (an island that is part of Syracuse) and looks out across a piazza onto the ocean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for your comments.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We try hard every day to give the best service we can.

We ho to see you very soon.
Best regards
Sister Rosamaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was a wonderful hotel in Ortygia. Luisa at the front desk was wonderful. The room was basic but extremely clean and had a safe. Nice rooftop terrace. The breakfast buffet was all natural, fresh ingredients. There was a beautiful chapel/church at the hotel that took your breath away. Did not use the spa but heard from fellow travelers that it was excellent. Will definitely stay there again if I am so lucky to go back to Ortygia.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your five stars review.
We are happy to read your comments.
Following to your notes, we improved our cappuccino. Thank you.

We hope to see you soon to taste it and go around to enjoy Ortigia.

Best regards
Sister Rosamaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

During my 12 days traveling around Sicily this was my favorite hotel. The location on Ortigia was terrific, within easy walking distance of restaurants and sites of Ortigia. The room was spacious, clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also spacious and immaculately clean. The staff was very helpful. The breakfast had a very nice selection of delicious items. As mentioned by a previous reviewer, the only down side to our stay here was the quality of the morning cappuccino, it was more like a cup of hot milk than coffee, otherwise, I would definitely recommend staying here while in Ortigia and I would certainly stay again if I return to Ortigia.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LowCountryIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domusdirettrice, Direttore at Domus Mariae Benessere, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review and comments.
We are happy to read them.
As concern the cappuccino, thank you to let us know that you dislike: we worked to improve it and we hope you will come back to taste it.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards
Sister Rosamaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.0 mi away
Domus Mariae
Domus Mariae
#21 of 74 in Syracuse
321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#20 of 74 in Syracuse
338 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#14 of 74 in Syracuse
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#15 of 74 in Syracuse
633 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grande  Albergo Alfeo
Grande Albergo Alfeo
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri
Hotel Palazzo Cavalieri
#17 of 74 in Syracuse
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Mariae Benessere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Mariae Benessere

Property: Domus Mariae Benessere
Address: Via Vittorio Veneto 89, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Syracuse
#23 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Domus Mariae Benessere 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the magnificent Interlandi Palace built in 1300, a unique place to relax body and mind. 21 rooms, divided into single, double and triple rooms and junior suites, all with private bathroom, air conditioned and equipped with direct dial telephone, satellite TV, minibar, safe and hairdryer. In our spa you can have beauty and wellness treatments, with specific routes for every need. Emotional shower with aromatherapy and color therapy, meditation cave steam, Kneipp, pool, spa, beauty center, fully equipped gym. Our staff is on hand to answer any queries ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Domus Mariae Benessere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Mariae Benessere Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing