We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Porticciolo

Il Porticciolo
Ranked #203 of 619 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: US$20 - US$66
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We ate at this restaurant based on our guide book review. Service was ok but not particularly friendly or welcoming, despite that we arrived before it got very busy. Prices, although not expensive, were more than other restaurants where we ate better, even in the heart of Ortigia. Decor and atmosphere inside was a bit lacking, but it's the food that matters. We just chose 4 main courses, 2 pasta 2 fish, and they were all OK, but nothing special. My grilled swordfish was also the smallest portion I had whilst in Sicily. My daughter loved her seafood fettucine though.
Personally I wouldn't return when there are so many other and better options nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    117
    52
    24
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pasta!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Great pasta & dessert! Pasta ai ricci and frutti di mare were excellent! Parfait alla mandorla with choclate fondant exquisite! Recommended and will be visiting again for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RaphMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“suggested by locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Excellent place to have a dinner close to the harbour and the market, especially first courses with pasta and fresh fish. Don't hesitate asking the staff for the best of the day.
Selection of wines and prices are definitely good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank batrachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good - at a price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Walked past this place many times before finally giving it a try based on some of our Italian friend's recommendations. Food was very good, as was service, etc. but we felt a bit "stung" by the prices of our second plates (fresh fish) compared to other places in Ortigia. When we reported this to the same friends they agreed we'd been overcharged. There are other places on this island with equal quality of food, service, etc. for far less than what they charge here. For this reason we won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood wonderfully prepared; caring owner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We have traveled to Siracusa two years in a row and both times have eaten more than once at Il Porticciolo. The seafood is terrific: don't miss the frittura di paranza, which is a mixture of lightly breaded and perfectly fried tiny sepia, calamari, shrimp, and fish. Incredibly tender and delicious. We've always enjoyed the seafood at Il Porticciolo, but the last time there we also had one of the most delicious risottos I have ever had. Although it was a generous portion, I couldn't bear to leave one grain of rice behind. Risotto is not a Sicilian specialty, but you wouldn't know it from the way that it was prepared here. The wine list is good and reasonably priced and we surprisingly had one of the best coffees here that we had anywhere during our visit (and we had a lot of good coffee). The owner is an interesting fellow: ask him about the photos of musicians that grace one of the walls.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank epper5151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Porticciolo also viewed

Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Il Porticciolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing