We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Review of la Casa delle Fate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
la Casa delle Fate
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just spent a week at la Casa delle Fate staying in the Cirico apartment. We loved every minute of it. The apartment was great -- well located, well provisioned, comfortable, with a lovely internal courtyard in which we started each day. Best of all, however, is the wonderful Maiorana family which hosts the apartments. Luca, in particular, was extraordinarily generous with his assistance, picking us up on arrival, pointing us to experiences we would not have had without his guidance, and sharing his time and thoughts. Great company!

Room Tip: All the apartments are high quality, thoughtfully designed, spacious, and well provisioned. The Chi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
120
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We chose Ortigia as our home base for exploring the area of Sicily around Siracusa. This apartment was perfectly located in a quiet area, half a block from the water, within easy walking distance of the Piazza de Duomo, open-air market, restaurants and night-life. The kitchen was well-equipped, the rooms light and airy, and very comfortable for relaxing and sharing a meal. The best thing, though, was the exceptional care and attention given by Luca. From guiding our rental car through a crowded religious procession, to booking a garage for the week, to providing tons of advice on where to go for food and sightseeing, we just can't say enough about his warmth and kindness. Mille grazie, Luca!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CurtK48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marche
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Luca was very helpful, considerate and did everything to make our stay as relaxing as possible. super apartment in a well kept building just a few metres from the worlds greatest painting! what more could anyone ask for?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elgrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Ortigia is a really fun place to explore - highly recommended. Luca could not have been more accommodating - a real asset. Our stay in #13 was quite pleasant - an open airy feel, round kitchen table for 4 (or even 6), spacious bathroom and shower, and plenty of light in the morning (once we opened the shutters which kept everything wonderfully dark for a good night's sleep).

We were surprised how much cooking could be done with a 2-burner stove and no oven, which added to the adventure. Plenty of pots, pans and accessories are supplied.

Our only disappointment was the firmness of the mattress and pillows, but we made due, and others may prefer it this way. In #13 you'll need to navigate the steps from the loft to get to the bathroom (we made out fine, and believe Luca mentioned this before we settled on this apartment).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed the month of January 2014 in ' Veliero', one of the apartments in La Casa delle Fate. A lovely and comfortable place to live for a month. Perfect location, close to the sea and the Piazza de Duomo. Our apartment (and all the apartments Luca showed us) was very tastefully decorated. With paintings, nice lighting and curtains, comfy sofas and ample cushions and throws. There was also a DVD player, which was great. It was very well equipped and things were just good quality. Important details like washing up liquid, cooking oil, good selection of herbs and a lovely welcome treat (local pastries and a bottle of Nero d'Avola). How nice is that! There is a laundry room with washing machines, dryers and drying racks. The place was cleaned once a week when we got clean towels and bedlinen (again... nice bedlinen). There was a folder with all the necessary information, although it was even better to speak to Luca. He knows (and loves) the place so well. And he was good enough to pick us up from the bus station and a month later take us down again. We had a great time. Ortigia is beautiful and we also enjoyed train- and bus trips to other places and our walk into Syracusa, especially to the Greek and Roman ruins.
Ian and Hanna, Edinburgh.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bass R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We had a great stay at Casa delle Fate for six nights in October. The apartment, Sirene, was very clean and well located in the old town of Ortigia in Siracusa. Luca was very accommodating and provided a wealth of information and tips about everything there is to see, do and eat in the area. We found the apartment to be an excellent base to explore the many sites in the region. The weather in October was very nice, even hot at times with temperatures in the mid to high 20s. The area beaches, while almost deserted, were nice and the water warm at this time of year. If you have a car I would recommend parking at the private garage near the apartments. Parking is very very tight otherwise on the island and the private garage also enables you to enter the island during the ZTL periods. We found it relatively straightforward to get from the apartment by car to the main highway to visit other sites. We would highly recommend a stay at Luca's apartments in Ortigia/Siracusa.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckerman99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Ortigia was our favourite town in Sicily, made even better by the lovely and spacious accommodation and the gracious hospitality of Luca. He met us at the entrance to town and guided us through the maze of streets and even found us a parking spot, which, although there was definitely a no-parking, 24/7 sign, assured us that we wouldn't get a ticket - and we didn't for the four nights we stayed. Casa delle Fate is one block from the sea wall on the opposite side of the island. We stayed in Baronie apt. and Luca even helped us make our choice when we booked. The apt suited us wonderfully - well equipped, comfy bed, spacious and very quiet. It's a beautiful building that was completely renovated by Luca's father - who is a also a very kind and knowledgeable gentleman - and it retains much of its character but with modern flourishes. The apts are decorated with family treasures, which make them even more homey. There is also the added benefit of a free washer and dryer, with laundry soap included. I know these reviews seem overwhelmingly positive, but trust them and stay at Casa delle Fate, it will be the highlight of your stay in Ortigia. Make sure to visit the daily market, which is a 15-minute walk, for some provisions and great entertainment. Stop by Caseificio Borderi in the market - the owner and his family are tremendously helpful, hand out lots of samples, and the cheese is to die for. Thier made-to-order sandwiches (4 euro, feeds two people nicely) can't be beat, and when you visit you will be greeted like an old friend. Another great eating spot is La Tavernetta, but go early as it is very busy and fills up after 7 pm.

Room Tip: If you can't get one of the rooms with a terrace, then Baronie is ideal. Some rooms are two-stor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlifetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
0.1 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#15 of 75 in Syracuse
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charme Hotel Henry's House
0.2 mi away
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
Antico Hotel Roma 1880
#4 of 75 in Syracuse
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#19 of 75 in Syracuse
322 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aretusa Vacanze
Aretusa Vacanze
#1 of 226 in Syracuse
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to la Casa delle Fate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about la Casa delle Fate

Property: la Casa delle Fate
Address: Via Salomone 4, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our residence is located in Ortigia island, the old town of Siracusa and world heritage site, in historical building of the 800’, recently restored and returned to all its original splendor. The location is impressive: a few steps from the sea and Aretusa Spring , half way between the Cathedral and Maniace Castle.Among restaurants, pubs and bars, just outside your apartment, you'll be spoiled for choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your la Casa delle Fate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Delle Fate Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing