We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A chic, relaxed hotel with its own private beach and protected harbour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musciara Siracusa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Musciara Siracusa Resort
Ranked #30 of 74 Hotels in Syracuse
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A chic, relaxed hotel with its own private beach and protected harbour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

I've fallen madly in love with Ortigia and a big part of the reason I keep coming back to this stunning part of Sicily are the long, dreamy days spent totally unwinding on the private beach of the unique, Musciara Siracusa Resort.
This chic hotel with elegant, comfortable rooms, suites and apartments sits directly on its own private, protected harbour and offers a rare barefoot luxury that allows me to totally relax and enjoy my hoilday like nowhere else in Europe.
Every detail has been designed to pamper but is delivered in the most easy, relaxed way which really, has everything to do with the natural generosity and good taste of my host and owners, Ida, Laura and Salvo who welcome me like a family friend.
Excellent service is delivered by efficient, friendly staff and a local secret is the delicious home-cooked Sicilian lunch served on the terrace.
Apart from cooling off in the pristine natural stream that infuses through the beach sand into the sea, I have no reason to leave my shaded sun lounge.
But if the mood should take me, I know that all the natural and historic beauty of Ortigia lies just beyond the gates and along the curve of the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BradleySeymour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    49
    7
    9
    9
See reviews for
25
153
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2010

The best was the breakfast which was (luckily) not Itailan but a nice buffet with fresh orange juice, lots of pastry as well as decent rolls, a cheese selection, salami, eggs and fresh fruit salad. The weather was sunny still in November and we took our breakfast on the terrace which is directly at the sea... During night you hear the waves which was really nice as well. The family which runs the hotel is very friendly and helped us with what ever we needed.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arkadi71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2010

We enjoyed the Musicara Siracusa Resort. It was in a great location within easy walking distance of Ortigia and of the Archeological Park. We liked the fact that the hotel was in a quiet location but close to busy Ortigia. Our room overlooked the the waves, and we loved watching the fishing boats leaving the harbor in the evening. The beach is unique for the area, and we had hoped for better weather to be able to use it - alas, that was not to be. (I did enjoy sitting by our window reading and listening to the waves pound the shore.) Breakfast each day was a bit different, and delicious. The hotel rooms are small, but very clean. Everything in the bathroom is smaller than normal, but of beautiful design. Our only complaint was space to store things as we were on a six-week trip. For most people this would not be a problem, I assume.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mayo Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Musciara Resort is amazing!
The location is perfect - close enough to the centres of Siracusa and Ortigia yet removed enough to feel like a hideaway resort if you prefer.
The standard of the house we rented was perfect. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable, tastefully decorated and spacious.
The hotel itself was superb- again both tasteful and comfortable.
The restaurant/dining area on the patio excellant as was the Sicilian food cooked by Teresa.
The private beach beautiful, sun loungers comfortable, the views stunning and the water clear.
Basically Musciara is pretty near perfect but what makes the resort stand apart from other places is the family that owns/runs it. It is such a pleasure to spend time with people who have a genuine passion for what they do - and it shows throughout the whole place.
We absolutely recommend Musciara without hesitation and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulF1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed 8 nights in the appartment and 5 in the hotel. We loved both, although the appartment (actually it's a house) was our preferred option. Very quiet, very relaxing and we would thoroughly recommend it. Not child friendly due to very hard metal spiral staircase (todlers would just fall off the edge). The galley kitchen (full size fridge freezer and four gas rings, no oven or microwave) on the second floor leads to a roof terrace with roof top views to the sea, where you can eat all that you bought at the fresh fish/cheese/veg market which is daily on Ortigia. (If you find the cheese stall, go into the shop at the back ....... wonderful!).

The private beach is pristine and very relaxed but we only used it whilst we were in the hotel in the second week. Music is on but doesn't interfere.

Ortigia is beautiful for walking round - restaurants we found a bit hit and miss. the food at the hotel (we ate once in the evening, out on the terrace with the sea lapping and the fish swimming through the underwater lighting) was by far our best meal out, but it came at a price.

Overall a really wonderful place to have a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaquik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and renewed our vows. Staff went out of their way to arrange a church for the renewal of our vows, this was at no extra cost. We celebrated with family and friends, some family travelled fom the USA. Position of the hotel was very good, we hired a car but really did not require this as there was so much to see and do within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel was very clean. The self catering apartments were well equipped (stairs not really suitable or older adults. Only one toilet in the bathroom off the main bedroom. Sleeps a family of four comfortably but not really suitable for 2 couples).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julia186368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

We spent a week there. The hotel is outside the old city of Ortegia, but it is an easy to walk there to get to restaurants, bars, antiquities and shops. The area feels very safe. Breakfast is served on a terrace right by the sea, so you can feed the small fish that gather there as you dine. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. You can fall asleep at night listening to the waves right outside your window. If you prefer doing nothing for the day, spend it on the hotel's own beach under white umbrellas. The place is small enough to offer personal service, but not too small. It is reasonably priced, and offers beach access that is not possible in Ortegia proper.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATraveler035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Syracuse hotels
2.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Minareto
Grand Hotel Minareto
#10 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Maniace Hotel
Royal Maniace Hotel
#13 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Livingston
Hotel Livingston
#17 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Villamare
Hotel Villamare
#2 of 7 in Fontane Bianche
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
Hotel Parco delle Fontane
#5 of 74 in Syracuse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musciara Siracusa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musciara Siracusa Resort

Property: Musciara Siracusa Resort
Address: Riviera Dionisio Il Grande 42, 96100, Syracuse, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Syracuse > Syracuse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Syracuse
#9 Romantic Hotel in Syracuse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Musciara Siracusa Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Musciara Siracusa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musciara Siracusa Hotel Syracuse
Musciara Siracusa Resort Sicily/Syracuse, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing