We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Spot!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of la Casa delle Fate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
la Casa delle Fate
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a great stay at Casa delle Fate for six nights in October. The apartment, Sirene, was very clean and well located in the old town of Ortigia in Siracusa. Luca was very accommodating and provided a wealth of information and tips about everything there is to see, do and eat in the area. We found the apartment to be an excellent base to explore the many sites in the region. The weather in October was very nice, even hot at times with temperatures in the mid to high 20s. The area beaches, while almost deserted, were nice and the water warm at this time of year. If you have a car I would recommend parking at the private garage near the apartments. Parking is very very tight otherwise on the island and the private garage also enables you to enter the island during the ZTL periods. We found it relatively straightforward to get from the apartment by car to the main highway to visit other sites. We would highly recommend a stay at Luca's apartments in Ortigia/Siracusa.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckerman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
119
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Ortigia was our favourite town in Sicily, made even better by the lovely and spacious accommodation and the gracious hospitality of Luca. He met us at the entrance to town and guided us through the maze of streets and even found us a parking spot, which, although there was definitely a no-parking, 24/7 sign, assured us that we wouldn't get a ticket - and we didn't for the four nights we stayed. Casa delle Fate is one block from the sea wall on the opposite side of the island. We stayed in Baronie apt. and Luca even helped us make our choice when we booked. The apt suited us wonderfully - well equipped, comfy bed, spacious and very quiet. It's a beautiful building that was completely renovated by Luca's father - who is a also a very kind and knowledgeable gentleman - and it retains much of its character but with modern flourishes. The apts are decorated with family treasures, which make them even more homey. There is also the added benefit of a free washer and dryer, with laundry soap included. I know these reviews seem overwhelmingly positive, but trust them and stay at Casa delle Fate, it will be the highlight of your stay in Ortigia. Make sure to visit the daily market, which is a 15-minute walk, for some provisions and great entertainment. Stop by Caseificio Borderi in the market - the owner and his family are tremendously helpful, hand out lots of samples, and the cheese is to die for. Thier made-to-order sandwiches (4 euro, feeds two people nicely) can't be beat, and when you visit you will be greeted like an old friend. Another great eating spot is La Tavernetta, but go early as it is very busy and fills up after 7 pm.

Room Tip: If you can't get one of the rooms with a terrace, then Baronie is ideal. Some rooms are two-stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midlifetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We spent a wonderful week in the Cirico apartment. Luca, our host, couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. He met us near the entrance to Ortigia so that we could follow him through its narrow streets to the apartment in our hired car. Then he gave us lots of good advice about what to see and do.

The well equipped and comfortable apartment is within easy walking distance of all the many delights of Ortigia and there are good restaurants close by. We also enjoyed our excursions to nearby beaches especially Fontane Bianche.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merry_early_retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

For the 5th time we made use of one of the splendid apartments of La Casa delle Fate in Ortigia Siracusa. Very recommanded because of the quality of the apartments and the hospitality of the owners, especially Luca!

Room Tip: Stop searching, choose La Casa delle Fate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henkenlieneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We really loved our time in La Casa delle Fate. Syracusa (Ortigia) is wonderful, and the apartments are in one of the most attractive parts. It is a place for just strolling around, taking in the atmosphere. And sitting in cafes and restaurants of course - we particularly liked Mariano's, just up the lane opposite the apartments. The apartments are very pleasant, all different, homely, not the identical plastic boxes of modern hotels - it's like being at home, living in this lovely old town. And Luca was just fantastic, wonderfully helpful. We treasured his map with the best sites, supermarkets, and restaurants all marked - and needed it too; you can get lost very quickly in this maze of little streets. Altogether marvellous.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveMBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Ortigia is a wonderfully historic place. The apartment is well located at the southern end of the island, with everything within walking distance. The apartment 'Miramare' is nicely furnished and meticulously maintained. We immediately felt comfortable and relaxed. The owners are local, extremely nice and helpful. Nothing, it seemed was too much trouble for Luca who gave his time happily and freely to advise us on local history, places worth visiting, local restaurants, shops and the best ice cream parlour! This was our first trip to Sicily and he contributed immensely to our enjoyment of our one week stay. We would highly recommend this apartment and the owners who have other apartments in the area. We would unquestionably come back here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Apartment was perfect...charming, well-provisioned, clean and comfortable, in a great area. Luca was so helpful with advice, recommendations, and transportation. Recommend highly.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#15 of 74 in Syracuse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#17 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Des Etrangers Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la Casa delle Fate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la Casa delle Fate

Property: la Casa delle Fate
Address: Via Salomone 4, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 Speciality Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our residence is located in Ortigia island, the old town of Siracusa and world heritage site, in historical building of the 800’, recently restored and returned to all its original splendor. The location is impressive: a few steps from the sea and Aretusa Spring , half way between the Cathedral and Maniace Castle.Among restaurants, pubs and bars, just outside your apartment, you'll be spoiled for choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your la Casa delle Fate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Delle Fate Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing