We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience worth living...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Minareto
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I recently not only stayed a few days at Hotel Minareto but also hosted a Surprise 80th Birthday Party for my father and I could not have been more pleased. I have lived in the US for a good chunk of my life but my family is from Sicily and I know the island and other hotel options quite well, and I can 100% recommend this Hotel. I honestly can't come to terms with a few negative reviews that I have read on this page, probably from people used to compare hotels and ratings in VERY DIFFERENT PLACES AND COUNTRIES. For SICILY, what the people of the Minareto have done is OUTSTANDING and my compliments go out to them. Particular recognition to Miss Valentina Consiglio who helped me plan a +90 people even from the US that achieved praised and complients from EVERY SINGLE GUEST. Every single promise was delivered and every expectation not only met but exceeded. The food was outstanding and you can certainly not find a better view of Ortigia and Siracusa from anywhere else. This is NOT a city center hotel, so if that's what you want is not the right place. This hotel is 10 minutes from Siracusa city center but allows you to retreat and enjoy one of the most amazing views you can think off.
Letizia Latino

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Giuseppina Leti... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2014

Dear Mrs. Latino,

We would like to thank You, on behalf of Mrs. Valentina Consiglio and the whole staff, for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto as destination and location to celebrate Your father’s 80Th birthday and for leaving such a great comment.

It was a real pleasure for us to know all Your wonderful family, sharing this important moment with You. To receive all compliments from Your family’s members about the location, the service, the food, the courtesy of the staff and the general organization, it was the greatest reward one management could receive.

We really hope that You and all Your family would come again during the next season, enjoying what our beautiful island could give.

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 1,295 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel has a fantastic location, providing both a sandy bay and terraces down towards the sea, as well as a large pool area and a couple of jacuzzis overlooking the sea. Perfect location for lazy days by the sea and exploring Syracuse and surrounding area (if you have rented a car). The hotel is situated 10 km from the city of Syracuse and the old city Ortigia. The hotel does however provide a free shuttle bus service (for 7 persons) four times a day, -if you want to explore Ortigia. The last bus at 18:30 is perfect for eating dinner out, but you'll need to take a taxi back that will cost you approximately € 25.

The resort and rooms are well kept and clean, but the architecture itself is neither here nor there and didn't really appeal to me. The common areas like the reception, the bars and the Nesos restaurant are very tacky. Be sure to get a room with a sea view, or you might end up in the parking lot.

The hotel claims that they have WiFi coverage in the common areas including the pool, but it is a half truth since there only are a few patches with WiFi. I sincerely hope the hotel invests in a WiFi upgrade also including complete coverage of the pool area, the rooms and the beach. It is not a huge investment and the new generation of guest will require it!! For visitors wanting to enable WiFi in the room, just bring a small router like ASUS WL-330N3G and plug it into your wired Internet connection in your hotel room.

The most disappointing thing about this hotel is the food and restaurants. It is nothing more than average and far too expensive for what you get. We found ourselves eating in Ortigia most days (E.g. Ristorante Retroscena, Sicilia in Tavola..). The Italian/Sicilian kitchen has so much to offer (!), so the hotel restaurants need to reboot their concept and start over from scratch. If you want a genuine pizza (with a sea view) in walking distance, try La Fornace, 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel. It is packed with locals.

To sum up the hotel is situated in a beautiful location. The architecture and definitively the dining experience does however not do it justice. If you take the hotel for what it is, you'll have a great stay. We enjoyed ourselves.

Room Tip: It is absolutely worth paying a few extra Euros to get a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nokk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2015

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto for Your vacation and for writing such a positive feedback.
It makes us happy You appreciated so much our free shuttle service, the uniqueness of the location, the beauty of the private sandy beach and all the other benefits.

As regards the criticalities You wrote about, we are glad to inform You that we are working to extend the Wi-Fi signal over the entire surface of the resort; also, starting from the next season, we will introduce in our menu a section of typical sicilian courses, extending our offer.

Hoping we could host You again as our kind Guest, just to experience the great news and the improvements of the next season, we send

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina – Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excelent stay in Grand Hotel Minareto for my Dad birthday party, Mrs. Valentina Consiglio and her Staff was very profesional in the group and Party Organization.
Rooms very good, AA for Real, good food and Excelent resort Facilities and view of beautiful Ortigia from the sea.
I will return for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SALVADOR L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guests,

first of all, we would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto as the location for Your special occasion: we will remember with great emotion the eyes of the birthday boy once discovered the stunning surprise organized for him.
Our job is also to make sure that the wishes of our Guests come true.
Therefore, we would like to thank once more for Your wonderful comment and we hope You with Your family and friends will join us again for furture celebrations.

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina - Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We were advised to stay here by friends. When we arrived, immediately we thought we were mistaken. It looked like a caricature of a hotel designed for a TV mafia movie. Everything was tacky, reception was horrible, rooms unbelievably ugly. Food inedible. Stay anywhere else.

Stayed: July 2014
6  Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto and for writing this feedback on TripAdvisor.

We regreat very much that the overall judgment is absolutely negative but, unfortunately, based on what You wrote, we don’t have any concrete facts to be answered or unpleasant situations to apologize.
Honestly, it seems that the main aim of Your comment is to wittingly denigrate the hotel rather than give useful advices or remarks to readers and hoteliers.

In Your comment it is not indicated what You ate and why this experience was not positive at all; it is not indicated the duration of the stay, the period and the typology of the room. Useful remarks on the staff, the cleanliness or the location, are totally missing.

What is most striking is the debut of Your comment: it shows a biased attitude towards the structure and a total closed-mindedness. We agree that our personal tastes are indisputable but judging the structure negatively just because You don’t like the style, not supporting Your comment with evidence, is a symptom of little intelligence and also, it is an attitude that is ill-suited to a traveler.

I decided to reply to Your comment just to let everyone understand that TripAdvisor is really useful only when users respect the rules and behave properly.

I still hope that in the future You will give us the opportunity to make You change Your mind.

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina – Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed at many hotels and I don't know how this hotel can be 5 star deluxe. It certainly wasn't. The food was absolutely DISGUSTING! The lunches were pre made and you choose from a canteen style like in an airport. The breakfast and dinner was also in-edible. The back of house parts of the hotel were very exposed and open when you were walking around. Customer service was ok. Beach towels very old and no baths in the bathrooms which for a 5 star deluxe hotel I don't think acceptable. The only thing going for this hotel is the beautiful views...we will never stay here ever again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank NICOLA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2014

Dear Guest,

I regret that You didn’t keep a good memory of Your stay at Grand Hotel Minareto, pushing You to leave a comment with such a low score.
I am glad You appreciated the location and the breathtaking views, as well as skills & kindness of the staff; but, honestly, in Your feedback there are too few details to figure out and analyze what did not go as You expected.

As regards the towels, at the beginning of the past season we replaced the whole linen for the rooms and for the beach, choosing a fine Italian sponge.
It could have happened that You have received a towel a little less new, due to an oversight of the laundry service; but this was an exceptional circumstance which does not characterize the hotel.
Concerning the Food & Beverage service, because of the few details You wrote, it is not possible for us to reply to Your complaint, since Your feedback is too generalist.
However, we could certainly vouch for the quality of our products and for the abundance and variety of the breakfast service.
Probably, Your tastes have not found correspondence with what we usually offer. When this happens, we usually kindly ask to our guests to point this out to the Front-Desk, in order to satisfy all the special requests of our guests.

At the end of my reply, I regret once again for Your bad feelings about Your stay and I hope that You could give us another chance to show You that the impressions You had were excessive.

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina – Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent 5 days at the Minareto and were happy with the resort. It is a nice and spacious environment, and the beach, while small, is adequate and fun for snorkelling. We didn't eat at the restaurant as are generally not keen on hotel restaurants and there are good choices in Ortigia and locally. Actually the food for breakfast was a bit disappointing. The bread choice for toast was a bit limited - boring for 5 days - and the cooked food sat there for a while. Asking for fresh egg dishes wasn't successful, we were told if would take ages. Nice fruit salad so not too much problem.
The staff were nearly all great. The manager was very courteous and found us another room when ours was too close to the pool and we were happy with the exchange. I say 'nearly all' - spoiled by one officious woman who accosted me taking a croissant after breakfast to my daughter who was a bit under the weather in bed. Not a 5 star attitude.
My only other complaint would be the very limited WIFI - it is the 21st century!!!! Not even available by the pool and very unreliable even in Reception. And the music in the breakfast room... Horrible... Why have it. Not for the guests! Otherwise, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S0lway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2015

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto, for writing this useful feedback, for the score You gave us and for recommending our hotel.

It is a source of pride for us that You appreciated the kindness of the staff, the common areas and the gardens but, at the same time, we regret to know You didn’t taste the culinary arts of our restaurant.

I am really sorry to have disregarded Your expectations about the breakfast service, since I consider it the most important service a 5* Hotel should offer to their guests.
Regarding this, I would like to inform You that for the next season we are increasing the breakfast buffet with some sicilian specialities, which for sure You will appreciate.

As concern the Wi-Fi, we are working in order that the network signal could be available for free in all the common areas and rooms of the resort. The intermittent presence or the total absence of the signal must be explained not as a structural deficiency whereby the management is responsible but as an infrastructural problem linked to the major network operators.
Starting from the next season, we will install a Wi-Fi technology working with satellites.

Wishing You the best and hoping You will come again as our kind Guest, we send

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina – Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This was the worst place / part of our 10 day trip to Sicily. The location is terrible, the food was awful ( and that is impossible it Sicily) and the staff was unfriendly ( also impossible in Sicily).
The one redeeming factor is that the view from our room was gorgeous. But we should have heeded other trip advisor reviewers because this one hotel was the only negative in our entire trip. We stayed in all 4/5 star hotels and this one did not match up. A five star hotel has attentive , friendly, accommodating staff and very good food. .
This place just has VIEWS !
We say .... Find another hotel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank marciabk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minareto2010, Direttore at Grand Hotel Minareto, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank You for choosing Grand Hotel Minareto and for having decided to leave a comment.
We strongly believe in the usefulness of Trip Advisor, not only as a item of information for those who wish to organize their vacations, but also as a tool for a critical analysis in order to identify strengths and criticalities of the Resort. For this reason, we usually read with great interest and attention the feedback left by our Guests, especially when they are not fully satisfied.

Regarding what You wrote, what we regret most, beyond the mere score, is the inability on our part to understand the causes and the episodes at the bottom of Your opinion. Indeed, we believe that when You decided to leave a nihilistic comment such like Yours, everyone who reeds needs concrete, legitimate and truthful elements to trust in what You say.

You booked a Deluxe room and we offered You a free upgrade into a Suite on the Sea: we consider this extremely hospitable. Our Staff always stands out for his kindness and it’s objectively impossible that our locations could be define as “terrible”. We know that personal tastes are irreplaceable, but to match the words “terrible location” and “Grand Hotel Minareto” it means to lose credibility. Therefore, we are forced to consider and classify Your feedback as disparaging.

Below, You will find our email address: we kindly invite You to send us an email, clearly writing what were the inefficiencies at the base of Your comment.
We hope that all the readers are aware that Trip Advisor is an important means not only for the travelers but even for the hoteliers: for this reasons, they should leave feedback which allow us to make corrective and constructive analysis, not leaving simple unfounded proclaims. This should be the intended use of Trip Advisor.

Best Regards
Antonio La Spina – Senior Manger

info@grandhotelminareto.it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Syracuse
1.6 mi away
Hotel Principe di Fitalia Wellness & SPA
1.4 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
119.6 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 10 in Sciacca
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caiammari
Hotel Caiammari
#7 of 75 in Syracuse
408 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Ortigia
Grand Hotel Ortigia
#18 of 75 in Syracuse
663 reviews
56.2 mi away
Belmond Villa Sant'Andrea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Minareto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Minareto

Address: Via del Faro Massolivieri 26A, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Syracuse
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#6 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Family Hotel in Syracuse
#10 Luxury Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range: £95 - £920 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Minareto 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Minareto was born on a promontory which draws from the poetry of its natural beauty and the power of the charismatic history of the pride stand before the island of Ortigia, a masterpiece of art and history, heritage of UNESCO.has three different private access to the sea that allow our guests to enjoy of softy golden sand, that recalls classical caribbean little islands, or the rocky sea beds of the cliff, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Minareto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Minareto Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing